F1, Formula 1, NASCAR, IndyCar, MotoGP, ALMS, And More!

Mar 30, 2014 - 05:00 AM
Top News!
Rumors Edition!
Upcoming Racing! (Updated)

Top Stories
· 2014 St. Petersburg: IndyCar Qualifying Results - Sato, Honda On Pole! (Mar 29, 2014)
· 2014 Malaysian GP: Formula One F1 Starting Grid Line-up & Race Preview (Mar 29, 2014)
· 2014 Martinsville: NASCAR Camping World Truck Qualifying Results - Wallace Jr, Toyota On Pole! (Mar 29, 2014)
· 2014 Malaysia GP: Formula One F1 Qualifying Results - Hamilton, Mercedes On Pole! (Mar 29, 2014)
· 2014 Malaysia GP: Formula One F1 Practice Three Results - Rosberg, Mercedes Fastest! (Mar 29, 2014)

Previous Top Stories!

Hot Rumors!
· F1: Ecclestone working hard to turn up the volume ? (Mar 29, 2014)
· F1: Formula E could snap up F1's New York race ? (Mar 29, 2014)
· F1: De Silvestro's F1 race chance '1 per cent' ? (Mar 26, 2014)
· F1: 'Submarine' risk with new noses realised ? (Mar 24, 2014)
· F1: Stefanovich eyes Marussia's place on F1 grid ? (Mar 24, 2014)
More Rumors!

2014 NHRA: Mopar Motorsports- Coughlin Drives Dodge Dart to first NHRA No.1 Qualifier at Las Vegas
Posted by: newsla on Mar 30, 2014 - 04:58 AM
2014 NHRA: Mopar Motorsports- Coughlin Drives Dodge Dart to first NHRA No.1 Qualifier at Las Vegas

Mopar driver Jeg Coughlin Jr. put the brand new Dodge Dart atop the Pro Stock elimination ladder at The Strip at Las Vegas Motor Speedway for Sunday’s SummitRacing.com National Hot Rod Association (NHRA) Nationals event. It is his 20th career No.1 qualifier position but the first of the 2014 season and a very first for the Dodge Dart which marked its debut at the previous event—the Gatornationals— with a title victory by Mopar teammate Allen Johnson. The new Dodge Dart now has both a win and a No.1 qualifier in its first two events.


Bookmark and Share
The JEGS.com HEMI-powered machine earned the pole position with a low elapsed time pass of 6.625 seconds (208.78 mph) in the Friday’s second qualifying run, a time that held up in the final two sessions.

“We're really proud to hold on to the No. 1 position because it really shows quite a bit about our team,” said Coughlin who has five wins at the Las Vegas track and is looking for post his first win of the season on Sunday. “We’ve been hustling a lot the last month and a half, getting the new cars ready and starting the new season. We’ve had a great start to the new year with Allen (Johnson) winning two of the first three races and we had a great ride today.

"We were really happy with the results and the performance of the car so we'll tuck that in our hat and get ready for tomorrow,” added Coughlin who will have Mark Wolf as his opponent in the first round of eliminations. “We're really happy with the cars. Both Allen's and mine have run really well, and to be No. 1 is great."

While Mopar teams used the two Saturday qualifying sessions to prepare their rides for eliminations, much of the focus was initially centered on the yearly race-within-a race bonus event called the K&N Horsepower Challenge. All three Mopar Pro Stock drivers were part of the eight-racer field eight battling for a lucrative payday in the challenge with the winner taking home $50,000, and the runner-up earning $10,000.

Coughlin, a three-time winner of the bonus event, was the sole Mopar to make it out the first round with a win over Vincent Nobile who defaulted on his start. The JEGS.com Mopar driver went on to face Erica Enders-Stevens, but while he had the lower elapsed time of 6.642 seconds (208.88 mph) he fell short by nine thousands of a second—beaten on a holeshot by the eventual winner of the K&N Horsepower Challenge.

Allen Johnson, No.1 seed for the challenge, saw his hope for a repeat of last year’s win come to an end with a first round holeshot loss to Dave Connolly, who was voted into the competition by a fan vote. Connolly (6.648 sec / 208.07 mph) got a better start with 0.010-second reaction time to Johnson’s 0.029 (6.643 /208.23) to eliminate the “Magneti Marelli Offered by Mopar” Dodge Dart from earning the lucrative jackpot for a third time. For Sunday’s eliminations, the defending winner of the national event qualified sixth (6.632/208.94) and will have Steve Kent in the lane next to him for the opening round.

Also eliminated from the challenge early was fellow Mopar driver V. Gaines (6.657 / 208.33) by Enders-Stevens (6.642 / 208.42). The HEMI-powered driver, who already has two runner-up performances this year in the Dodge Avenger to put him second in the Pro Stock standings, ended up 10th with his best qualifying run of 6.657 sec / 209.07mph and will see Shane Gray in the first round.

In Funny Car action, Matt Hagan and his Mopar Express Lane Dodge Charger R/T led the charge in the first three qualifying sessions, setting both low e.t. and top speed in the each one, with a best pass of 4.046 sec. (318.17 mph) to keep him atop the score sheets until his final run. Dislodged from the provisional pole position by opponent Courtney Force, who did it by setting both ends of the track record with a 4.006-second, 325.37 mph on her final pass, Hagan never got a chance to better his effort after hazing the tires. He ended up fifth overall and will see Alexis DeJoria in Round 1 of eliminations.

It was Tommy Johnson Jr. who ended up pacing the Don Schumacher Racing quartet of Dodge Charger R/T entries with his final pass of 4.023 (317.87 mph) putting him third on the ladder to face his teammate Jack Beckman (4.115 / 310.13) who was 14th overall. Ron Capps put his HEMI-powered machine sixth with his best qualifying effort, posting an e.t. of 4.052 sec. (315.34 mph), to be matched up with Tim Wilkerson in the opening round.

Television coverage for the fourth of 24 events in the 2014 NHRA Mello Yello Drag Racing Series season will be broadcast on ESPN2 on Sunday, March 30, with two and a half hours of eliminations action starting at 11 p.m. (ET).
2014 NHRA Championship Points Standings

(Following Final Qualifying at SummitRacing.com NHRA Nationals Las Vegas)

PRO STOCK (season wins in parentheses)
1. Allen Johnson – Dodge Dart – 317 (2)
2. V Gaines – Dodge Avenger – 276
3. Jason Line – 269 (1)
4. Vincent Nobile – 267
5. Erica Enders Stevens – 264
6. Dave Connolly – 247
7. Shane Gray – 217
8. Jeg Coughlin Jr. – Dodge Dart 194
9. Chris McGaha – 107
10. Larry Morgan – 114

FUNNY CAR (season wins in parentheses)
1. John Force – 358 (1)
2. Robert Hight – 307 (1)
3. Del Worsham – 224
4. Alexis DeJoria – 219 (1)
5. Tommy Johnson Jr. – Dodge Charger R/T – 205
6. Matt Hagan – Dodge Charger R/T – 204
7. Ron Capps – Dodge Charger R/T – 201
8. Bob Tasca III – 194
9. Courtney Force – 187
10. Jack Beckman – Dodge Charger R/T– 182

PaddockTalk Perspective

Also in NHRA:

Related links
· More about NHRA

Home :: _ 

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner.
The comments are property of their posters, all the rest (c) 2003-2014 by PaddockTalk.com.
Contact E-mail: [email protected]