F1, Formula 1, NASCAR, IndyCar, MotoGP, ALMS, And More!

Apr 21, 2014 - 06:14 AM
Top News!
Rumors Edition!
Upcoming Racing! (Updated)

Top Stories
· 2014 Chinese GP: Formula One F1 Race Results - Hamilton, Mercedes Win! (Apr 20, 2014)
· 2014 Chinese (Shanghai) GP: Formula One F1 Starting Line-up, Grid & Race Preview (Apr 19, 2014)
· 2014 Chinese GP: Formula One F1 Qualifying Results - Hamilton, Mercedes On Pole! (Apr 19, 2014)
· 2014 Chinese GP: Formula One F1 Practice Three Results - Ricciardo, Red Bull Fastest! (Apr 19, 2014)
· 2014 Chinese GP: Formula One F1 Practice Two Results - Hamilton, Mercedes Fastest! (Apr 18, 2014)

Previous Top Stories!

Hot Rumors!
· F1: Whitmarsh set for $10m McLaren payout ? (Apr 20, 2014)
· F1: Ferrari could turn hopes to 2015 season ? (Apr 17, 2014)
· F1: Early mistakes affected Schumacher outcome ? (Apr 17, 2014)
· F1: Mercedes to shed F1 staff ? (Apr 17, 2014)
· F1: Active suspension could return to F1 ? (Apr 16, 2014)
More Rumors!

Posted by: newsla on Apr 21, 2014 - 06:12 AM
Sports Cars

Citroën dominated the second round of the 2014 WTCC on its home race at the Circuit Paul Ricard, clinching a double 1-2 win, but the two French races, on a more traditional circuit than Marrakech, were certainly more lively and closely-fought than anticipated, which thrilled the crowd. Estimated attendance was 29,000 over the weekend.


Bookmark and Share
Yvan Muller opened his personal count of wins, by taking Race 1 on wet track, after having inherited pole position following the cancellation of all qualifying times of Sébastien Loeb and José María López because of an anomaly in the fuel cut-off valves. Loeb stormed from the back of the grid to take second.

In Race 2, marked by two safety-car periods, López managed to win, despite starting from last position, after climbing throughout the field, escorted by Yvan Muller, while Loeb could not make better than sixth after hitting the tires at the first chicane.

Muller and López also set the fastest lap in Race 1 and 2 respectively, to be declared Yokohama Performers of the event.

Today’s round saw Honda conquering its first two podium finishes of the season, with Gabriele Tarquini in Race 1 and Tiago Monteiro in Race 2. The Civic cars showed clear progress, as demonstrated also by the other points finishes of the customer cars of Norbert Michelisz and Mehdi Bennani.

Rob Huff put an incredible show in the wet in Race 1 to offer LADA a great fifth place in Race 1. The Chevrolets were a little step behind today, with Valente 6th in Race 1 and Borković 7th in Race 2 as best results.

Franz Engstler continued to reign on the TC2 class, with two new wins, despite being hit by John Filippi in Race 2 when the Frenchman missed a braking.

With today’s results, López retains the lead in the Drivers’ Championship, where he has a 8-points advantage on Loeb and 18 on Muller.

The championship will resume at Budapest’s Hungaroring, on May 4 for rounds 5 and 6.


After posting the fastest lap in yesterday’s qualifying, the two Campos Racing Chevrolet Cruze turbo cars won both races despite the wet track.

Team-mates Nikolay Karamyshev from Russia and Igor Skuz from Ukraine, shared victories after two spectacular and fair fights that were sealed by a hug on the podium, proving that people from these two countries may pacifically coexist.

2013 champion Petr Fulín emerged twice as the winner of the TC2 class, despite both races had different leaders (Norbert Kiss and Norbert Nagy) in the early stages.

German girl Ulrike Krafft dominated the male team-mates and scored two wins in the S1600 class, while ETCC rookie Aku Pellinen celebrated his maiden appearance in the series with a double victory in the Single-Make Trophy.

Results of the Single-Make Trophy remain provisional, pending the technical check on the engine of the SEAT León cars of Andreas Pfister and Ronny Jost.

PaddockTalk Perspective

Also in Sports Cars:

Related links
· Sports Car Edition
· Top PaddockTalk News!
· More about Sports Cars

Home :: _ 

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner.
The comments are property of their posters, all the rest (c) 2003-2014 by PaddockTalk.com.
Contact E-mail: [email protected]