F1, Formula 1, NASCAR, IndyCar, MotoGP, ALMS, And More!

Apr 13, 2014 - 08:37 PM
Top News!
Rumors Edition!
Upcoming Racing! (Updated)

Top Stories
· 2014 Circuit Of America: MotoGP Race Results - Marquez Wins! (Apr 13, 2014)
· 2014 Long Beach: IndyCar Race Results - Conway, Chevrolet Win! (Apr 13, 2014)
· 2014 Long Beach: IndyCar Starting Line-up, Grid & Race Preview (Apr 13, 2014)
· 2014 Darlington: NASCAR Sprint Cup Race Results - Harvick, Chevrolet Win! (Apr 13, 2014)
· 2014 Circuit of America: MotoGP Qualifying Results - Marquez on pole (Apr 12, 2014)

Previous Top Stories!

Hot Rumors!
· F1: BMW, Ford considering F1 return ? (Apr 11, 2014)
· F1: Tyre-warmer ban for 2015 in doubt ? (Apr 11, 2014)
· F1: Teams in talks to buy into F1 ? (Apr 9, 2014)
· F1:'Super GP2' could be key to F1's future ? (Apr 8, 2014)
· F1: FIA wins battle, Ecclestone goes to war ? (Apr 6, 2014)
More Rumors!

2014 Long Beach: IndyCar Race Results - Conway, Chevrolet Win!
Posted by: ASkyler on Apr 13, 2014 - 06:47 PM
IndyCar News
2014 Long Beach: IndyCar Race Results - Conway, Chevrolet Win!

By Mike Sulka

Mike Conway and his No. 20 Chevrolet has won a thrilling Toyota GP of Long Beach in Long Beach in California that had fans on the edge of their seat up until the very end. For Conway, it is his first win of the 2014 IndyCar season and third of his IndyCar career. It was Conway's first win since the a victory at Belle Isle in 2013. It was also Conway's second win at Long Beach.

Finishing second was Will Power and his No. 12 Penske Chevrolet to claim his 34th IndyCar podium, and 40th major open-wheel podium.

In third, Carlos Munoz and his No. 34 Honda would grab his second career IndyCar podium.

Juan Pablo Montoya would pick up his best IndyCar finish - fourth - since his return with Simon Pagenaud rounding out the top five finishers.

With 24 laps to go, Sarah Fisher Racing driver Josef Newgarden got a great pitstop from the team to put him out in the lead exiting pitlane on cold tires. Andretti Autosport driver Ryan Hunter-Reay had led and dominated most of the race, made a highly questionable move when he attempted to get to the inside, but instead clipped the rear of Newgarden which put both cars into the concrete wall. With it being a blind corner, three other cars - Tony Kanaan, James Hinchcliffe, Takuma Sato - had their race ended after the eight-car crash that led to the caution. Jack Hawksworth, and Helio Castroneves were also affected by the accident and would lose positions.

Hunter-Reay would admit, "I probably could have been a bit more patient."

Hinchcliffe would pile-on his Andretti Autosport teammate, issuing the criticism that "it was a rookie move".

On the restart, Scott Dixon would keep the lead, though he would make contact that would end Justin Wilson's day. Dixon would continue to hold the lead until the penultimate lap when he would pit for a lack of fuel. Dixon has just one top-ten finish at Long Beach in his highly successful career.

Next up for the IndyCar series will be the Honda Indy Grand Prix of Alabama at Barber Motorsports Park in Birmingham, Alabama.


Bookmark and Share

2014 Long Beach: IndyCar Race Results
Pos Num Driver Manuf Laps Status
1. (17) Mike Conway Dallara-Chevy 80 Running
2. (14) Will Power Dallara-Chevy 80 Running
3. (11) Carlos Munoz Dallara-Honda 80 Running
4. (16) Juan Pablo Montoya Dallara-Chevy 80 Running
5. (6) Simon Pagenaud Dallara-Honda 80 Running
6. (20) Mikhail Aleshin Dallara-Honda 80 Running
7. (12) Oriol Servia Dallara-Honda 80 Running
8. (8) Marco Andretti Dallara-Honda 80 Running
9. (22) Sebastian Saavedra Dallara-Chevy 80 Running
10. (21) Carlos Huertas Dallara-Honda 80 Running
11. (9) Helio Castroneves Dallara-Chevy 80 Running
12. (7) Scott Dixon Dallara-Chevy 80 Running
13. (23) Graham Rahal Dallara-Honda 79 Running
14. (3) Sebastien Bourdais Dallara-Chevy 77 Running
15. (5) Jack Hawksworth Dallara-Honda 77 Running
16. (10) Justin Wilson Dallara-Honda 64 Contact
17. (18) Ryan Briscoe Dallara-Chevy 60 Running
18. (13) Tony Kanaan Dallara-Chevy 55 Contact
19. (4) Josef Newgarden Dallara-Honda 55 Contact
20. (1) Ryan Hunter-Reay Dallara-Honda 55 Contact
21. (2) James Hinchcliffe Dallara-Honda 55 Contact
22. (15) Takuma Sato Dallara-Honda 55 Contact
23. (19) Charlie Kimball Dallara-Chevy 41 Off Course

Race Statistics
Winners average speed: 82.362
Time of Race: 01:54:41.6418
Margin of victory: 0.9005 of a second
Cautions: 4 for 18 laps
Lead changes: 6 among 5 drivers

Lap Leaders: Hunter-Reay 1-26, Dixon 27-28, Hunter-Reay 29-53, Newgarden 54, Saavedra 55-57, Dixon 58-77, Conway 78-80.

Point Standings: Power 93, Conway 66, Pagenaud 60, Castroneves 55, Hunter-Reay 53, Dixon 51, Munoz 48, Montoya 47, Aleshin 46, Saavedra 42.

PaddockTalk Perspective

Also in IndyCar News:

Related links
· IndyCar Edition
· Top PaddockTalk News!
· IndyCar Rumors
· More about IndyCar News

Home :: _ 

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner.
The comments are property of their posters, all the rest (c) 2003-2014 by PaddockTalk.com.
Contact E-mail: [email protected]