F1, Formula 1, NASCAR, IndyCar, MotoGP, ALMS, And More!

Feb 18, 2013 - 06:34 AM
Top News!
Rumors Edition!
Upcoming Racing! (Updated)

Top Stories
· 2013 Daytona 500: NASCAR Sprint Cup Qualifying Results - Danica Patrick, Chevrolet On Pole! (Feb 17, 2013)
· 2013 Daytona 500: NASCAR Sprint Cup Qualifying Results - Danica Patrick, Chevrolet On Pole! (Feb 17, 2013)
· 2013 Daytona 500: NASCAR Sprint Cup Qualifying Order & Preview (Feb 17, 2013)
· 2013 Daytona 500 (Sprint Unlimited): NASCAR Sprint Cup Race Results - Harvick, Chevrolet Win! (Feb 16, 2013)
· 2013 Daytona 500: NASCAR Sprint Cup Practice Two Results - Patrick, Chevrolet Fastest! (Feb 16, 2013)

Previous Top Stories!

Hot Rumors!
· F1: Parts recycler buys HRT assets ? (Feb 14, 2013)
· F1: Mallya's Kingfisher Close To Collapse ? (Feb 14, 2013)
· F1: Chinese Le Mans Team To Formula One ? (Feb 13, 2013)
· F1: Kobayashi to test Ferrari sports car ? (Feb 12, 2013)
· F1: New Role For Kovalainen At Caterham ? (Feb 12, 2013)
More Rumors!

Kevin Harvick Captures Third Sprint Unlimited
Posted by: newsla on Feb 18, 2013 - 06:31 AM
Kevin Harvick Captures Third Sprint Unlimited

Kevin Harvick made his No. 29 Budweiser Chevrolet as wide as he could in the final laps, holding off repeated challenges for the lead on his way to victory Saturday night in The Sprint Unlimited at Daytona International Speedway.


Bookmark and Share
On the last lap, Harvick blocked both Greg Biffle and Tony Stewart to win his third career Sprint Unlimited, NASCAR’s fan-favorite non-points event that featured the debut of the Gen-6 race car. Harvick’s previous Sprint Unlimited wins came in 2009 and 2010.

"Any time you’re in Victory Lane here in Daytona, it’s a great day," Harvick said. "When you’re coming from white (flag) to checkered, it’s whatever you have to do to make it happen. It was a great day for our Budweiser Chevy and I’m glad we got Speedweeks started off the right way."

Tony Stewart captured the event’s first 30-lap segment, while Harvick won the second 25-lap segment and the final 20-lap dash. Overall, Harvick led 40 of the 75 laps.

"I was nervous about the 20 (Matt Kenseth) and the 14 (Stewart). I thought their cars were a little bit better than what we had," Harvick said. "I felt (Kenseth) had the strongest car and he could make a lot happen on the bottom by himself. So, I was glad to see him get shuffled back there."

Biffle and Joey Logano rounded out the top three while Stewart finished fourth.

"That is why I haven’t won a Daytona 500 yet," Stewart said of the last lap. "I’m not quite sure exactly which move to make. We learned a lot. The good thing is we have 500 miles to get it done (next) weekend. This thing was fast today."

The format for selecting The Sprint Unlimited field of drivers returned to its roots in 2013. The eligible field of drivers consisted of pole winners from the 2012 NASCAR Sprint Cup Series season and past winners of The Sprint Unlimited who have attempted to qualify for at least one race during the 2012 season.

In addition, race fans had the final voice in selecting the starting lineup, choosing from three different options. Fans in attendance on Saturday night voted that the 19-car field would line up in the order in which drivers won their first pole last season.

Also, fans in attendance were eligible to receive special upgraded race experiences including roles as Grand Marshal, Honorary Starter, and trophy presenter. Fans delivered the trophy to Gatorade Victory Lane and participated in driver introductions.

Race fans shaped the race by voting on race elements such as length of each race segment, type of team pit stop after first segment, how many cars would be eliminated after the second segment and the type of fire suit Miss Sprint Cup would wear.

Race activity picks up Sunday afternoon at 1:05 p.m. with Daytona 500 Qualifying Presented By Kroger.

PaddockTalk Perspective

Also in NASCAR News:

Related links
· NASCAR Edition
· Top PaddockTalk News!
· NASCAR Rumors
· More about NASCAR News

Home :: _ 

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner.
The comments are property of their posters, all the rest (c) 2003-2014 by PaddockTalk.com.
Contact E-mail: [email protected]