F1, Formula 1, NASCAR, IndyCar, MotoGP, ALMS, And More!

Sep 17, 2012 - 06:57 PM
Top News!
Rumors Edition!
Upcoming Racing!

Top Stories
· 2012 San Marino GP (Misano): MotoGP Race Results - Lorenzo Wins! (Sep 16, 2012)
· 2012 Chicagoland: NASCAR Sprint Cup Race Results - Keselowski, Dodge Win! (Sep 16, 2012)
· 2012 Chicagoland: NASCAR Sprint Cup Starting Line-up & Race Preview (Sep 16, 2012)
· 2012 Fontana: IndyCar Race Results - Carpenter Wins, Hunter-Reay Champion! (Sep 16, 2012)
· 2012 Iowa II: NASCAR Truck Race Results - Blaney, RAM Win! (Sep 16, 2012)

Previous Top Stories!

Hot Rumors!
· F1: Kovalainen In, Massa Out ??? (Sep 14, 2012)
· F1: Schumacher Offered Contract ? (Sep 14, 2012)
· F1: V6 Engine Sound Ok ? (Sep 14, 2012)
· F1: More Hints Hamilton Leaving ??? (Sep 10, 2012)
· F1: Kovalainen To Lotus ??? (Sep 9, 2012)
More Rumors!

Inside The Box SCORE - MAVTV 500
Posted by: newsla on Sep 17, 2012 - 06:50 PM
IndyCar News
Inside The Box SCORE - MAVTV 500

Numbers to note following the MAVTV 500 the championship-deciding race of the 2012 IZOD Indy Car Series season.

1 - Win by Ed Carpenter with Ed Carpenter Racing. The last owner-driver to win an IZOD IndyCar Series race was Adrian Fernandez who also won at Auto Club Speedway in October 2004.


Bookmark and Share
3 - Final margin in points between Ryan Hunter-Reay and Will Power in the final point standings. It is the closest margin since 2006 when Sam Hornish Jr. beat Dan Wheldon on a tiebreaker. Only INDYCAR 1996 (Tie between Scott Sharp and Buzz Calkins), CART 1999 (Juan Pablo Montoya won tiebreaker over Dario Franchitti) and CART 1985 (Al Unser Sr. beat Al Unser Jr. by 1 point) were closer margins. It also tied the 1989 CART championship where Emerson Fittipaldi beat Rick Mears by 3 points.

4 - IZOD IndyCar Series titles for Andretti Autosport. The team, which won the 2012 IZOD IndyCar Series title with Ryan Hunter-Reay, previously won with Tony Kanaan (2004), Dan Wheldon (2005) and Dario Franchitti (2007).

7 - Different teams represented in the top 10 positions at Auto Club Speedway.

9 - Finishing position of Katherine Legge, her best Indy car finish since she finished 6th at Las Vegas in 2007.

12 - Different leaders in the MAVTV 500

18 - Positions gained by Ryan Hunter-Reay en route to his championship-clinching fourth-place finish at Auto Club Speedway, most of any driver in the field.

29 - Lead changes. The most at Auto Club Speedway since 2002, when there were 39 lead changes…Second places by Dario Franchitti in his Indy car career. Franchitti tied Helio Castroneves and Scott Dixon for seventh on the all-time list.

56 - Laps led by JR Hildebrand, most of his Indy car career. James Jakes (10 laps) and Josef Newgarden (1) also set career highs for most laps led.

62 - Laps led by Ed Carpenter at Auto Club Speedway. Carpenter entered the race having led 63 laps in his Indy car career.

88 - Podium finishes for Dario Franchitti in his Indy car career, tying Al Unser Jr. and Bobby Rahal for fifth on the all-time list.

196 - Consecutive Indy car starts for Tony Kanaan dating to the 2001 CART race in Portland. Kanaan is second to Jimmy Vasser's 211 straight starts.

2012 IndyCar Series Season By the Numbers

2 - Races won by the pole sitter.

4 - Drivers who made first Indy car start - Jean Alesi, Rubens Barrichello, Bryan Clauson, Josef Newgarden.

8 - Different winners in the 15 races in 2012…Different pole winners in the 2012.

9.9 - Average number of lead changes per race.

12.2 - Average number of cars running on lead lap at the finish.

16 - Different drivers to finish on the podium in 2012.

18 - Drivers who competed in all 15 races.

19 - Average number of cars running at the finish.

21 - Drivers who led at least one lap.

22 - Different drivers with at least one top-five finish in 2012.

25.8 - Average number of starters.

35 -- Drivers who competed in at least one race.

1,968 - Total race laps. Helio Castroneves completed 1,965 laps, most of any driver.

3,503 - Total miles in 2012.

PaddockTalk Perspective

Also in IndyCar News:

Related links
· PaddockTalk Forum
· IndyCar Photos at PTalkPhoto
· IndyCar Edition
· Top PaddockTalk News!
· IndyCar Rumors
· More about IndyCar News

Most read story in IndyCar News:
FIRST PHOTOS: Swift Concepts For 2012 IndyCar

Home :: PaddockTalk Forums :: PTalkPhoto :: Calendar 

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner.
The comments are property of their posters, all the rest (c) 2003-2010 by PaddockTalk.com.
Contact E-mail: [email protected]