F1, Formula 1, NASCAR, IndyCar, MotoGP, ALMS, And More!

Feb 04, 2014 - 07:33 AM
Top News!
Rumors Edition!
Upcoming Racing! (Updated)

Top Stories
· 2014 Jerez: Formula One F1 Friday Test Results (Jan 31, 2014)
· 2014 Jerez: Formula One Thursday Test Result (Jan 30, 2014)
· 2014 Jerez: Formula One F1 Wednesday Test Results (Jan 29, 2014)
· 2014 Jerez: Formula One F1 Tuesday Test Results (Jan 28, 2014)
· First Photos: 2014 Mercedes Formula One F1 W05 (Jan 28, 2014)

Previous Top Stories!

Hot Rumors!
· F1: TV audience drop triggered 'double points' move ? (Feb 3, 2014)
· F1: Lotus, Marussia pay 2014 entry fees ? (Feb 3, 2014)
· F1: Melbourne in 'tough' talks over F1 future ? (Feb 3, 2014)
· F1: Webber predicts early retirement for Vettel ? (Jan 28, 2014)
· F1: Lotus in 'contact' with Whitmarsh ? (Jan 27, 2014)
More Rumors!

Bargwanna And Lowndes A Part Of New Aka Committees
Posted by: newsla on Feb 04, 2014 - 07:30 AM
Sports Cars
Bargwanna And Lowndes A Part Of New Aka Committees

The names of Bargwanna and Lowndes are synonymous with Australian motorsport, and now they’re also back as a part of Australian karting.


Bookmark and Share
Bathurst 1000 Champion Jason Bargwanna and long-time technical advisor across various forms of motorsport Frank Lowndes are two members of the new look functional committee structure for the Australian Karting Association Ltd.

Bargwanna will be joined on the Events and Sporting Committee, chaired by Competition Director Mick Doohan, by Operations Director Craig Denton, former international motorcycle racer Paul Feeney, National Officials Coordinator Mark Horsley, National Track Safety Inspector Tom Nipperess and Lee Hanatschek while long-time motorsport administrator Michael Masi will be the secretary.

Lowndes forms part of the Technical Committee headed up by Technical Director Brad Collins. The pair will work closely with National Technical Commissioner Les Allen, former technical director of V8 Supercars and CAMS Motorsport Manager Paul Taylor and long-time karting technical officials Terry Sheedy, Mark Close and Hanz Barth.

Dr. Brent May has been appointed as the Association’s Chief Medical Officer and will form part of the Safety Committee chaired by Operations Director Craig Denton.

"We’re delighted to be able to have such high quality and very experienced people a part of the committees within the AKA," said AKA Chairman Mick Doohan.

"Our objective was to broaden the experience and knowledge base of our committees and we feel that we have succeeded in achieving that objective."

The State Presidents and delegates who attended last weekend’s Karting Leaders Forum and inaugural meeting of the newly formed Executive Commission were strongly of the opinion that cultural change, less competition classes and modernized events were essential elements for review.

"The weekend’s meetings were exceptionally important for the future of the sport and certainly set the tone for the period ahead" said Doohan.

"Our immediate priority is to develop the plans that we need to improve the whole experience and this has begun with a ‘Whole of Sport review’ already underway.

"We are very focused on delivering of an improved sporting framework and a customer first mentality for the competitor. One of our key priorities in the coming years is to deliver a sport with a broad base of regular grassroots participation and clearly identified pathways to national levels and beyond."

The review is intended to be completed by mid-year.

Australian Karting Association Ltd. Functional Committees

Governance Finance and Risk Management Melissa Holzberger - Co-chairperson Phil Smith - Co-chairperson Rod Hughes Paul Colless Technical Committee Brad Collins - Chairperson Les Allen Paul Taylor Frank Lowndes Terry Sheedy Mark Close Hanz Barth Events and Sporting Committee Mick Doohan - Chairperson Craig Denton Jason Bargwanna Paul Feeney Mark Horsley Tom Nipperess Lee Hanatschek Michael Masi - Secretary Safety Committee Craig Denton - Chairperson Tom Nipperess Dr. Brent May - Chief Medical Officer Gavin Dicinoski Paul Schofield Graham Jensen Officials Committee Craig Denton - Chairperson Mark Horsley - National Officials Coordinator Mark Campbell John Lane (Queensland) Sylvia Stania (Victoria) Janine Evers (Tasmania) Rod Clee (South Australia) Brenton Taylor (Northern Territory) Kylie Perella (Western Australia) For Further Information: Lee Hanatschek Media & Marketing Manager Australian Karting Association Phone 0403 531 914

PaddockTalk Perspective

Also in Sports Cars:

Related links
· Sports Car Edition
· Top PaddockTalk News!
· More about Sports Cars

Home :: _ 

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner.
The comments are property of their posters, all the rest (c) 2003-2014 by PaddockTalk.com.
Contact E-mail: [email protected]