F1, Formula 1, NASCAR, IndyCar, MotoGP, ALMS, And More!

May 02, 2013 - 05:34 PM
Top News!
Rumors Edition!
Upcoming Racing! (Updated)

Top Stories
· 2013 Richmond: NASCAR Sprint Cup Race Results - Harvick, Chevrolet Win! (Apr 28, 2013)
· 2013 Formula One F1 Driver Line-up, Rumor Round-up & 2014 Silly Season Rumors - April 27th (Apr 27, 2013)
· 2013 Richmond: NASCAR Sprint Cup Starting Line-up & Race Preview (Apr 27, 2013)
· 2013 Richmond: NASCAR Nationwide Race Results - Keselowski, Ford Win! (Apr 27, 2013)
· 2013 Richmond: NASCAR Sprint Cup Qualifying Results - Keselowski, Ford On Pole! (Apr 26, 2013)

Previous Top Stories!

Hot Rumors!
· F1: Marussia looks set for Ferrari power in 2014 ? (May 1, 2013)
· F1: Long Beach talks 'a message' to New Jersey ? (May 1, 2013)
· F1: Caterham not affected by owner's football woes ? (May 1, 2013)
· F1: Razia To Force India ? (Apr 29, 2013)
· F1: Long Term Deal For Interlagos ? (Apr 29, 2013)
More Rumors!

Sprint Fan Vote Race Tightest In Years
Posted by: newsla on May 02, 2013 - 05:32 PM
Sprint Fan Vote Race Tightest In Years

Every driver wants to race his or her way into the NASCAR Sprint All-Star Race, but if a checkered flag isn’t captured this weekend at Talladega or next at Darlington, those eligible will need to rely on the Sprint Fan Vote or finish first or second in the Sprint Showdown qualifying race.


Bookmark and Share
To date, an average of only 19,500 votes separates the drivers currently in the top 10 positions for the Sprint Fan Vote. While that figure seems high, history shows its futility. In 2012, more than 1.2 million votes were cast during the last three campaign weeks. That’s an average of more than 57,000 votes each day and nearly 3,000 cast each hour. The race for the Sprint Fan Vote is anything but over.

Former Daytona 500 winners Bill Elliott, Jamie McMurray and Michael Waltrip are notable names on the roster campaigning for Sprint Fan Votes, as are 2013 Rookie of the Year candidates Danica Patrick and Ricky Stenhouse Jr.

The 10 drivers leading the Sprint Fan Vote standings (in alphabetical order) are AJ Allmendinger, Jeff Burton, Elliott, Bobby Labonte, McMurray, Juan Pablo Montoya, Patrick, Stenhouse Jr., Martin Truex Jr. and Waltrip.

In addition to accumulating the most votes, a Sprint Fan Vote-eligible driver must also finish the Sprint Showdown qualifying race on the lead lap with a car in “raceable” condition (as determined by NASCAR Competition) to earn a spot in the race field.

Fans can vote an unlimited number of times until 5 p.m. (EDT) on May 18 by downloading the NASCAR Mobile ’13 application or visiting NASCAR.com/SprintFanVote. Votes cast on NASCAR Mobile ’13 will count twice toward a driver’s total. The driver receiving the highest number of votes will earn a spot in the NASCAR Sprint All-Star Race, which airs live at 7:30 p.m. (EDT) on SPEED. Radio coverage on the Motor Racing Network and SiriusXM NASCAR Radio begins at 6:30 p.m. (EDT).

Drivers eligible for the Sprint Fan Vote:

AJ Allmendinger
Aric Almirola
Dave Blaney
Mike Bliss
Jeff Burton
Landon Cassill
Bill Elliott
David Gilliland
Travis Kvapil
Bobby Labonte
Terry Labonte
Michael McDowell
Jamie McMurray
Casey Mears
Paul Menard
Juan Pablo Montoya
Danica Patrick
David Ragan
David Reutimann
Scott Speed
Ricky Stenhouse Jr.
David Stremme
Martin Truex Jr.
Michael Waltrip
Josh Wise
JJ Yeley

PaddockTalk Perspective

Also in NASCAR News:

Related links
· NASCAR Edition
· Top PaddockTalk News!
· NASCAR Rumors
· More about NASCAR News

Home :: _ 

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner.
The comments are property of their posters, all the rest (c) 2003-2014 by PaddockTalk.com.
Contact E-mail: [email protected]