F1, Formula 1, NASCAR, IndyCar, MotoGP, ALMS, And More!

Feb 22, 2014 - 12:40 PM
Top News!
Rumors Edition!
Upcoming Racing! (Updated)

Top Stories
· 2014 Bahrain: Formula One F1 Saturday Test Results - Rosberg, Mercedes Fastest! (Feb 22, 2014)
· 2014 Daytona: NASCAR Nationwide Starting Line-Up & Race Preview (Feb 22, 2014)
· 2014 Daytona: NASCAR Truck Race Results - Busch, Toyota Win! (Feb 22, 2014)
· 2014 Daytona: NASCAR Truck Qualifying Results - Kennedy, Chevrolet On Pole! (Feb 21, 2014)
· 2014 Daytona 500: NASCAR Sprint Cup Practice Five Results - Stenhouse Jr, Ford Fastest! (Feb 21, 2014)

Previous Top Stories!

Hot Rumors!
· F1: Red Bull to lose title sponsor Infiniti ? (Feb 20, 2014)
· F1: Camera not to blame for Schumacher injury ? (Feb 19, 2014)
· F1: Raikkonen could be next F1 father ? (Feb 17, 2014)
· F1: Teams group FOTA set to collapse ? (Feb 17, 2014)
· F1: Court action threatens Kolles' F1 plans ? (Feb 17, 2014)
More Rumors!

Under The Radar: For An All-Time Great, Anyway
Posted by: ASkyler on Feb 22, 2014 - 12:38 PM
Under The Radar: For An All-Time Great, Anyway

He’s the defending champion of NASCAR’s biggest race. Last year’s victory was his second in the Daytona 500. And he’s coming off his sixth NASCAR Sprint Cup Series championship. One more and he ties the record for most all time, with inaugural NASCAR Hall of Famers Richard Petty and Dale Earnhardt.

Yet, Jimmie Johnson somehow comes into Daytona a bit under the radar. Buzz has surrounded Austin Dillon and Tony Stewart and Danica Patrick and an all-world rookie class.

The low-key high-performance Johnson’s likely fine with that. An early-race wreck in the Sprint Unlimited will undoubtedly do little to deter Johnson on his march towards #Se7en.

Johnson last year added his name - again - to an illustrious list of drivers who have won multiple Daytona 500s. Ten drivers have no done it, including NASCAR Hall of Famers Richard Petty (seven wins), Cale Yarborough (four), Bobby Allison (three) and Dale Jarrett (three). Come Sunday, Johnson hopes to join an even more exclusive group. Only three drivers have won back-to-back Daytona 500s: Petty (1973-74), Yarborough (1983-84) and Sterling Marlin (1994-95).

And if he does, he’ll be one step closer to making the Chase for the NASCAR Sprint Cup for the 11th consecutive time. This year, the top 15 winners are guaranteed a spot in the Chase. A win in the season-opening race will all but guarantee a berth into NASCAR’s playoffs.


Bookmark and Share

PaddockTalk Perspective

Also in NASCAR News:

Related links
· NASCAR Edition
· Top PaddockTalk News!
· NASCAR Rumors
· More about NASCAR News

Home :: _ 

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner.
The comments are property of their posters, all the rest (c) 2003-2014 by PaddockTalk.com.
Contact E-mail: [email protected]