F1, Formula 1, NASCAR, IndyCar, MotoGP, ALMS, And More!

May 05, 2014 - 06:52 AM
Top News!
Rumors Edition!
Upcoming Racing! (Updated)

Top Stories
· 2014 Talladega: NASCAR Sprint Cup Race Results - Hamlin, Toyota Win! (May 4, 2014)
· 2014 Spanish GP (Jerez): MotoGP Race Results - Marquez Wins! (May 4, 2014)
· 2014 Talladega: NASCAR Sprint Cup Starting Line-Up & Race Preview (May 4, 2014)
· 2014 Talladega: NASCAR Nationwide Race Results - Sadler, Toyota Win! (May 3, 2014)
· 2014 Talladega: NASCAR Sprint Cup Qualifying Results - Scott, Chevrolet On Pole! (May 3, 2014)

Previous Top Stories!

Hot Rumors!
· F1: Maldonado paid $25m to leave Williams ? (May 2, 2014)
· F1: Company to help F1 turn up V6 volume ? (Apr 30, 2014)
· F1: Kovalainen to be Mercedes test driver ? (Apr 29, 2014)
· F1: Argentina eyes return to F1 calendar ? (Apr 29, 2014)
· F1: European Union could investigate F1 group ? (Apr 28, 2014)
More Rumors!

Jiovani-Duane-Whisman Notch Flat Rock Wins
Posted by: newsla on May 05, 2014 - 06:49 AM
Jiovani-Duane-Whisman Notch Flat Rock Wins

Frank Jiovani nipped 3-time track champion Paul Pelletier by inches at the finish line to record his first-ever Late Model victory in Saturday night's 50 lap ARCA Moran Chevrolet Late Model feature at Flat Rock Speedway. 2013 Rookie of the Year Corey Duane captured the 2nd win of his career in the 25 lap ARCA DTS Drive Train Specialists Street Stock race, while Dennis Whisman scored the "W" in the exciting 20 lap ARCA Praxair Figure 8 Main on Racing Fan Club Night.


Bookmark and Share
Indiana native Craig Everage took the lead at the start of the 50 lap Moran Chevrolet Late Model contest and held the point for 5 laps. Paul Pelletier moved by Craig on lap 6 and set sail with a strong pace, despite several yellow flags. Frank Jiovani, coming from his 7th starting spot, closed in on Paul and set up the spectacular finish. Jiovani stood on the throttle coming out of turn 4 and barely nosed out Pelletier for the win, with Harold Fair Jr. third, coming back from the tail in a lap 28 skirmish. Stan Yee Jr. was fourth and Jeff Vrsek was fifth, followed by Steve Cronenwett Jr., Everage, Chris Benson, Grant Hedges and Terry Bogusz. Cronenwett, Bogusz and Brad Turner captured the heat races. Jiovani posted fast time for the 19 car field at 11:764.

The 25 lap DTS Drive Train Specialists Street Stock feature saw Corey Duane take his machine to the win and the 7-Up Winner's Circle. Duane led every lap and battled Josh Bunting for a better part of the event. The duo finished in that order, with Nick Shanks third, Rich Frantz fourth and Tim Moore fifth. Guy Fire, Rob Moore, Landon Schuster, Clyde McKee and Scott Selmi completed the top ten finishers. McKee, Bob Swanson and Kyle Worley captured the heat wins. Fire posted the Fastime Racing Engines and Parts quick lap at 13:556 for the 18 cars on hand.

It took just 1 race to get the bugs out of a brand new race car for Dennis Whisman, and on week 2 he wheeled his #1 to the checkered flag in the 20 lap Praxair Figure 8 race. The event was another thriller as lap after lap was filled with near-misses at the intersection! Whisman topped Billy Earley, Jeremy Miller, Robbie Loving, Jeremy Vanderhoof, Greg Studt, Race Loving, Dan Apperson, Stephanie Bradley and Ethen Lambert for the win. The father-son duo of Robbie and Race Loving took the heat race wins. The Fastime Racing Engines and Parts fast time was set by Vanderhoof at 20:761.

Saturday, May 10 is UAW Local 3000 Night at Flat Rock Speedway. The ARCA Trucks will make their annual stop at "The Rock" for a 100 lap contest, while the Figure 8's will compete in a 30 lap feature and the Street Stocks will go 40 laps.

The pits open at 1 for the trucks and 2 p.m. for the Figure 8 and Street Stock teams. The front gates open at 3, practice begins at 3, time trials are at 5:15 and racing begins at 7 p.m.

Flat Rock Speedway is located on Telegraph Road, just 5 minutes from I-75 or I-275. The track phone number is 734-782-2480.

PaddockTalk Perspective

Also in Tidbits:

Related links
· Top PaddockTalk News!
· More about Tidbits

Home :: _ 

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner.
The comments are property of their posters, all the rest (c) 2003-2014 by PaddockTalk.com.
Contact E-mail: [email protected]