F1, Formula 1, NASCAR, IndyCar, MotoGP, ALMS, And More!

Aug 22, 2013 - 06:33 AM
Top News!
Rumors Edition!
Upcoming Racing! (Updated)

Top Stories
· 2013 Bristol: NASCAR Truck Qualifying Results - Elliott, Chevrolet On Pole! (Aug 21, 2013)
· 2013 Bristol: NASCAR Truck Final Practice Results - Busch, Toyota Fastest! (Aug 21, 2013)
· 2013 Bristol: NASCAR Truck Practice One Results - Wallace, Toyota Fastest! (Aug 21, 2013)
· Joey Logano's Victory Complicates Chase Picture (Aug 20, 2013)
· Stewart Out For Season, Mark Martin To Drive No 14 Chevy (Aug 19, 2013)

Previous Top Stories!

Hot Rumors!
· F1 Update: Another Hint Raikkonen to Ferrari ? (Aug 20, 2013)
· F1/IndyCar: Razia Looking For 2014 Drive ? (Aug 19, 2013)
· NASCAR: Busch Offered Ride With Stewart-Haas ? (Aug 19, 2013)
· F1: Red Bull Didn't Sign Raikkonen ? (Aug 19, 2013)
· F1: Sauber still yet to pay impatient Ferrari ? (Aug 19, 2013)
More Rumors!

Built Ford Tough Utah National Specialty Awards
Posted by: newsla on Aug 22, 2013 - 06:32 AM
Built Ford Tough Utah National Specialty Awards

Last Saturday, the inaugural Built Ford Tough Utah National hosted the penultimate round of the 2013 Lucas Oil Pro Motocross Championship, sanctioned by AMA Pro Racing, where two champions were crowned in Tooele, Utah. Monster Energy Kawasaki's Ryan Villopoto swept both motos of the day to clinch the 450 Class title, while GEICO Honda's Eli Tomac secured the 250 Class Championship in dominant fashion.


Bookmark and Share
For the third consecutive round, Villopoto and Tomac each laid down the fastest lap times in their respective classes during the timed qualifying sessions. Villopoto qualified with the fastest time across both classes, with a time of 02:00.9, while Tomac topped the 250 Class with a 02:02.1.

Each rider was awarded the one-of-a-kind Oakley Bomb trophy and now has one point towards the season tally that determines an overall winner in the Fastest Lap Program at series end.

The Ricky Carmichael Hard Charger Award is given each round to a racer who embodies a never-give-up mentality, despite any setbacks that may occur during the race. Team Tedder/Monster Energy Kawasaki's Dakota Tedder experienced some issues off the start in Moto 1 of the 250 Class, crossing the line in 40th place on the opening lap. Tedder put his head down and charged through the pack, passing a total of 18 riders during Moto 1, where he finished 22ndplace. Tedder's determination and tenacity earned the California native his first RC Hard Charger Award of the season. Tedder went on to finish 18th in the second moto, securing 22nd overall for the day at Utah.

The Motorcycle Superstore Holeshot Championship is brand new to Lucas Oil Pro Motocross this season, courtesy of Motorcycle-Superstore.com. Championship points are tallied over the course of 12 rounds in both the 450 and 250 Class, where each Moto 1 holeshot winner gets one point and the Moto 2 holeshot winner gets two points. If the same rider holeshots both motos of the day, that rider would get an additional bonus point for a total of four points, thus creating a mini-championship inside the series championship. The final payoff will be a $25,000 check for the 450 Class winner and $15,000 for the 250 Class winner.

GEICO Honda's Wil Hahn wrapped up the $15,000 Motorcycle Superstore Holeshot Championship at Round 10 but the ultra-competitive 250 Class is sure to produce plenty of first-corner action in the final motos. At Utah, Monster Energy/Pro Circuit Kawasaki's Martin Davalos captured the Moto 1 Motorcycle Superstore Holeshot, giving the Ecuador native three points for the season. GEICO Honda's Justin Bogle captured his third Motorcycle Superstore Holeshot in Moto 2, gaining two points to move himself into a two-way tie for second in the championship.

In the 450 Class, Ryan Villopoto kept his hopes alive as he claimed the Motorcycle Superstore Holeshot in Moto 1, jumping into third place in the overall standings. Rockstar Energy Racing's Ryan Sipes secured his first Motorcycle Superstore Holeshot of the season in Moto 2, chalking up two points of his own.

The final payoff of $25,000 is still up for grabs in the 450 Class heading into the final two motos of the season. Yoshimura Suzuki's James Stewart currently holds the lead with nine points, while Team Honda Muscle Milk's Justin Barcia sits in second with eight points and Villopoto in third with six points.

In the event of a tie in points, the Motorcycle Superstore Holeshot Champion will be determined by the following rules in this order: First, the most holeshot sweeps (4pts) throughout the season, (2) the most holeshots of second motos, (3) the most holeshots throughout the season and finally, the most laps led in the motos that they holeshot.

PaddockTalk Perspective

Also in Tidbits:

Related links
· Top PaddockTalk News!
· More about Tidbits

Home :: _ 

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner.
The comments are property of their posters, all the rest (c) 2003-2014 by PaddockTalk.com.
Contact E-mail: [email protected]