F1, Formula 1, NASCAR, IndyCar, MotoGP, ALMS, And More!

Mar 21, 2014 - 07:04 AM
Top News!
Rumors Edition!
Upcoming Racing! (Updated)

Top Stories
· Power Paces Final Day Of Verizon IndyCar Series Open Test At Barber (Mar 19, 2014)
· Team Penske Cars Lead Shortened First Day of Barber Open Test (Mar 18, 2014)
· 2014 Bristol: NASCAR Sprint Cup Race Results - Edwards, Ford Win! (Mar 16, 2014)
· REVISED 2014 Australian GP: Formula One F1 Race Results - Rosberg, Mercedes Win! (Mar 16, 2014)
· 2014 Australian GP: EXCLUDED, Daniel Ricciardo, Red Bull Not In Compliance (Mar 16, 2014)

Previous Top Stories!

Hot Rumors!
· F1: New Ferrari engine too heavy ? (Mar 19, 2014)
· F1: Honda duo to 'observe' at 2014 races ? (Mar 19, 2014)
· F1: 'Monster' Mercedes producing 900hp ? (Mar 16, 2014)
· F1: Mercedes breached fuel flow rules in Melbourne ? (Mar 16, 2014)
· F1: Vettel could exit amid Red Bull crisis ? (Mar 12, 2014)
More Rumors!

Record Numbers For CIK Stars Of Karting Championship Opener
Posted by: newsla on Mar 21, 2014 - 07:03 AM
Support Series News
Record Numbers For CIK Stars Of Karting Championship Opener

Next weekend’s opening round of the 2014 CIK Stars of Karting Championship presented by Castrol EDGE in Ipswich, Queensland has attracted a record number of entries.


Bookmark and Share
For this first time in the Championship’s 19-year history there will be more than 190 competitors take to the circuit across the seven classes contested.

Between the three elite CIK (Commission Internationale de Karting) classes – KZ2, KF2 and KF3 – an impressive 72 drivers will take to the circuit. It will be the first time since the late nineties when drivers to the caliber of Jamie Whincup and Mark Winterbottom were in the prime of their karting careers, that such large fields have been assembled in the top-level classes of karting in Australia.

In the six-speed KZ2 category, a pair of Dutchmen – reigning Champion Joey Hanssen and Marijn Kremer – will take on Australia’s best drivers including 2012 Champion Chris Hays and Ipswich Grammar School student Brock Plumb.

For Plumb, next weekend’s event will be the biggest challenge of his lengthy karting career as he moves from the single-speed KF2 class into the KZ2 ranks.

“I'm new to the class with a lot to learn, however we have done a lot of work on and off the track to give ourselves the best chance at a good result,” said Plumb.

“My engine tuner Graham Armstrong has done an amazing job getting up to speed on the engine side, so I hope I can get a good result in my first real race in the KZ2 class.

“I am fairly confident that we can walk away from the first round with a good result.”

Another driver set to tackle a new challenge is Gold Coaster Lucas Ward. The 18 year-old will be a part of the highly competitive KF2 field that includes entries from various parts of the country.

It will be the first event that Ward has contested in the class where he will line up against the likes of reigning champion Matthew Waters from Sydney and 2013 Coates Hire Race of Stars winner Troy Loeskow from Bundaberg.

No less than 25 youngsters will line up in the top-level junior category - KF3. It is in this class where Loganholme’s Harrison Hoey will become the youngest driver since Red Bull Racing’s Australian Formula One driver Daniel Ricciardo to take to the circuit in the top level of junior karting in Australia.

In addition to the three CIK classes, the event doubles as the first event on the schedule for the Australian TaG 125 and Rookies Challenge.

In the TaG 125 class, a capacity field of 44 drivers will take to the circuit with Ipswich regulars Adam Mercer, Ben Stewart, Jason Burns and Chris Farkas expected to figure prominently. Adding further interest to the class is the fact that V8 Utes driver Kris Walton and female drivers Holly Patrizi, Courtney Gough and former Australian Champion Jessica Golding will be among the action.

Practice for the event will be held next Friday morning (March 28) ahead of qualifying in the afternoon and the opening heat in the early evening. The racing will continue from 9:30am through to 8pm on Saturday.

A full timetable of events can be found by clicking here.
The action from the finals will be streamed live across the internet with links to be provided on the Karting Australia (www.karting.net.au), Stars of Karting (www.starsofkarting.com.au) and My Sport Live (www.mysportlive.com.au) websites.
A full list of entrants can be found here.

The Ipswich Kart Club is located on Champions Way, Willowbank.
For Further Information
Lee Hanatschek
Championship Coordinator
CIK Stars of Karting Championship
Phone 0403 531 914

CIK Stars of Karting Championship
Former Champions
KZ2 (previously Pro Gearbox and Intercontinental C)
2013 – Joey Hanssen (CRG/Modena)
2012 – Chris Hays (Energy/TM)
2011 – Tyler Greenbury (Intrepid/Maxter)
2010 – Matthew Wall (BRM/TM)
2005 – Bart Price (Arrow/TM)
2004 – Bart Price (Arrow/TM)
2003 – Tyson Pearce (Omega/TM)
2002 – Jason Burns (Mac Minerelli/TM)
KF2 (previously Pro Light and Formula A)
2013 – Matthew Waters (Kosmic/IAME)
2012 – Adam Hughes (Kosmic/IAME)
2011 – Jake Spencer (Kosmic/IAME)
2010 – Cian Fothergill (Kosmic/IAME)
2009 – Hayden McBride (Gillard/IAME)
2004 – Barclay Holden (Trulli/Parilla)
2003 – Barclay Holden (Trulli/Parilla)
2002 – Adam Graham (Arrow/Rotax)
2001 – Mark Winterbottom (Tony Kart/Vortex)
2000 – Neil McFadyen (Top Kart/Comer)
1999 – Jamie Whincup (Tecno/Parilla)
1998 – Ryan Wlodzinski (PCR/PCR)
1997 – David Clark (Tecno/Atomik)
1996 – Jeremy Lohmann (Tony Kart/Vortex)
1995 – Darrell Smith (PCR/PCR)
1994 – Phillip Scifleet (Haase/Italsistem)
1993 – Richard McLeod (Azzurro/Fox)
KF3 (previously Pro Junior and Junior Intercontinental A)
2013 – Liam McLellan (OK1/Vortex)
2012 – Cameron Hill (Top Kart/Vortex)
2011 – Pierce Lehane (CRG/Vortex)
2010 – Pierce Lehane (CRG/Vortex)
2005 – Joshua Scott (BRM)
2004 – Kristian Lindbom (Top Kart/Comer)
2003 – Kristian Lindbom (Top Kart/Comer)
2002 – Ben Chong Sun (Top Kart/Comer)
2001 – Tim Slade (Top Kart/Comer)
2000 – Andrew Thompson (Tony Kart/Vortex)
1999 – Adam Graham (Tony Kart/Vortex)
1998 – Neil McFadyen (Top Kart/Comer)
1997 – Michael Caruso (Tony Kart/Vortex)
1996 – Ryan Briscoe (CRG/CRG)
1995 – Ryan Briscoe (CRG/Parilla)
1994 – Christian Jones (CRG/Rotax)
1993 – Mike Hazelton (CRG/Parilla)

Intercontinental A
*No longer contested in the championship
2005 - Daniel Ricciardo (Trulli/IAME)
2004 – Ashley Walsh (Trulli/IAME)
2003 – Glenn Powles (Trulli/IAME)
2002 – Luke May (CRG)
2001 – Josh Hunt (Energy/Parilla)
2000 – Brendan May (Mike Wilson/Italsistem)
1999 – Neil McFadyen (Top Kart/Comer)
1998 – Jamie Whincup (Tecno/Parilla)
1997 – Troy Hunt (Top Kart/Rotax)
1996 – John Joyce (Tony Kart/Italsistem)
1995 – Lincoln Mitchell (Top Kart/Comer)
1994 – Sandro Guaitoli (PCR/PCR)
1993 – Shane Wilson (Haase/Italsistem)

PaddockTalk Perspective

Also in Support Series News:

Related links
· Support Edition
· Top PaddockTalk News!
· More about Support Series News

Home :: _ 

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner.
The comments are property of their posters, all the rest (c) 2003-2014 by PaddockTalk.com.
Contact E-mail: [email protected]