F1, Formula 1, NASCAR, IndyCar, MotoGP, ALMS, And More!

Jan 30, 2014 - 10:43 AM
Top News!
Rumors Edition!
Upcoming Racing! (Updated)

Top Stories
· 2014 Jerez: Formula One F1 Wednesday Test Results (Jan 29, 2014)
· 2014 Jerez: Formula One F1 Tuesday Test Results (Jan 28, 2014)
· First Photos: 2014 Mercedes Formula One F1 W05 (Jan 28, 2014)
· First Photos: 2014 Red Bull Formula One F1 Red Bull RB10 (Jan 28, 2014)
· First Photos: 2014 Toro Rosso Formula One F1 STR9 (Jan 27, 2014)

Previous Top Stories!

Hot Rumors!
· F1: Webber predicts early retirement for Vettel ? (Jan 28, 2014)
· F1: Lotus in 'contact' with Whitmarsh ? (Jan 27, 2014)
· F1: 2014 to be last season for F1 sponsor UBS ? (Jan 27, 2014)
· F1: McLaren, Lotus fight over major sponsor ? (Jan 25, 2014)
· F1: No date set for end of Schumacher coma ? (Jan 24, 2014)
More Rumors!

Champion Drivers Flock to Liqui-Moly Bathurst 12 Hour
Posted by: newsla on Jan 30, 2014 - 10:39 AM
Sports Cars
Champion Drivers Flock to Liqui-Moly Bathurst 12 Hour

CHAMPION drivers from around the world are lining up for a start at the Liqui-Moly Bathurst 12 Hour next weekend (February 7-9).


Bookmark and Share
The drivers entered to compete in the race this year have won more than 100 major motor racing titles or major races globally – including some of the biggest races anywhere in the world.

Four-time American LeMans series class champion and LeMans 24 Hour class champion Oliver Gavin was the latest to confirm his participation – set to line up with World Touring Car Champion Rob Huff in a Rotek Racing-entered Audi R8 LMS.

“This will be my very first time at Mount Panorama and it’s very exciting to have the opportunity to compete in the Bathurst 12 Hours with Rotek Racing,” said Gavin.

“It’s a race that’s growing in stature and it’s certainly going to be a challenge. Any Australia motorsport aficionado will say that Bathurst is very unique and a circuit that cannot be replicated, in the same way as Le Mans, Macau, the Nurburgring and Spa.

“I think you need to spend quite a lot of time there to get somewhere close to being competitive and getting used to the circuit’s high-speed sections and the closeness of the walls is going to be one of the biggest challenges for me. However, we have a solid driver line-up and the plan is to push for the class victory. We will have a good, fast and solid package that’s capable of fighting with anybody.”

The driving list includes five Bathurst 1000 champions, three V8 Supercars champions and three FIA GT World Champions.

Last year’s winners of the Spa 24 Hour race, Sepang 12 Hour race and, of course, the Liqui-Moly Bathurst 12 Hour are all included.

Almost every major international and junior category has representation with drivers bringing Formula 1, IndyCar, World Endurance Championship and DTM experience from around the world, alongside Australia’s finest from the V8’s, Gold Star, Formula Fords and Carrera Cup.

Porsche is the most numerical brand in the field (there are 10 entered) and the driving list accounts for a remarkable 23 one-make Porsche titles won around the world in the past 10 years.

The list below covers major domestic, regional and international titles won by drivers competing in the Bathurst 12 Hour this year – and the number of different drivers entered to have won them.

Liqui-Moly Bathurst 12 Hour – 6 different winners.
V8 Supercars Championship – 3 (For a total of five titles - Craig Lowndes x3, Rick Kelly, John Bowe)
Bathurst 1000 – 5 (Rick Kelly, Jason Bright, Craig Lowndes, John Bowe and Steve Richards - for a total of 13 victories).
V8 Supercars Development Series – 4 (for a total of 6 titles)
International Touring Car Championship – 1
LeMans 24 Hour (class or outright race win) – 6
DTM (Deutsche Tourenwagen Masters) – 1 (Bernd Schneider has won it five times)
German Formula 3 Championship – 2
British Formula 3 Championship - 1
FIA World GT Championship – 3
Blancpain Endurance Series - 2
German VLN Endurance Championship – 1
Porsche Supercup – 1 (Rene’ Rast has won it three times)
Porsche Carrera Cup Germany – 3
Porsche Carrera Cup Asia – 1
Porsche GT3 Cup Challenge Australia – 2
Porsche Carrera Cup Australia – 2 (For six championship wins)
Porsche GT3 Cup Challenge New Zealand – 1 (Craig Baird has won six NZGT3CC titles)
Australian Manufacturers Championship – 1
Australian Formula Ford Championship – 6
Australian GT Championship – 2
Australian Drivers Championship / CAMS Gold Star – 3
Formula BMW Asia – 1
Bathurst 24 Hour – 2
Spa Francorchamps 24 Hour Race – 3
V8 Utes Championship – 2
World Endurance Championship (class race victory) – 1
Touring Car Masters Series – 1 (for two championships)
Formula 1 drivers – 4
Australian Safari Winner – 1
American LeMans Series (ALMS) Class or Outright Champions – 4 (For eight class titles)
Asian GT Championship – 1
World Touring Car Championship – 1
New Zealand Grand Prix – 2 (for four victories)
World Time Attack Challenge – 1
New Zealand Touring Car Championship – 1 (for four championship wins)
Sepang 12 Hour – 3
Hulk / Star Trek bad guy / Hollywood hearthrob – 1
Leading Australian Motoring Journalists – 6

The Bathurst 12 hour is a key regional event on the NSW Events Calendar, and is proudly supported by the NSW Government's tourism and major events agency, Destination NSW.

PaddockTalk Perspective

Also in Sports Cars:

Related links
· Sports Car Edition
· Top PaddockTalk News!
· More about Sports Cars

Home :: _ 

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner.
The comments are property of their posters, all the rest (c) 2003-2014 by PaddockTalk.com.
Contact E-mail: [email protected]