F1, Formula 1, NASCAR, IndyCar, MotoGP, ALMS, And More!

May 12, 2014 - 06:30 AM
Top News!
Rumors Edition!
Upcoming Racing! (Updated)

Top Stories
· 2014 Indianapolis 500: IndyCar Sunday Practice Results - Power, Penske Break 223 MPH! (May 11, 2014)
· 2014 Spain GP: Formula One F1 Race Results - Hamilton, Mercedes Win! (May 11, 2014)
· 2014 Kansas: NASCAR Sprint Cup Race Results - Gordon, Chevrolet Win! (May 11, 2014)
· 2014 Indianapolis GP: IndyCar Race Results - Pagenaud, Honda Win! (May 10, 2014)
· 2014 Spanish Grand Prix GP: Formula One F1 Starting Line-up & Race Preview (May 10, 2014)

Previous Top Stories!

Hot Rumors!
· F1: Haas visit revs up rumours of Lotus strife ? (May 11, 2014)
· F1: Caterham ousts technical boss Smith ? (May 10, 2014)
· F1: Mercedes' rivals may block 'megaphone' exhaust ? (May 10, 2014)
· F1: Alonso to Mercedes, Newey to Ferrari ? (May 10, 2014)
· F1: Schumacher still at Grenoble hospital ? (May 10, 2014)
More Rumors!

Volkswagen Motorsport Newsletter 08/2014
Posted by: newsla on May 12, 2014 - 06:29 AM
WRC Rally News 2010
Volkswagen Motorsport Newsletter 08/2014

Argentina: Volkswagen celebrates its most successful WRC rally in the team’s history


Bookmark and Share
Jari-Matti Latvala wins ahead of Sébastien Ogier – Volkswagen has celebrated its fifth win this season in the FIA World Rally Championship (WRC), considerably extending its lead in all three parts of the competition. With two Polo R WRCs at the top of the table and Andreas Mikkelsen in fourth place at the wheel of the third, the German works team secured their best round result in the history of the World Rally Championship. Sébastien Ogier/Julien Ingrassia (F/F) are now leading the Drivers’ and Co-Drivers’ Championship, 24 points ahead of their Volkswagen team-mates Jari-Matti Latvala/Miikka Anttila (FIN/FIN). Andreas Mikkelsen/Mikko Markkula (N/FIN) are third in the overall standings. With the maximum point score of 43, Volkswagen also lengthened its lead in the Manufacturers’ Championship to 97 points. Volkswagen has now bagged nine wins in a row – the longest winning streak for any manufacturer in the World Rally Championship. Jari-Matti Latvala/Miikka Anttila are the first new winners in Argentina following on from eight consecutive victories there for the record-breaking World Champion Sébastien Loeb (Citroën).

FIA Formula 3 European Championship
Third win this season for Volkswagen: strong performance by Blomqvist

Tom Blomqvist (GB) from the team “Jagonya Ayam with Carlin” celebrated his second win this season in the FIA Formula 3 European Championship at the wheel of a Dallara-Volkswagen. The son of former World Rally Champion Stig Blomqvist claimed victory in the first race of the season at Silverstone (GB). Now he has also won the second of three races at the 2.76-kilometre Pau street circuit in the South of France. The young Brit’s success marked Volkswagen’s third victory in the current season of the F3 European Championship. Second place went to Esteban Ocon (F), who is at the top of the drivers’ leader board with 164 points, while Blomqvist is second overall with 107 points. Jake Dennis (GB) from Team Carlin, also in the Dallara-Volkswagen, made up the podium trio with third place.

FIA World Rallycross Championship
Home appearance: Duval to drive for Marklund Motorsport in Belgium

François Duval (B) will compete for Marklund Motorsport at the FIA World Rallycross Championship leg in his home country of Belgium. The 33-year-old rally driver – the only Belgian to win a round of the FIA World Rally Championship – will drive a 560 hp Volkswagen Polo RX Supercar on 12 and 13 July, completing the team whose main drivers are the current Global Rallycross Champion Toomas “Topi” Heikkinen (FIN) and Anton Marklund (S). Duval’s appearance at the Circuit Jules Tacheny will be supported by partners including the Belgian Volkswagen Club. His car will be entered under the number 30.

ADAC GT Masters
Impressive performance by Volkswagen junior driver van der Linde in a rainy Zandvoort

Kelvin van der Linde (ZA) made waves again during the second leg of the ADAC GT Masters season at the Dutch Zandvoort circuit. Aged just 17, the South African driver celebrated third place in the first race and second place in race two along with his team-mate René Rast (D) in the Audi R8. This gave van der Linde, winner of the Volkswagen Scirocco R-Cup 2013, his fourth podium finish in the fourth leg of the season. Two weeks ago, the junior driver made history as the youngest winner of a round of the ADAC GT Masters at the season opener in Oschersleben. This further good result for van der Linde and Rast – who also completed Volkswagen’s academy programme for youngsters – was underlined by pole position in the weekend’s second race. Kevin Estre (F) and Jaap van Lagen (NL) won both races in their Porsche 911, with van der Linde and Rast finishing some 14.2 seconds behind them in the first race and 8.3 seconds shy of first place in the second race. With 76 points, van der Linde/Rast are second in the drivers’ competition behind Jaap van Lagen (83).

ADAC Formel Masters
Top-of-the-table Jensen wins unusual race

Four laps is all it took to win. Mikkel Jensen (DK) won Saturday’s race on the second weekend of the ADAC Formel Masters at the Dutch circuit of Zandvoort, which lasted for just four laps. The track was wet with rain, leading to a collision involving several cars shortly after the start. The race was subsequently suspended for 16 minutes while the circuit was cleared, but the clock kept running. Jensen then clung on to victory in the remaining six minutes of racing. Sunday’s two races were won by Maximilian Günther (D), aged just 16, and the 17-year-old Marvin Dienst (D). Jensen is leading the championship with 93 points, while Günther is in second place with 72. Tim Zimmermann (67) is currently third.

Volkswagen Fun Cup Belgium
Team Allure dominates the second leg of the season in Dijon

Team Allure made its mark on the second weekend of racing in the Volkswagen Fun Cup Belgium. The team won both races at the French circuit of Dijon: Saturday’s race lasted two and a half hours, with the trio Frédéric Bouvy, Lorenzo Donniacuo and Pierre Piron crossing the finishing line first and their team-mates Cédric Bollen, Frédéric Caprasse and Guillaume Mondron finishing second. Third place went to Michel Simul, Eric Gressens and Philippe Crosset from Team Colson Racing. Race two on Sunday took three and a half hours and was held partly in rainy conditions. It was won by Bollen/Caprasse/Mondron ahead of Bruno Debrus, Gilles Debrus, Jean-Pierre Baudart and Stéphane Charlier (E-Race). Stephane Perrin and Arnaud Quede crossed the line third.

Next up:

Volkswagen Scirocco R-Cup, Oschersleben

Global Rallycross, Barbados (BDS)

Volkswagen Fun Cup, Snetterton (GB)

PaddockTalk Perspective

Also in WRC Rally News 2010:

Related links
· Rally Edition
· Top PaddockTalk News!
· More about WRC Rally News 2010

Most read story in WRC Rally News 2010:
Albatec Racing Aims For Hungarian Spoils

Home :: _ 

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner.
The comments are property of their posters, all the rest (c) 2003-2014 by PaddockTalk.com.
Contact E-mail: [email protected]