F1, Formula 1, NASCAR, IndyCar, MotoGP, ALMS, And More!

Oct 08, 2012 - 06:30 AM
Top News!
Rumors Edition!
Upcoming Racing!

Top Stories
· 2012 Talladega II: NASCAR Sprint Cup - PaddockTalk Exclusive Crash Photos! (Oct 7, 2012)
· 2012 Talladega II: NASCAR Sprint Cup Race Results - Kenseth, Ford Win! (Oct 7, 2012)
· 2012 Talladega II: NASCAR Sprint Cup Starting Line-Up & Race Preview (Oct 7, 2012)
· 2012 Japan GP (Suzuka): Formula One (F1) Race Results - Vettel, Red Bull Win! (Oct 7, 2012)
· 2012 Talladega: NASCAR Truck Race Results - Buescher, Chevrolet Wins! (Oct 6, 2012)

Previous Top Stories!

Hot Rumors!
· F1: Hamilton, McLaren Breaking Up Hard ??? (Oct 7, 2012)
· F1: Di Resta to Ferrari ??? (Oct 5, 2012)
· F1: Kovalainen Moving Up ? (Oct 4, 2012)
· F1: New Controversy ??? (Oct 4, 2012)
· F1: Ecclestone eyes Turkey GP circuit tender ??? (Oct 3, 2012)
More Rumors!

Kelley, Ford Continue Dominance In Round Eleven
Posted by: newsla on Oct 08, 2012 - 06:26 AM
Support Series News
Kelley, Ford Continue Dominance In Round Eleven

Round eleven of the Pacific F2000/Formula F Super Series Championship Presented by Corsa Car Care saw more of the dominating performances from Bobby Kelley and Conner Ford that enabled each to win their respective championships.


Bookmark and Share
Las Vegas Motor Speedway was the site of the most recent successes. The race held as part of the Vintage Auto Racing Association for its Datsun-Porsche Shootout race weekend was held under sunny skies and high eighties temperatures.

When qualifying began the temperature was already in the high seventies and the drivers set off to take on the tight, ten turn, 1.940 mile circuit. Rookie Bobby Kelley, the Champion elect, driving the #21 A&B Equipment, Van Diemen for Dave Freitas Racing claimed the pole turning in a lap of 1m25.716s, nearly a second ahead of second place qualifier David Cheng in the #4, CJ Wilson Children’s Charities, PR1 Motorsports Van Diemen and established himself as the favorite for this afternoons race. Following Kelley and Cheng and heading the second row of the grid was Camren Kaminsky in the #34 PR1 Motorsports Van Diemen who suffered the failure of two engines in Fridays testing. Next to Kaminsky was Ira Fierberg in the #27, Sparco USA, Pinnacle Performance, The Yard, LDF, Dave Freitas Racing Van Diemen. Les Phillips, #2 Swiss Implants, Porterfield Brakes Van Diemen and Peter West, #99, Frank Monise Motors, T.J. Martell Foundation, Dave Freitas Racing Van Diemen made up the third row.

Conner Ford in the #77, The Keniston's, JF Excavating & Grading, Western Nevada Supply and Sparco USA, PR1 Motorsports Mygale/Honda claimed yet another pole in the Formula F group besting Tristan Nunez #23, PR1 Motorsports Mygale/Honda by .403 of a second. Third fastest was Dan Gulickson in the #17 HPD, PR1 Motorsports Piper/Honda.

When the green flag waved it was Cheng from his outside front row starting spot taking the lead followed by Kelley, Fierberg, Kaminsky, West and Phillips. This order remained until Phillips passed West on lap three while at the head of the field the top four cars ran nose to tail and could be covered by a blanket.

While Cheng led, having fended off the challenges of Kelley, positions behind him were changing as Kaminsky moved by Fierberg on lap five and then passed Kelley on lap six to take second place as the top four surged away from the rest of the field. The next time by Kelley had re-passed Kaminsky for second and then in a bold move on the outside of turn one seized the lead from Cheng who had been unwilling to give any opening on the inside. Cheng fought back and the pair raced side-by-side around turn six with Cheng now on the outside trying to force Kelley to hold the tight line on exit but ran out of grip and slid wide and dropped from second to fourth.

Once in the lead Kelley began to ease away from his pursuers and maintained his 2+ second advantage to the end claiming his sixth win of the season while also setting the fastest race lap.

Kaminsky pressed on in his pursuit of Kelley but was not able to get within striking distance of Kelley and finished a strong second well clear of the third placed Fierberg.

In third place and with Cheng challenging from behind Fierberg battled Cheng for the final place on the podium the two having swapped positions a couple of times before the issue was finally settled when Cheng developed brake problems and dropped down to sixth at the finish. Fierberg went on to finish third and the defending Expert Class (drivers 35-50) Champion claimed another Class victory.

Meanwhile Peter West drove a steady race to finish in fourth place earning the Wine Country Motorsports Hard Charger Award and claim the victory in the Master Class (drivers 51 and up).

Les Phillips having spun on lap six lost too much ground and was only able to manage a fifth place finish.

The Formula F group was a battle between the PR1 Motorsports Mygale/Honda drivers Conner Ford and Tristan Nunez. Ford led at the start with Nunez challenging at every corner. Nunez briefly took the lead on lap 4 that he was to hold for only one lap as he was unable to hold off Ford as he surged back into the lead on the next lap. This battle was to last half the race before both cars began to suffer from overheating and had to ease the pace. Ford held the advantage to the end to take his ninth win of the season and also held the fastest race lap.

Finishing third in his first outing in the Piper/Honda was Dan Gulickson.

The twelfth and final race of the season is set for 12:05pm on Sunday with qualifying to begin at 8:40am.

F2000 Qualifying: 1. Bobby Kelley (Van Diemen), 1m25.716s; 2. David Cheng (Van Diemen), 1m26.633s; 3. Camren Kaminsky, (Van Diemen), 1m27.200; 4. Ira Fierberg (Van Diemen), 1m27.525s; 5. Les Phillips (Van Diemen), 1m28.259s; 6. Peter West (Van Diemen), 1m29.388s. (All use Zetec/Quicksilver engines unless otherwise noted.)

F2000 Round 11 (16 laps): 1. Kelley; 2. Kaminsky +2.621; 3. Fierberg, +20.339s; 4. West, +48.879; 5. Phillips, +1:05.361s; 6. Cheng, +1:05.460.

FF Qualifying: 1. Conner Ford (Mygale/Honda), 1m29.289s; 2. Tristan Nunez (Mygale/Honda), 1m29.692s; 3. Dan Gulickson (Piper/Honda), 1m39.568s.

FF Round 11 (16 laps): 1. Ford; 2. Nunez; 3. Gulickson.

Margin of victory: 2.621s.
Winner’s average speed: 78.731 mph.
Fastest race lap: Kelley, 1m27.272s, 80.026 mph.
Expert class winner (35-50): Fierberg.
Sierra Tire Masters class winner (over 50): West.

PaddockTalk Perspective

Also in Support Series News:

Related links
· Support Edition
· PaddockTalk Forum
· PaddockTalk Photo Gallery
· Top PaddockTalk News!
· More about Support Series News

Home :: PaddockTalk Forums :: PTalkPhoto :: Calendar 

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner.
The comments are property of their posters, all the rest (c) 2003-2010 by PaddockTalk.com.
Contact E-mail: [email protected]