F1, Formula 1, NASCAR, IndyCar, MotoGP, ALMS, And More!

Jul 26, 2013 - 06:18 AM
Top News!
Rumors Edition!
Upcoming Racing! (Updated)

Top Stories
· IndyCar To Mandate Twin Turbochargers In 2014 (Jul 25, 2013)
· 2013 Eldora: NASCAR Truck Race Results - Dillon, Chevrolet Win! (Jul 25, 2013)
· NASCAR and NBC Sports Group Reach Landmark Media Rights Agreement (Jul 23, 2013)
· 2013 United States Grand Prix: MotoGP Race Results - Marquez Wins! (Jul 22, 2013)
· 2013 Chicagoland: NASCAR Nationwide Race Results - Logano, Ford Win! (Jul 21, 2013)

Previous Top Stories!

Hot Rumors!
· F1: A Big Hint Ricciardo Will Get Webber's Seat ? (Jul 25, 2013)
· F1: Frijns to replace Hulkenberg ? (Jul 25, 2013)
· F1: FIA to abolish side-impact crash test ? (Jul 25, 2013)
· F1: Formula One pays almost no tax ? (Jul 25, 2013)
· F1: 22-Race Calendar In 2014 ? (Jul 24, 2013)
More Rumors!

Trey Canard Earns RC Hard Charger Award at Washougal
Posted by: newsla on Jul 26, 2013 - 06:16 AM
Trey Canard Earns RC Hard Charger Award at Washougal

After a one-week break in the schedule, the 2013 Lucas Oil Pro Motocross Championship, sanctioned by AMA Pro Racing, resumed last Saturday with the Peterson CAT Washougal National in Washougal, Wash., for Round 8 of the 12-race series. Monster Energy Kawasaki's Ryan Villopoto emerged victorious in the 450 Class, topping Red Bull KTM's Ryan Dungey with a 2-1 moto score for the day. In the 250 Class, GEICO Honda's Eli Tomac swept both motos of competition to claim his third win of the season, elevating himself to within one point of Red Bull KTM's Ken Roczen in the championship standings.


Bookmark and Share
Villopoto's success began early on when he captured the fastest qualifying lap time of the day with a time of 02:07.9. Villopoto now possesses four Oakley Bomb Awards through the first eight rounds. In the 250 Class, Red Bull KTM's Ken Roczen put in a fast lap time of 02:08.7 during timed qualifying to earn his second Oakley Bomb Award of the season.

Each rider was awarded the one-of-a-kind Oakley Bomb trophy and now has one point towards the season tally that determines an overall winner in the Fastest Lap Program at series end.

The Ricky Carmichael Hard Charger Award is given each round to a racer who embodies a never-give-up mentality, despite any setbacks that may occur during the race. Team Honda Muscle Milk's Trey Canard began Moto 1 of the 450 Class near the end of the pack, crossing the line in 36th position on Lap 1. Canard charged ahead to ultimately pass 24 riders en route to a 12th place finish in the first moto, thus winning the RC Hard Charger Award for his indomitable performance at Washougal.

The Motorcycle Superstore Holeshot Championship is brand new to Lucas Oil Pro Motocross this season, courtesy of Motorcycle-Superstore.com. Championship points are tallied over the course of 12 rounds in both the 450 and 250 Class, where each Moto 1 holeshot winner gets one point and the Moto 2 holeshot winner gets two points. If the same rider holeshots both motos of the day, that rider would get an additional bonus point for a total of four points, thus creating a mini-championship inside the series championship. The final payoff will be a $25,000 check for the 450 Class winner and $15,000 for the 250 Class winner.

In the 450 Class, Red Bull KTM's Ryan Dungey captured the Motorcycle Superstore Holeshot in Moto 1, giving him an immediate advantage over the rest of the field. Dungey carried his early lead into the final laps of the race where he secured the Moto 1 victory. In Moto 2, Toyota/JGR/Yamaha's Josh Grant shot out of the gate to capture his second Motorcycle Superstore Holeshot in two rounds, where he picked up an additional two points toward the overall championship.

Through eight rounds, Team Honda Muscle Milk's Justin Barcia and Yoshimura Suzuki's James Stewart sit atop the Motorcycle Superstore Holeshot Championship standings with a tied score of seven points each. Grant holds a strong third place in the standings with five points.

GEICO Honda swept the 250 Class in Motorcycle Superstore Holeshots at Washougal, beginning with Justin Bogle securing his second Motorcycle Superstore Holeshot of the season in Moto 1. However, it was Bogle's teammate Wil Hahn who claimed two additional points in the chase after securing the Moto 2 holeshot in the 250 Class. Hahn tops the Motorcycle Superstore Holeshot Championship with eight points, while MYPLASH/Metal Mulisha/Star Racing Yamaha's Jeremy Martin sits in second with four points through the first eight rounds.

PaddockTalk Perspective

Also in Tidbits:

Related links
· Top PaddockTalk News!
· More about Tidbits

Home :: _ 

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner.
The comments are property of their posters, all the rest (c) 2003-2014 by PaddockTalk.com.
Contact E-mail: [email protected]