F1, Formula 1, NASCAR, IndyCar, MotoGP, ALMS, And More!

May 25, 2014 - 03:43 PM
Top News!
Rumors Edition!
Upcoming Racing! (Updated)

Top Stories
· 2014 Indianapolis 500: IndyCar Race Results - Hunter-Reay, Honda Win! (May 25, 2014)
· 2014 Monaco GP: Formula One F1 Race Results - Rosberg, Mercedes Win! (May 25, 2014)
· 2014 Charlotte (Coca Cola 600): NASCAR Sprint Cup Starting Line-Up & Race Preview (May 25, 2014)
· 2014 Charlotte: NASCAR Nationwide Race Results - Larson, Chevrolet Win! (May 24, 2014)
· 2014 Charlotte (Coca Cola 600): NASCAR Sprint Cup Final Practice Results - Busch, Toyota Fastest! (May 24, 2014)

Previous Top Stories!

Hot Rumors!
· F1: Dennis wants Alonso to lead McLaren's Honda charge ? (May 24, 2014)
· F1: F1 teams could lose alcohol sponsors ? (May 24, 2014)
· F1: Rosberg signs new two-year Mercedes deal ? (May 23, 2014)
· F1: No deal as McLaren title sponsor talks end ? (May 21, 2014)
· F1: Red Bull told to redesign 'loophole' nose ? (May 21, 2014)
More Rumors!

2014 Indianapolis 500: IndyCar Race Results - Hunter-Reay, Honda Win!
Posted by: ASkyler on May 25, 2014 - 03:17 PM
IndyCar News
2014 Indianapolis 500: IndyCar Race Results - Hunter-Reay, Honda Win!

Ryan Hunter-Reay and his No. 28 Andretti Autosport Honda IndyCar has won the 2014 Indianapolis 500!

Ryan Hunter-Reay and his No. 28 Andretti Autosport Honda IndyCar has won the 2014 Indianapolis 500!
Credit: PaddockTalk / Paul Hurley

By Mike Sulka

In front of 240,000, Andretti Autosport IndyCar driver Ryan Hunter-Reay and his No. 28 DHL Honda has won the 98th Indianapolis Indy 500 at Indianapolis Motor Speedway. For Hunter-Reay, it is his second win of the 2014 season, and 11th of his IndyCar career. It is also his first win at Indianapolis.

Finishing just short - .06 seconds - of his fourth Indianapolis Indy 500 victory was Team Penke driver Helio Castroneves and his No. 3 Pennzoil Chevrolet to claim his third podium of the 2014 IndyCar season. It was his 67th IndyCar podium, and 78th in his major open-wheel career.

In third was Marco Andretti and his No. 25 Honda to pick up his second podium of the 2014 IndyCar season, and 18th of his IndyCar career.

Carlos Munoz would finish fourth, giving Andretti Autosport three of the top-four finishers. Juan Pablo Montoya would finish fifth to fill out the top-five finishers.

NASCAR Sprint Cup driver Kurt Busch completed all 500 miles ahead of his 600-miler at Charlotte in a couple of hours to finish sixth.

On Lap 54, Graham Rahal was first out of the race as his car was dealing with an electrical gremlin which kept shutting down the engine.

On Lap 64, Tony Kanaan's race effectively came to an end. The team left Kanaan on track too long, he ran out of fuel. When the team tried to restart the car, a gear was stripped and Kanaan's day was done. The 2013 Indianapolis 500 winner was the second out of the 2014 Indy 500.

On Lap 128, Will Power and his No. 12 couldn't get his car slowed down heading into pitlane at full lock-up and was served with a drive-through penalty. Power had been one of the top-five cars for most of the race, but this would effectively end his chance at victory.

On Lap 134 would pit, and shortly there after the officials would determine he too had been caught speeding. Montoya at the time had a seven lap advantage in fuel. The irony was that Montoya had a controversial pit lane speeding penalty issued at the Brickyard 400 NASCAR race in 2009 costing him the win.

On Lap 149, Charlie Kimball and his No. 83 Chevrolet spun to bring out the first yellow of the race. Which would help Montoya and Power get back into the race, but still down on track position.

On Lap 157, the track would return to green flag racing with Ryan Hunter-Reay and Ed Carpenter swapping the lead over the next few laps.

On Lap 168, Scott Dixon's day would end in Turn Four. The Ganassi team had taken off a small amount of downforce to try to help their driver get to the front. Instead, the second Ganassi entry of the day would be out of contention.

On the Lap 175 restart, it all ended in tears between Ed Carpenter and James Hinchcliffe with both drivers entering Turn One three-wide - including Townsend Bell. Both drivers would walk away from their huge impact into the SAFER barrier. Bell would continue in second place. Carpenter would point the finger at Hinchcliffe saying, "Townsend and I in Turn One was fine, but Hinch added a third car. It's a good thing he already had a concussion last week, or he might have had another one today."

On Lap 189, Townsend Bell's hope for his first IndyCar win ended up in the Turn Two wall. IndyCar officials made the wise decision to red flag the event to give the fans a real shoot-out. The field was brought down pitlane and stopped.

The fastest lap of the race was turned by Tony Kanaan - 224.904 mph.

Stay tuned to PaddockTalk.com for all of your IndyCar news, rumors and results!


Bookmark and Share
Pos Num Driver Engine Laps

1. 28 Ryan Hunter-Reay Honda Winner
2. 3 Helio Castroneves Chevrolet 200
3. 25 Marco Andretti Honda 200
4. 34 Carlos Munoz Honda 200
5. 2 Juan Pablo Montoya Chevrolet 200
6. 26 Kurt Busch Honda 200
7. 11 Sebastien Bourdais Chevrolet 200
8. 12 Will Power Chevrolet 200
9. 22 Sage Karam Chevrolet 200
10. 21 JR Hildebrand Chevrolet 200
11. 16 Oriol Servia Honda 200
12. 77 Simon Pagenaud Honda 200
13. 68 Alex Tagliani Honda 200
14. 5 Jacques Villeneuve Honda 200
15. 17 Sebastian Saavedra Chevrolet 200
16. 33 James Davison Chevrolet 200
17. 18 Carlos Huertas Honda 200
18. 8 Ryan Briscoe Chevrolet 200
19. 14 Takuma Sato Honda 200
20. 98 Jack Hawksworth Honda 200
21. 7 Mikhail Aleshin Honda 198
22. 19 Justin Wilson Honda 198
23. 41 Martin Plowman Honda 196
24. 63 Pippa Mann Honda 193
25. 6 Townsend Bell Chevrolet 190
26. 10 Tony Kanaan Chevrolet 177
27. 20 Ed Carpenter Chevrolet 175
28. 27 James Hinchcliffe Honda 175
29. 9 Scott Dixon Chevrolet 167
30. 67 Josef Newgarden Honda 156
31. 83 Charlie Kimball Chevrolet 149
32. 91 Buddy Lazier Chevrolet 87
33. 15 Graham Rahal Honda 44

PaddockTalk Perspective

Also in IndyCar News:

Related links
· IndyCar Edition
· Top PaddockTalk News!
· IndyCar Rumors
· More about IndyCar News

Home :: _ 

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner.
The comments are property of their posters, all the rest (c) 2003-2014 by PaddockTalk.com.
Contact E-mail: [email protected]