F1, Formula 1, NASCAR, IndyCar, MotoGP, ALMS, And More!

Mar 18, 2014 - 08:28 PM
Top News!
Rumors Edition!
Upcoming Racing! (Updated)

Top Stories
· Team Penske Cars Lead Shortened First Day of Barber Open Test (Mar 18, 2014)
· 2014 Bristol: NASCAR Sprint Cup Race Results - Edwards, Ford Win! (Mar 16, 2014)
· REVISED 2014 Australian GP: Formula One F1 Race Results - Rosberg, Mercedes Win! (Mar 16, 2014)
· 2014 Australian GP: EXCLUDED, Daniel Ricciardo, Red Bull Not In Compliance (Mar 16, 2014)
· 2014 Bristol: NASCAR Sprint Cup Starting Line-up & Race Preview (Mar 16, 2014)

Previous Top Stories!

Hot Rumors!
· F1: 'Monster' Mercedes producing 900hp ? (Mar 16, 2014)
· F1: Mercedes breached fuel flow rules in Melbourne ? (Mar 16, 2014)
· F1: Vettel could exit amid Red Bull crisis ? (Mar 12, 2014)
· F1: Red Bull could give up on 2014 chase in weeks ? (Mar 11, 2014)
· F1: Ferrari sandbagged in winter testing ? (Mar 10, 2014)
More Rumors!

New Enshrinement Criteria To Be Implemented
Posted by: newsla on Mar 18, 2014 - 08:20 PM
New Enshrinement Criteria To Be Implemented For International Motorsports Hall Of Fame For 2015, Beyond

The International Motorsports Hall of Fame, adjacent to Talladega Superspeedway, will establish a new process for enshrinement beginning in 2015.


Bookmark and Share
There will not be an International Motorsports Hall of Fame induction ceremony this year, as a result of no individual receiving the required 51 percent of the vote from the 120-person voting panel. The annual event was tentatively scheduled for Thursday, May 1, as a kickoff to the Aaron’s Dream Weekend at Talladega Superspeedway.

"The process of election into the International Motorsports Hall of Fame has served the institution and public well for many years," said Senator Gerald Dial, Chairman of the Board for the International Motorsports Hall of Fame. "We want to make sure we are consistently honoring those deserving individuals on a yearly basis, so we are looking to create new and better procedures for induction and implement them for 2015. Once the Board of Directors of the Hall has approved and finalized the future process, we will make our members, as well as the public, aware of the changes."

In early November last year, the Hall announced its second ballot with 22 finalists for the 2014 induction class. The percentage of votes cast for any of the finalists, however, from the panel which consists of media members as well as current International Motorsports Hall of Famers, didn’t meet the requirement for new membership. The finalists included: Michael Andretti, Raymond Beadle, Keith Black, Harold Brasington, Clint Brawner, Joie Chitwood, Harvey Firestone, Tommy Hinnershitz, David Hobbs, Ted Horn, Connie Kalitta, Joe Leonard, Roger McCluskey, Tom "Mongoose" McEwen, Danny Ongais, Marvin Panch, Les Richter, Troy Ruttman and Sir Henry Segrave. All 22, plus others, will be on the 2015 list for possible induction.

Currently, to be eligible for the International Motorsports Hall of Fame, an individual must be retired in his or her line of work in motorsports for at least five years. However, that person may still be active in the sport in a different capacity. The Hall is dedicated to enshrining those who have contributed the most to motorsports, either as a driver, developer, engineer, promoter, etc. Opened in April of 1983, the International Motorsports Hall of Fame and Museum is dedicated to the preservation of the history of motorsports.

PaddockTalk Perspective

Also in Tidbits:

Related links
· Top PaddockTalk News!
· More about Tidbits

Home :: _ 

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner.
The comments are property of their posters, all the rest (c) 2003-2014 by PaddockTalk.com.
Contact E-mail: [email protected]