F1, Formula 1, NASCAR, IndyCar, MotoGP, ALMS, And More!

Apr 22, 2013 - 08:34 AM
Top News!
Rumors Edition!
Upcoming Racing! (Updated)

Top Stories
· 2013 Texas GP (GP Of Americas): MotoGP Race Results - Marquez Wins! (Apr 21, 2013)
· 2013 Long Beach: IndyCar Race Results - Sato, Honda Win! (Apr 21, 2013)
· 2013 Kansas: NASCAR Sprint Cup Race Results - Kenseth, Toyota Win! (Apr 21, 2013)
· 2013 Bahrain GP: Formula One F1 Race Results - Vettel, Red Bull Win! (Apr 21, 2013)
· 2013 Long Beach: IndyCar Starting Line-up, Grid & Race Preview (Apr 21, 2013)

Previous Top Stories!

Hot Rumors!
· F1: Toyota, Honda Back To Formula One ? (Apr 20, 2013)
· F1: Red Bull copies solution from Williams ? (Apr 19, 2013)
· F1: Raikkonen Staying At Lotus ? (Apr 19, 2013)
· F1: Webber to talk with Mateschitz on Monday ? (Apr 18, 2013)
· F1: Formula One Five Seconds Slower in 2014 ? (Apr 18, 2013)
More Rumors!

Pastrana In First-Lap Mishap in Global Rallycross Race
Posted by: newsla on Apr 22, 2013 - 08:26 AM
WRC Rally News 2010
Pastrana In First-Lap Mishap in Global Rallycross Race

In Rallycross racing, it’s all about the start. That was unmistakable in Sunday’s opening event of the 2013 Global Rallycross Championship (GRC) season. The race was part of X Games in Foz Do Iguaca, Brazil.


Bookmark and Share
In the four heat races, the Last Chance Qualifier (LCQ) and 10-lap feature, winning the battle through turn one was essential for a good finish. In most cases, the leader surviving the turn went on claim the victory.

Travis Pastrana tried a different strategy in the 10-car final and it almost worked. Instead of crowding to the inside and engaging in a fender-banging battle with the competition that had been commonplace throughout the day, Pastrana elected to try the outside. There was no issue with power, his Dodge Dart had plenty. And his expectations about what the rest of the field would do were correct. The only question – could he maintain control of his Dart on a part of the track that hadn’t previously been challenged.

As expected, the other nine starters raced for the same spot on the inside. Pastrana, starting in the second row, powered his Dodge Dart into turn one on the outside looking to execute a power slide through the turn and emerge the leader. It worked, almost.

Just when it looked as if Pastrana would pull off the fete and grab the lead as the rest of the field tried to escape the fracas on the inside, his power slide carried his Dodge Dart a couple feet farther to the left, catching the outside barriers.

Seven of the 10 starters received damage in the mishap. Race officials halted the action with a red flag on Lap 4 to collect stalled cars and remove debris littering the track. When racing resumed for the final six laps, Pastrana’s No. 199 Red Bull / Discount Tire Dodge Dart was one of four entries unable to continue.

Pastrana and teammate Bryce Menzies competed in the Heat 2. Pastrana finished second to claim one of two transfer spots to the final. Menzies was a victim in turn one and finished fourth, sending him to the LCQ for a final shot at making the feature field.

Menzies didn’t make it to turn one in the LCQ. A car pulled in front of the No. 99 Dodge Dart and suddenly stalled, leaving Menzies no escape. The top two finishers in the LCQ completed the 10-car field.

Despite the disappointment, Pastrana, a four-time Rally America Champion and 17-time X Games Gold Medalist, knows there were numerous positives which the team will build on in preparation for the next event.

Race Results

Global Rallycross Championship

X Games

Foz Do Iguacu, Brazil

Sunday, April 21, 2013

1. Scott Speed

2. Toomas Heikkinen

3. Patrik Sandell

4. Steve Arpin

5. Brian Deegan

6. Antron Marklund

7. Travis Pastrana

8. Tanner Foust

9. Ken Block

10. Buddy Rice

Due to extensive damage to their cars, Travis Pastrana, Tanner Foust, Ken Block and Buddy Rice could not return for the final six laps after the race was red flagged (Lap 4).

Heat 1

1. Toomas Heikkinen

2. Ken Block

3. Liam Doran

Heat 2

1. Brian Deegan

2. Travis Pastrana

3. Nelson Piquet Jr.

4. Bryce Menzies

Heat 3

1. Tanner Foust

2. Steve Arpin

3. Patrik Sandell

4. Mauricio Neves

Heat 4

1. Scott Speed

2. Anton Marklund

3. Buddy Rice

4. Eduardo Marques

Last Chance Qualifier (LCQ)

1. Buddy Rice

2. Patrik Sandell

3. Nelson Piquet Jr.

4. Mauricio Neves

5. Liam Doran

6. Eduardo Marques

7. Bryce Menzies

PaddockTalk Perspective

Also in WRC Rally News 2010:

Related links
· Rally Edition
· Top PaddockTalk News!
· More about WRC Rally News 2010

Most read story in WRC Rally News 2010:
Nasser’s Path To Victory In Dubai Threatened By UAE Duo

Home :: _ 

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner.
The comments are property of their posters, all the rest (c) 2003-2014 by PaddockTalk.com.
Contact E-mail: admin@paddocktalk.com