F1, Formula 1, NASCAR, IndyCar, MotoGP, ALMS, And More!

Aug 13, 2013 - 07:09 PM
Top News!
Rumors Edition!
Upcoming Racing! (Updated)

Top Stories
· Austin Dillon To Drive Tony Stewart's Cup Car At Michigan (Aug 12, 2013)
· 2013 Watkins Glen: NASCAR Sprint Cup Race Results - Busch, Toyota Win (Aug 11, 2013)
· 2013 Watkins Glen: NASCAR Sprint Cup Starting Line-Up & Race Preview (Aug 11, 2013)
· 2013 Watkins Glen: NASCAR Nationwide Race Results - Keselowski, Ford Win! (Aug 10, 2013)
· 2013 Watkins Glen: NASCAR Sprint Cup Qualifying Results - Ambrose, Ford On Pole! (Aug 10, 2013)

Previous Top Stories!

Hot Rumors!
· F1: Sauber 'Time Bomb Is Ticking' ? (Aug 13, 2013)
· F1: Formula One drivers have doped ? (Aug 12, 2013)
· F1: Valencia in talks to break F1 contract ? (Aug 12, 2013)
· F1: Pirelli waiting for Sauber tyre bill ? (Aug 12, 2013)
· F1: Petrov eyes F1 return with Williams, Marussia ? (Aug 12, 2013)
More Rumors!

Ultra-Competitive Season Closing In On Winners Mark
Posted by: newsla on Aug 13, 2013 - 07:05 PM
IndyCar News
Ultra-Competitive Season Closing In On Winners Mark

Of the nine drivers to win races in the 2013 IZOD IndyCar Series season, four have been first-time winners (James Hinchcliffe, Takuma Sato, Simon Pagenaud, and most recently, Charlie Kimball).


Bookmark and Share
Helio Castroneves and Scott Dixon are also among the nine winners this season. Castroneves, who leads Dixon by 31 points entering the Aug. 25 GoPro Grand Prix of Sonoma, was also a winner in 2000 and 2001, in which there were a record 11 different winners, while Dixon was a race winner as a 20-year-old rookie during the 2001 CART season.

"It was a shock," said Dixon, who at 20 years, 9 months, 14 days was then the youngest winner in Indy car history (a record which was eclipsed by 19-year-old Marco Andretti at Sonoma in 2006 and later broken by Graham Rahal in 2008). "We had set goals of maybe winning a race later on in the season."

There have been seven different winners in the eight IZOD IndyCar Series races on the 2.385-mile, 12-turn Sonoma Raceway, and a 10th different winner this season is plausible.

Yet to score a race victory this season are Will Power - a two-time Sonoma winner and runner-up to Team Penske teammate Ryan Briscoe in 2012; Dario Franchitti (31 career wins), who has three podium finishes in the past four races; and Ed Carpenter, the 2012 Auto Club Speedway race winner.

"You really don't know who's going to win any race; it's a mystery every weekend and you really have to be on top of your game to make sure you score maximum points. It's a lot of fun and typical INDYCAR," said reigning IZOD IndyCar Series champion Ryan Hunter-Reay, who has recorded two victories and is third in the standings.

PaddockTalk Perspective

Also in IndyCar News:

Related links
· IndyCar Edition
· Top PaddockTalk News!
· IndyCar Rumors
· More about IndyCar News

Home :: _ 

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner.
The comments are property of their posters, all the rest (c) 2003-2014 by PaddockTalk.com.
Contact E-mail: [email protected]