F1, Formula 1, NASCAR, IndyCar, MotoGP, ALMS, And More!

Feb 26, 2014 - 07:02 AM
Top News!
Rumors Edition!
Upcoming Racing! (Updated)

Top Stories
· 2014 Daytona 500: NASCAR Sprint Cup Race Results - Earnhardt Jr, Chevrolet Win! (Feb 24, 2014)
· 2014 Daytona 500: NASCAR Sprint Cup Starting Line-Up & Race Preview (Feb 23, 2014)
· 2014 Daytona: NASCAR Nationwide Race Results - Smith, Chevrolet Win! (Feb 22, 2014)
· 2014 Bahrain: Formula One F1 Saturday Test Results - Rosberg, Mercedes Fastest! (Feb 22, 2014)
· 2014 Daytona: NASCAR Nationwide Starting Line-Up & Race Preview (Feb 22, 2014)

Previous Top Stories!

Hot Rumors!
· F1: Latest Schumacher Rumors ? (Feb 24, 2014)
· F1: Red Bull to lose title sponsor Infiniti ? (Feb 20, 2014)
· F1: Camera not to blame for Schumacher injury ? (Feb 19, 2014)
· F1: Raikkonen could be next F1 father ? (Feb 17, 2014)
· F1: Teams group FOTA set to collapse ? (Feb 17, 2014)
More Rumors!

BTRDA Rallycross Is Go
Posted by: newsla on Feb 26, 2014 - 06:59 AM
WRC Rally News 2010
BTRDA Rallycross Is Go

The opening round of the eagerly awaited 2014 Autosport International BTRDA Clubmans Rallycross Championship gets underway at Blyton in Lincolnshire next Sunday (9th March) with a host of top quality drivers and some exciting new cars set for action.


Bookmark and Share
With the planned first round at Blyton being postponed due to a flooded track earlier this month, the enforced delay has allowed a few more drivers to get their cars prepared meaning around 50 competitors will do battle around the new, shortened version of the previous track.

The Procters Coaches/Swift Signs Clubman Supercars don't make their debut in the series until the next rounds at Pembrey meaning it's the Funk Motorsport.com Super Modified class which takes centre stage.

2012 BTRDA champion Gary Cook will be hoping for a good start to his campaign in his 1800cc MGZR but with the likes of Guy Corner's supercharged Peugeot 206, Gary Dixon's Astra, the rapid rear wheel drive Corsa of Allan Tapscott and former Supercar driver Kevin McCann in his Ford Escort Mk5, the battle for the up to 2100cc class will be intense.

Dave Ewin (Ford Fiesta EVO), Brian Jukes (Audi TT) and the Renault Clio RS of Scotsman Kenny Hall are all expected to challenge plus there are a couple of big hitters planning late entries, including the mighty Judd-powered Metro of Des Wheatley, so it's anyone's guess who will emerge victorious.

In the 1600cc class, Jamie Yapp's Suzuki Swift could be the car to beat but Phil Chicken (Citroen C2) will be giving chase, as will the upgraded Peugeot 206 of rally driver Larry Carter whilst in the up to 1400cc class, Nick Thornton will make his debut in the BL Metro campaigned so successfully by his father Brian to British Championship success back in the 1980s.

The Red5Motorsport Production class is also expected to deliver some close racing in both the 1600cc and 2000cc categories. The 2000cc 16v entry sees Ashley Kemp's Renault Clio going up against Barry Dutton's Renault Megane and Lewis Porto in his unique Alfa 156 amongst others.

The ultra competitive 1600cc 16v class sees a host of potential winners including the popular Citroen Saxos VTSs of Martin Peters, Steve Gaunt, John Gaskin, Dave Ellis and John Lyne but they'll be expecting pressure from the likes of Steve Wells (Ford Fiesta Zetec) and Damon Fatchett in his Peugeot 106.

Steve and Leigh Hickey in their respective Peugeot 205s head the 1600cc 8v field but the similar cars of Colin Ramsey and Ryan Stutchbury could prove a threat, as could the Citroen Saxo of Steve Kemp.

The Fuchs Lubricants Classic Minicross class sees Craig Truelove in action in his 1300cc version and in the Fuchs Lubricants BMW Mini class, Yorkshire brothers Keifer and Kris Hudson will battle it out for honours. Although not on the entry list yet, Drew Bellerby is hoping to be in action in the Red5 Motorsport Junior Rallycross Championship after her debut mid way through last season in the Suzuki Swift.

Although entries are now closed, the organizers are still keen to accept any late entries whereby details and regulations for this round and all other forthcoming events can be found on the official website www.clubmansrallycross.weebly.com.

Signing on and scrutineering takes place from 7am with open practice commencing at 9am followed by the first and second heats prior to a lunch break. The third set of heats is followed thereafter by the finals.

PaddockTalk Perspective

Also in WRC Rally News 2010:

Related links
· Rally Edition
· Top PaddockTalk News!
· More about WRC Rally News 2010

Most read story in WRC Rally News 2010:
Albatec Racing Aims For Hungarian Spoils

Home :: _ 

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner.
The comments are property of their posters, all the rest (c) 2003-2014 by PaddockTalk.com.
Contact E-mail: [email protected]