F1, Formula 1, NASCAR, IndyCar, MotoGP, ALMS, And More!

May 03, 2013 - 06:30 AM
Top News!
Rumors Edition!
Upcoming Racing! (Updated)

Top Stories
· 2013 Richmond: NASCAR Sprint Cup Race Results - Harvick, Chevrolet Win! (Apr 28, 2013)
· 2013 Formula One F1 Driver Line-up, Rumor Round-up & 2014 Silly Season Rumors - April 27th (Apr 27, 2013)
· 2013 Richmond: NASCAR Sprint Cup Starting Line-up & Race Preview (Apr 27, 2013)
· 2013 Richmond: NASCAR Nationwide Race Results - Keselowski, Ford Win! (Apr 27, 2013)
· 2013 Richmond: NASCAR Sprint Cup Qualifying Results - Keselowski, Ford On Pole! (Apr 26, 2013)

Previous Top Stories!

Hot Rumors!
· F1: Marussia looks set for Ferrari power in 2014 ? (May 1, 2013)
· F1: Long Beach talks 'a message' to New Jersey ? (May 1, 2013)
· F1: Caterham not affected by owner's football woes ? (May 1, 2013)
· F1: Razia To Force India ? (Apr 29, 2013)
· F1: Long Term Deal For Interlagos ? (Apr 29, 2013)
More Rumors!

Milka Duno Wins Talladega Pole
Posted by: newsla on May 03, 2013 - 06:28 AM
Milka Duno Wins Talladega Pole

Milka Duno, in the No. 35 CanTV-Milkaway Toyota, became the first female ARCA Racing Series presented by Menards driver since 1988 to win the pole at Talladega Superspeedway Thursday afternoon.


Bookmark and Share
Duno had the second-fastest time in the Menards Pole Qualifying presented by Ansell but when the time of Venturini Motorsports teammate John Wes Townley was disallowed following post-qualifying inspection, Duno was announced as the pole winner.

"This is fantastic," Duno said following her award. "We have been trying, trying, trying for the pole ever since Daytona. All day, I made my crew chief (Kevin Caldwell) crazy, saying 'what do we need to do?'"

The times of four cars were disallowed. Each of those drivers will start at the rear of the field in Friday's International Motorsports Hall of Fame 250. The race will begin at 4 p.m. (Central Standard Time) and will be broadcast live on SPEED.

Duno is the fourth female to win an ARCA pole award, including Moise, Shawna Robinson and Erin Crocker. Moise is the only other female pole winner at Talladega, claiming two poles at the 2.66-mile superspeedway in 1988.

The rest of the top five include Mason Mingus, Grant Enfinger, Justin Boston and Caleb Armstrong.

Mingus will enter the race second in the championship point race, Enfinger won the pole and race at Mobile earlier this year while Boston and Armstrong are the other Venturini Motorsports cars.

After inspection, ARCA racing officials said the qualifying efforts of Bobby Gerhart, Korbin Forrestor, Mark Thompson and Townley were being disallowed following the post-race technical inspection.

Duno, 41, qualified second behind Townley at the season-opening Daytona International Speedway race and led the first 11 laps before transmission troubles. Townley won the race. Duno had her career-best ARCA finish at Salem Speedway last weekend.

"We are very competitive," Duno said. "This is great. Now, I must go to my crew chief and talk about being better. I have to run the perfect race."

The Caracas, Venezuela driver is one of the most successful female sports car racers in history. She is a qualified naval engineer and has four master's degrees. She has participated in the 24 Hours of LeMans, the 24 Hours of Daytona and the Indianapolis 500. She competed in the American LeMans Series championship in the early 2000s before moving to the Rolex Sports Car Series in 2004.

The ARCA Racing Series presented by Menards is making its 51ststart at Talladega. The first ARCA race at Talladega came in 1969.

No female driver has won in the ARCA Racing Series in its 61 year history.

Friday's Int'l Motorsports Hall of Fame 250 is live on SPEED at 5:00 p.m. ET.

2013 ARCA Racing Series presented by Menards Event #4
Talladega Superspeedway, Talladega Alabama, 5-3-13
International Motorsports Hall of Fame 250

PaddockTalk Perspective

Also in NASCAR News:

Related links
· NASCAR Edition
· Top PaddockTalk News!
· NASCAR Rumors
· More about NASCAR News

Home :: _ 

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner.
The comments are property of their posters, all the rest (c) 2003-2014 by PaddockTalk.com.
Contact E-mail: [email protected]