F1, Formula 1, NASCAR, IndyCar, MotoGP, ALMS, And More!

Sep 23, 2013 - 08:35 AM
Top News!
Rumors Edition!
Upcoming Racing! (Updated)

Top Stories
· 2013 New Hampshire II (Chase 2): NASCAR Sprint Cup Race Results - Kenseth, Toyota Win! (Sep 22, 2013)
· 2013 Singapore GP: Formula One F1 Race Results - Vettel, Red Bull Win! (Sep 22, 2013)
· 2013 New Hampshire II (Loudon): NASCAR Sprint Cup Starting Line-up & Race Preview (Sep 22, 2013)
· 2013 Kentucky II: NASCAR Nationwide Race Results - Blaney, Ford Win! (Sep 22, 2013)
· 2013 Kentucky II: NASCAR Nationwide Qualifying Results - Hornish Jr, Ford On Pole! (Sep 21, 2013)

Previous Top Stories!

Hot Rumors!
· F1: New Jersey back on 22-race 2014 calendar ? (Sep 23, 2013)
· F1: Third candidate could enter FIA race ? (Sep 23, 2013)
· F1: Ferrari plans Vettel future in Singapore ? (Sep 22, 2013)
· F1: Raikkonen Back Injury Rumors ? (Sep 22, 2013)
· F1: Massa To DTM ? (Sep 22, 2013)
More Rumors!

Heikkinen Wins Global Rallycross Championship; Scott Speed Wins Round 8
Posted by: newsla on Sep 23, 2013 - 08:25 AM
WRC Rally News 2010
Heikkinen Wins Global Rallycross Championship; Scott Speed Wins Round 8 And Leads Ford Podium Sweep

After five consecutive wins, a third place today by Toomas Heikkinen was enough to claim the 2013 Global Rallycross Championship at Charlotte Motor Speedway.


Bookmark and Share
Heikkinen, driver of the Bluebeam OlsbergsMSE Ford Fiesta ST, only needed two points to clinch the title and he continues to be the only driver to make a podium appearance at all eight rounds.

"This is such a great moment for us," said Heikkinen, who was the first to driver to win back-to-back X Games gold medals this year. "It is a very good feeling to have done so well and be on the podium once again. The race here was definitely the toughest so I was happy to be able to finish third.

"Winning the GRC Championship was really a dream for me so it’s quite good to have won it one race before the last race of the season," said Heikkinen, who made history by clinching the championship before the final race. "There have been so many of my team and sponsors that have pushed me to get here and I am just so grateful for them. I am also grateful to Sylvania for a nice big check."

For Scott Speed, the victory today was his second of the season. The OMSE 2 Ford Fiesta driver won his second heat to automatically advance to the final.

"We are pretty fast on the tarmac and on the dirt, not so much on the gravel," said Speed, who won the first race of the season at X Games in Brazil. "This was pretty much all dirt so it fit our car really well and I felt fast all day. I survived, which seems to be key.

"When we were in Bristol it was all tarmac and I was real fast there as well but didn’t survive like Tanner today," said Speed. "I’m happy to be back on the podium and feeling good about being one of the fastest since I haven’t had the same luck since the first race."

The podium sweep was rounded out by Brian Deegan, driver of the Rockstar Energy OlsbergsMSE Ford Fiesta ST, who claimed his second runner-up of the season.

"Well I survived the first corner, on the restart that is because I was in the pile up on our first start," said Deegan, the 2012 GRC runner-up. "On the restart I got through clean, Scott got out ahead of me and that’s about all she wrote. I tried to catch up the entire nine laps but we were running the same speeds. There were certain time I was catching him and other places he was flat out beating me.

"I finished as best as I could with a damaged car and a second was good," said Deegan, who seeded seventh. "It’s always good in this series because it can be a fifty-fifty, so I am happy with second."

The sweep at Charlotte’s Dirt Track was the fourth for Ford and the OlsbergsMSE this season. A Ford won five of a possible six heats and the two fastest cars after the seeding session. Ford had five cars in the nine-car final and has now claimed 20 out of a possible 24 podium finishes through eight races, including seven victories.

Unlike 2012, this year’s Charlotte race took place on the Dirt Track facility and was primarily compromised of dirt. The track included multiple obstacles including an exit out of the oval and onto to the tarmac which then lead the cars to a long jump that lead back into the dirt.


1. Scott Speed

2. Brian Deegan

3. Toomas Heikkinen

4. Stephan Verider

5. Steve Arpin

6. Bucky Lasek

7. Ken Block

8. Sverre Isachsen


1A. Ken Block

1B. Travis Pastrana

1C. Tanner Foust

2A. Ken Block

2B. Scott Speed

2C. Brian Deegan


1. Steve Arpin 36.853

2. Ken Block 36.864

3. Dave Mirra 36.965

4. Tanner Foust 37.056

5. Toomas Heikkinen 37.076

6. Patrik Sandell 37.206

7. Brian Deegan 37.232

8. Travis Pastrana 37.378

9. Sverre Isachsen 37.409

10. Bucky Lasek 37.475

11. Scott Speed 37.673

12. Stephan Verdier 37.989

13. Nelson Piquet Jr 38.292

14. Bryce Menzies 38.499

15. Pat Moro 42.418

DRIVER POINTS (after Round 7)

1. Toomas Heikkinen, 139

2. Tanner Foust, 96

3. Brian Deegan, 84

4. Ken Block, 80

5. Patrik Sandell, 75


1. Ford, 264

2. Subaru, 109

3. Dodge, 94


Charlotte Motor Speedway 1st Place (Speed), 2nd (Deegan), 3rd (Heikkinen)

Atlanta Motor Speedway 1st Place (Heikkinen), 2nd Place (Foust)

X Games Los Angeles Gold (Heikkinen), Silver (Foust)

Bristol Motor Speedway 1st Place (Heikkinen), 2nd Place (Block), 3rd Place (Deegan)

New Hampshire Motor Speedway 1st Place (Heikkinen), 2nd Place (Sandell), 3rd Place (Deegan)

X Games Germany 2 Gold (Heikkinen), Bronze (Foust)

X Games Germany 1 Silver (Block), Bronze (Heikkinen)

X Games Brazil Gold (Speed), Silver (Heikkinen), Bronze (Sandell)

The Global Rallycross Championship will finish up the season with the final race in Las Vegas, Nevada at SEMA on Thursday, November 7, 2013.

PaddockTalk Perspective

Also in WRC Rally News 2010:

Related links
· Rally Edition
· Top PaddockTalk News!
· More about WRC Rally News 2010

Most read story in WRC Rally News 2010:
Albatec Racing Aims For Hungarian Spoils

Home :: _ 

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner.
The comments are property of their posters, all the rest (c) 2003-2014 by PaddockTalk.com.
Contact E-mail: admin@paddocktalk.com