F1, Formula 1, NASCAR, IndyCar, MotoGP, ALMS, And More!

May 20, 2014 - 08:19 AM
Top News!
Rumors Edition!
Upcoming Racing! (Updated)

Top Stories
· Hinchcliffe Misses out on Indy 500 Pole, Villeneuve and Tagliani Qualify Near Back (May 19, 2014)
· 2014 Iowa: NASCAR Nationwide Race Results - Hornish Jr, Toyota Win! (May 18, 2014)
· 2014 Indianapolis Indy 500: IndyCar Pole Day Qualifying Results - Carpenter, Chevrolet On Pole! 231 Mph! (May 18, 2014)
· 2014 Indianapolis Indy 500: IndyCar Group One Qualifying Results - Montoya Fastest! 231 MPH! (May 18, 2014)
· 2014 French GP (Le Mans): MotoGP Race Results - Marquez Wins Again! (May 18, 2014)

Previous Top Stories!

Hot Rumors!
· F1: Fuel playing big role in new V6 era ? (May 19, 2014)
· F1: F1 eyes Scudamore to replace Ecclestone ? (May 19, 2014)
· F1: Caterham behind in engine, gearbox bills ? (May 14, 2014)
· F1: Vettel's old chassis was 'bent' ? (May 14, 2014)
· F1: Barcelona begins talks for F1 deal through 2026 ? (May 13, 2014)
More Rumors!

2014 NHRA: Goodyear, NHRA In Georgia
Posted by: newsla on May 20, 2014 - 08:18 AM
2014 NHRA: Goodyear, NHRA In Georgia

Jeg Coughlin won a matchup of champions in the final round of Pro Stock, highlighting the conclusion of the Summit Racing Equipment Southern Nationals at Atlanta Dragway.


Bookmark and Share
Coughlin beat Greg Anderson by a scant .0236 of a second in the final in a thrilling race that matched the winners of nine NHRA Pro Stock world championships. Coughlin won his fifth title in 2013.

The elimination rounds were delayed when rain soaked the facility for most of Sunday. The NHRA attempted to get part of the event completed after the rain stopped Sunday, but the decision was made to complete the racing on Monday.

Coughlin was one of six drivers who won on Goodyear tires in the weather-delayed event. Spencer Massey won in Top Fuel and Robert Hight was the winner in Funny Car in the Mello Yello Drag Racing Series for professional teams. In the Lucas Oil Drag Racing Series for sportsman racers Edmond Richardson won in Super Comp and his son, Ryan Richardson, won in Super Stock. Tommy Turner also won with Goodyear in Top Sportsman.

Drivers racing on Goodyear tires set six track records over the weekend. Kalitta established new marks for elapsed time and speed for Top Fuel drivers. The records now stand at 3.732 seconds and 328.86 mph.

Alexis DeJoria set a record for elapsed time in Funny Car (4.012 seconds) and Del Worsham did the same trick for top speed (320.05 mph) Erica Enders-Stevens established a new ET record for Pro Stock (6.493 seconds) and Jason Line set a new speed record (213.00 mph).

Trackside observers estimated Coughlin’s margin of victory over Anderson to be about seven feet. It was the first win of the season for Coughlin and the 57th of his career. Enders-Stevens, who lost to Coughlin in the second round, continues to lead the Pro Stock standings with 554 points, followed by Allen Johnson with 477.

Massey collected the first win of his 2014 campaign and the 15th win of his Top Fuel career, besting Doug Kalitta in the final. Antron Brown, who crashed heavily during a qualifying run and then advanced to the semifinals in a backup car, continues to lead the standings with 580 points. Kalitta is next with 543.

Hight’s victory in Funny Car came at the expense of teammate Courtney Force. Force was bidding to take the 100th NHRA professional win by a woman. Hight’s win was his third straight and fourth this season. Hight leads the category standings with 609 points, the largest total among NHRA professional drivers this season.

Edmond Richardson won his 47th national event. Ryan Richardson’s win was his first in national event competition. Turner also won his first national victory.

Goodyear employs about 69,000 people at manufacturing plants and facilities in 22 nations. Based in Akron, Ohio, Goodyear is among the largest tiremakers in the world and is the worldwide leader in race tire innovation.

PaddockTalk Perspective

Also in NHRA:

Related links
· More about NHRA

Home :: _ 

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner.
The comments are property of their posters, all the rest (c) 2003-2014 by PaddockTalk.com.
Contact E-mail: [email protected]