F1, Formula 1, NASCAR, IndyCar, MotoGP, ALMS, And More!

May 23, 2013 - 06:19 AM
Top News!
Rumors Edition!
Upcoming Racing! (Updated)

Top Stories
· 2013 Indianapolis Indy 500: IndyCar Bump Day Qualifying Results - Newgarden Fastest! (May 19, 2013)
· 2013 Le Mans: MotoGP Race Results - Pedrosa Wins! (May 19, 2013)
· Indy 500 Pole Goes to Hometown Driver Ed Carpenter (May 19, 2013)
· 2013 Charlotte (All-Star): NASCAR Sprint Cup Race Results - Johnson, Chevrolet Win! (May 19, 2013)
· 2013 Indianapolis Indy 500: IndyCar Pole Day Qualifying Results - Carpenter, Chevrolet On Pole! (May 18, 2013)

Previous Top Stories!

Hot Rumors!
· F1: No Changes In Driver Line-up At McLaren ? (May 22, 2013)
· F1: Two Options For Raikkonen ? (May 22, 2013)
· F1: Honda seeking English base for F1 foray ? (May 21, 2013)
· F1: BMW Back To Formula One ? (May 20, 2013)
· F1: Teams can't afford 2014 V6 engines ? (May 17, 2013)
More Rumors!

Justin Barcia And Eli Tomac Capture Oakley Bomb Awards At Hangtown Season Opener
Posted by: newsla on May 23, 2013 - 06:16 AM
Justin Barcia And Eli Tomac Capture Oakley Bomb Awards At Hangtown Season Opener

Last Saturday, the 2013 Lucas Oil Pro Motocross Championship, sanctioned by AMA Pro Racing, kicked off its 2013 season with the Red Bull Hangtown Motocross Classic. In addition to the excitement of race action in Sacramento, the opener also kicked off the 12-round specialty awards program with the return of the Oakley Bomb Fastest Lap Program, the Ricky Carmichael Hard Charger Award and introducing the Motorcycle Superstore Holeshot Program.


Bookmark and Share
The Oakley Bomb Fastest Lap Program recognizes the 450 and 250 Class riders who lay down the quickest lap time of the day in timed practice. In the 450 Class, Team Honda Muscle Milk's Justin Barcia made an impressive jump to full-time 450 Class competition by posting a time of 1:57.971, edging out his teammate Trey Canard by less than one second. In the 250 Class, GEICO Honda's Eli Tomac set the tone for a strong day by topping the charts with a 1:57.513, which garnered a near two-second advantage over the field.

Each rider was awarded the one-of-a-kind Oakley Bomb trophy and now has one point towards the season tally that determines an overall winner in the Fastest Lap Program at series end.

The Ricky Carmichael Hard Charger Award is given each round to a racer who embodies a never-give-up mentality, despite any setbacks that may occur during the race. Malcolm Stewart and Cole Seely, both of the Troy Lee Designs/Lucas Oil Honda team, shared the first RC Hard Charger Award of the season after demonstrating the determination and persistence needed to each pass an impressive 21 riders in one moto, respectively.

Seely began Moto 1 of the 250 Class nearly last with a 35th place position, making for a long start to the day. Seely fought his way back to 14th by the end of the first lap, where he would maintain a 14th place finish in the moto.

After a heartbreaking mechanical issue caused him to drop out of Moto 1 while running inside the top five, Malcolm Stewart came into the second moto highly determined. Malcolm didn't get the start he'd hoped for, beginning the first lap of the 450 Moto 2 in 36th position, but the young Stewart pushed his way through the pack to earn a 15th place finish.

The Motorcycle Superstore Holeshot Championship is brand new to Lucas Oil Pro Motocross this season, courtesy of Motorcycle-Superstore.com. Championship points are tallied over the course of 12 rounds in both the 450 and 250 Class, where each Moto 1 holeshot winner gets one point and the Moto 2 holeshot winner gets two points. If the same rider holeshots both motos of the day, that rider would get an additional bonus point for a total of four points, thus creating a mini-championship inside the series championship.

In the 450 Class, Yoshimura Suzuki's James Stewart opened the 2013 season in a big way, grabbing both Motorcycle-Superstore.com holeshots at Hangtown. Stewart's clean sweep earned the Florida native an extra bonus point-totaling four for the day-and the early lead in the Motorcycle Superstore Holeshot Championship.

In the 250 Class, Monster Energy/Pro Circuit/Kawasaki's Blake Baggett earned his first Motorcycle-Superstore.com holeshot in Moto 1, securing one point in the overall holeshot championship. GEICO Honda's young gun Zach bell came out swinging in Moto 2, grabbing his first holeshot of the season in front of a stacked field of riders. Bell holds the early lead in the 250 Class Holeshot Championship after one round of racing.

At the end of the season, the rider with the most points in each class will be the winner. The final payoff will be a $25,000 check for the 450 Class winner and $15,000 for the 250 Class winner.

Round 2 of the Lucas Oil Pro Motocross Championship heads to Lakewood, Colo. this Saturday, May 25, for the Rockwell Watches Thunder Valley National.

PaddockTalk Perspective

Also in Tidbits:

Related links
· Top PaddockTalk News!
· More about Tidbits

Home :: _ 

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner.
The comments are property of their posters, all the rest (c) 2003-2014 by PaddockTalk.com.
Contact E-mail: [email protected]