F1, Formula 1, NASCAR, IndyCar, MotoGP, ALMS, And More!

Jan 28, 2014 - 06:37 AM
Top News!
Rumors Edition!
Upcoming Racing! (Updated)

Top Stories
· First Photos: 2014 Mercedes Formula One F1 W05 (Jan 28, 2014)
· First Photos: 2014 Red Bull Formula One F1 Red Bull RB10 (Jan 28, 2014)
· First Photos: 2014 Toro Rosso Formula One F1 STR9 (Jan 27, 2014)
· 2014 Daytona Rolex 24: United SportsCar Final Race Results - Corvette Wins! (Jan 26, 2014)
· 2014 Daytona Rolex 24: United SportsCar Race Results - After Hour 22 (Jan 26, 2014)

Previous Top Stories!

Hot Rumors!
· F1: Lotus in 'contact' with Whitmarsh ? (Jan 27, 2014)
· F1: 2014 to be last season for F1 sponsor UBS ? (Jan 27, 2014)
· F1: McLaren, Lotus fight over major sponsor ? (Jan 25, 2014)
· F1: No date set for end of Schumacher coma ? (Jan 24, 2014)
· F1: Martini returning to F1 with Williams ? (Jan 24, 2014)
More Rumors!

Bumper Support Grids Set For 12-Hour Weekend
Posted by: newsla on Jan 28, 2014 - 06:34 AM
Sports Cars
Bumper Support Grids Set For 12-Hour Weekend

MORE THAN only the 12-hour race, the Liqui-Moly Bathurst 12 Hour weekend will also feature a bumper support race program across February 7 and 8 this year.


Bookmark and Share
125 support category entries have been received across three categories; the venerable HQ Holdens, Improved Production and the Radical Australia Cup.

The incredibly fast Radical Sports Cars will make their Mount Panorama debut with a 27-car grid made up of the V8-powered SR8 and four-cylinder SR3 open-topped sports cars.

Lightweight and incredibly fast, the V8-powered Radicals feature 430hp and are every bit as fast as the top-flight GT3 racers that make up the pointy end of the 12-hour field – ensuring there could be a lap record battle between the two classes on the newly resurfaced track.

The Radical entry list is headed by the reigning champion, Neale Muston, and returning competitor Tim Berryman.

Muston has dominated the last two years of the Radical Australia Cup, winning all bar a few races in his No.1 Corse Motorsport-entered SR8.

Berryman returned to the Radical series late last year and was immediately competitive, pushing Muston all the way in the final round of 2013 at Wakefield Park. The pair is expected to top the field and the expanding group of competitors running the V8-powered examples.

Simon Haggarty, Peter Johnston, Porsche racer John Morriss and Oliver Smith are expected to lead the way in the SR3 ‘race within a race’.

The Radical Australia Cup has rapidly expanded in the last several seasons and features big grids and extremely competitive racing – and their open-top sports car style adds to the international feel of the 12-hour weekend in Bathurst.

The Radical brand is globally known with Radical Cup series based all around the world, Neale Muston having contested the European Masters at the famous Monza circuit last year as the Australian representative.

The Kenda Tyres HQ Endurance Challenge will feature a packed 47-car grid and several two-driver combinations to tackle the pair of one-hour races to be held on Saturday.

Five-time Porsche Carrera Cup champion Craig Baird is the highest-profile addition to the field, set to line up with Scott Cameron in the No.11 Subway entry. Once again several of the popular QLD-based Holden Gemini’s will join the HQ field for the pair of what are likely to be action-packed races.

51 Improved Production cars are nominated for the pair of 35-minute sprint races they will contest on Saturday with Tasmanian ace Ray Hislop the clear favourite ahead of the Donut King-sponsored round.

Improved Production – which, as it name correctly states, features race tuned versions of road going vehicles – has a remarkably diverse array of vehicles entered including everything from Toyota Celicas to BMWs, Mazdas, Holdens and even an Audi 80 Quattro.

PaddockTalk Perspective

Also in Sports Cars:

Related links
· Sports Car Edition
· Top PaddockTalk News!
· More about Sports Cars

Home :: _ 

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner.
The comments are property of their posters, all the rest (c) 2003-2014 by PaddockTalk.com.
Contact E-mail: [email protected]