F1, Formula 1, NASCAR, IndyCar, MotoGP, ALMS, And More!

Aug 30, 2013 - 06:43 AM
Top News!
Rumors Edition!
Upcoming Racing! (Updated)

Top Stories
· IndyCar IMS Road Course Test Scheduled For Sept.4 (Aug 29, 2013)
· 2013 Sonoma: IndyCar Race Results - Power, Chevrolet Win! (Aug 25, 2013)
· 2013 Brno: MotoGP Race Results - Rookie Record Broken, Marquez Wins! (Aug 25, 2013)
· 2013 Belgium GP (Spa): Formula One F1 Race Results - Vettel, Red Bull Win! (Aug 25, 2013)
· 2013 Sonoma: IndyCar Starting Line-up & Race Preview (Aug 25, 2013)

Previous Top Stories!

Hot Rumors!
· F1: Ricciardo's hips too wide for 2014 Red Bull ? (Aug 29, 2013)
· F1: Nasr 'knocking' at Toro Rosso ? (Aug 28, 2013)
· F1: Van der Garde 'has options' for 2014 ? (Aug 27, 2013)
· F1: Is New Jersey Grand Prix Dead Or Not ? (Aug 27, 2013)
· F1: Ricciardo to Red Bull 'makes sense' ? (Aug 27, 2013)
More Rumors!

Lake Elsinore Specialty Awards
Posted by: newsla on Aug 30, 2013 - 06:39 AM
Lake Elsinore Specialty Awards

The 2013 Lucas Oil Pro Motocross Championship, sanctioned by AMA Pro Racing, concluded its 12-race series last Saturday in Lake Elsinore, Calif. with the second running of the Red Bull Lake Elsinore National. Despite his absence at the season finale, Yoshimura Suzuki's James Stewart wrapped up the $25,000 Motorcycle-Superstore.com Holeshot Championship, while the Toyota/JGR/Yamaha team stepped up to sweep both 450 Class holeshots at Lake Elsinore Motorsports Park.


Bookmark and Share
For the fourth consecutive round, GEICO Honda's Eli Tomac laid down the fastest lap time of the 250 Class timed qualifying sessions with a time of 02:09.1, earning the final Oakley Bomb Award of the season. Toyota/JGR/Yamaha's Josh Grant earned his second Oakley Bomb Award of the year with a fast lap of 02:09.6 in the 450 Class timed qualifying sessions.

Each rider was awarded the one-of-a-kind Oakley Bomb trophy and now has one point towards the season tally that determines an overall winner in the Fastest Lap Program at series end. Tomac claimed the honors in the 250 Class with nine Oakley Bomb Awards throughout the season, while Ryan Villopoto topped the 450 Class with seven.

The Ricky Carmichael Hard Charger Award is given each round to a racer who embodies a never-give-up mentality, despite any setbacks that may occur during the race. Monster Energy/Pro Circuit/Kawasaki's Adam Cianciarulo has experienced many setbacks as a rookie competitor against a deep field of talent in the 250 Class, but the 16-year-old amateur motocross star has continued to improve throughout the season. At the Lake Elsinore National last Saturday, Cianciarulo got off to a bad start in Moto 1 of the 250 Class where he came through the opening lap in the 34th position. Cianciarulo immediately began pushing his way through the pack where he ultimately finished 14th in Moto 1, passing a total of 20 riders along the way. Cianciarulo experienced bad luck in the second moto, finishing 40th place to claim 18th overall for the day.

The Motorcycle Superstore Holeshot Championship is brand new to Lucas Oil Pro Motocross this season, courtesy of Motorcycle-Superstore.com. Championship points are tallied over the course of 12 rounds in both the 450 and 250 Class, where each Moto 1 holeshot winner gets one point and the Moto 2 holeshot winner gets two points. If the same rider holeshots both motos of the day, that rider would get an additional bonus point for a total of four points, thus creating a mini-championship inside the series championship. The final payoff will be a $25,000 check for the 450 Class winner and $15,000 for the 250 Class winner.

GEICO Honda's Wil Hahn wrapped up the $15,000 Motorcycle-Superstore.com Holeshot Championship at Round 10 but it was his GEICO Honda teammate Zach Osborne who claimed both holeshots at the season finale. Osborne collected four points for the day and an ultimate finish of second place in the overall championship.

Heading into the final round, the 450 Class Motorcycle-Superstore Holeshot Championship was still up for grabs between James Stewart, who had nine points, Justin Barcia with eight points and Ryan Villopoto with six.

However, it was the Toyota/JGR/Yamaha team of Josh Grant and Justin Brayton who shared the honors at the season finale as Grant grabbed the Moto 1 holeshot and Brayton claimed the holeshot in Moto 2. As a result, the $25,000 bonus was awarded to the points leader Stewart, despite his absence at the final round.

PaddockTalk Perspective

Also in Tidbits:

Related links
· Top PaddockTalk News!
· More about Tidbits

Home :: _ 

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner.
The comments are property of their posters, all the rest (c) 2003-2014 by PaddockTalk.com.
Contact E-mail: [email protected]