F1, Formula 1, NASCAR, IndyCar, MotoGP, ALMS, And More!

Feb 16, 2014 - 05:04 PM
Top News!
Rumors Edition!
Upcoming Racing! (Updated)

Top Stories
· 2014 Daytona 500: NASCAR Sprint Cup Qualifying Order & Preview (Feb 16, 2014)
· Denny Hamlin Wins All Three Segments In Sprint Unlimited Victory (Feb 16, 2014)
· 2014 Daytona 500 (Sprint Unlimited): NASCAR Sprint Cup Race Results - Hamlin, Toyota Win! (Feb 16, 2014)
· 2014 Daytona 500: NASCAR Sprint Cup Practice Two Results - Newman, Chevrolet Fastest! (Feb 15, 2014)
· 2014 Daytona 500: NASCAR Sprint Cup Practice One Results - Menard, Chevrolet Fastest! (Feb 15, 2014)

Previous Top Stories!

Hot Rumors!
· F1: Schu wins fight against pneumonia ? (Feb 14, 2014)
· F1: Ferrari sandbagging at Jerez ? (Feb 14, 2014)
· F1: Quesnel is new Lotus team boss ? (Feb 13, 2014)
· F1: Toro Rosso loses designer Furbatto ? (Feb 12, 2014)
· F1: Massa Visits Schumacher, Rumors Continue ? (Feb 12, 2014)
More Rumors!

Fahim Secures Double Title Win In UAE Desert Championship
Posted by: newsla on Feb 16, 2014 - 05:02 PM
Fahim Secures Double Title Win In UAE Desert Championship

Ahmad Al Fahim is celebrating a double success at the end of the inaugural UAE Desert Championship, while fellow Emirati Mohammed Shamsi and Dubai-based South African Sean Gaugain are the other big winners in the new national Baja rally series.


Bookmark and Share
Victory in last weekend’s fourth and final round of the 2013-14 championship at the wheel of his Polariz RZR saw Al Fahim squeeze ahead of Ahmad Al Maqoodi, who finished second on the day, to clinch the overall cars and buggies titles.

The battle for the quads crown was just as fiercely contested, with Shamsi taking second place on the day behind Colin Mercer but still beating him by seven points to emerge as champion, with three out of four rounds counting toward the final standings.

Coming under pressure in the bikes title chase from Sam Sunderland, who won his first stage in the Dakar Rally last month, Gaugain held on to take the championship by three points from the Dubai-based English rider, despite being beating by him into second place on the day.

Organised by the Emirates Motor Sport Federation, with TAG Heuer Middle East as the official timekeeper and founding partner, the UAE Desert Championship was run with the support of the Automobile and Touring Club of the UAE, the national motor sport authority.

The new series provides a natural link into to the Abu Dhabi Desert challenge, the UAE’s round of both the FIA World Cup for Cross Country Rallies for cars, and the FIM Cross-Country Rallies World Championship for bikes, which runs for the 24th time from 3-10 April.

ATCUAE President Mohammed Ben Sulayem said: “I’m very happy with the quality and quantity of entries we’ve had in the inaugural UAE Desert Championship.”

“We’ve mixed everything together – the cars, buggies, bikes and quads – so it’s a miniature Desert Challenge. We’ve had great support from all the drivers and riders and I want to thank them for that. This is a good start, and we want to grow the Desert Championship next year.”

Double champion Al Fahim said: “This is a good preparation for the Desert Challenge. We really enjoy these type of rallies. It’s a really good environment and the safety factory is very high.”

Sunderland, who finished the series with successive victories, said: “The championship is awesome. It’s really good to promote the sport in the UAE. It’s been a great first series and I’m really happy to have won the last two rounds.”

UAE Desert Championship, Round 4 results:

Overall & national class: 1. Ahmed Al Fahim; 2.Ahmad Al Maqoodi; 3. Khalid Al Jafla.
T1 class1: 1. Ian Barker; 2. Ben Menzies.
T2 class: 1. Mansoor Al Helei; 2. Michael Ziegler.

Overall & 450cc class: 1. Sam Sunderland; 2. Sean Gaugin 3. Mohammed Al Balooshi
Marathon class: 1 Kristian Karcher; 2. Stephen Collie; 3. Alexandre Treffle;
Masters class: 1. Cameron Waugh; 2. Leslie Howard; 3. Mubarak Al Ali
Open class: 1. Steve Blackney; 2. John Emhoff; 3. David McBride
Female class: 1. Victoria Northway; 2. Abi Shephard; 3. Jayne Van Der Merwe
Quads: 1. Colin Mercer; 2. Mohammed Al Shamsi; 3. Humaid Al Mashghouni.

PaddockTalk Perspective

Also in Tidbits:

Related links
· Top PaddockTalk News!
· More about Tidbits

Home :: _ 

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner.
The comments are property of their posters, all the rest (c) 2003-2014 by PaddockTalk.com.
Contact E-mail: [email protected]