F1, Formula 1, NASCAR, IndyCar, MotoGP, ALMS, And More!

May 28, 2014 - 06:20 AM
Top News!
Rumors Edition!
Upcoming Racing! (Updated)

Top Stories
· One for the Ages: Hunter Reay is an Indy 500 Champion (May 27, 2014)
· Hunter-Reay Earns $2.4 Million For Winning 98th Indianapolis 500 (May 27, 2014)
· Fab Photos: 2014 Indianapolis 500 Edition - The Month Of May (May 26, 2014)
· 2014 Charlotte (Coca Cola 600): NASCAR Sprint Cup Race Results - Johnson, Chevrolet Win! (May 26, 2014)
· 2014 Indianapolis 500: IndyCar Race Results - Hunter-Reay, Honda Win! (May 25, 2014)

Previous Top Stories!

Hot Rumors!
· F1: Pointless season 'embarrassing' for Sauber ? (May 26, 2014)
· F1: Dennis wants Alonso to lead McLaren's Honda charge ? (May 24, 2014)
· F1: F1 teams could lose alcohol sponsors ? (May 24, 2014)
· F1: Rosberg signs new two-year Mercedes deal ? (May 23, 2014)
· F1: No deal as McLaren title sponsor talks end ? (May 21, 2014)
More Rumors!

2014 NHRA: Spencer Massey NHRA Summernationals Event Preview
Posted by: newsla on May 28, 2014 - 06:16 AM
2014 NHRA: Spencer Massey NHRA Summernationals Event Preview

Spencer Massey is on a winning streak he hasn't enjoyed for two years. The last time the Battery Extender Powered by Schumacher team won consecutive NHRA Mello Yello Drag Racing series event titles was at Las Vegas and Charlotte in 2012.


Bookmark and Share
Massey and the team led by crew chiefs Phil Shuler and Todd Okuhara captured the Wally trophy near Atlanta on May 19 and followed up with a win at Heartland Park Topeka on Sunday.

"It's pretty dang cool," Spencer said of winning two consecutive event titles. "Being able to win Atlanta that Monday after all the rain was huge for our team. The guys worked so hard trying to get the car ready to for Topeka, I can't believe that we stood in the winner's circle again after the struggles trying to get the car to run the way we wanted it to."

Now the Battery Extender team will try and make it three in a row this weekend at in the 45th annual Summernationals at Old Bridge Township Raceway Park in Englishtown, N.J. The legendary NHRA facility has been kind to Massey, who has a 2011 event title and was the No. 1 qualifier in 2012.

"We definitely have momentum going," he said. "I love racing in Englishtown, we got the win there in 2011. Whenever you start winning races it gives the whole team a boost. It seems like once you get one win, it just keeps rolling.
"I look at going to Englishtown like it's the U.S. Nationals in Indy or the Gatornationals, both huge races in NHRA. It's a big event for all of the NHRA fans on the East Coast and I love racing there.

"I've been around the sport since I was a kid and all the racers I've looked up to raced there. Sometime I'm sitting in the race car ready to fire it up and I look down the dragstrip, see all the fans in the stands and go 'Man, I can't believe I'm sitting here in a Top Fuel dragster.' I used to be sitting in the stands wishing one day I'd have a chance to do this. It's a huge wow factor.

"It's very cool to go to racetracks where the greats have been racing for more than 40 years."

The following are Spencer's Englishtown, 2014 and career statistics:

SPENCER MASSEY: Battery Extender Powered by Schumacher dragster
Last event (May 25), Topeka, Kan.: Qualified No. 12; defeated Shawn Langdon in championship round
A year ago at Englishtown: Qualified No. 5; lost in semifinals to Shawn Langdon
Career at Englishtown: Wins 1 (2011); Runner-ups 0; Poles 1 (2012)

Pts Events Titles Rup Semi Qtr 1st rd Poles DNQ Win/Loss
2014 3rd 8 2 0 1 5 0 0 0 15-6
CAREER 103 16 14 24 23 23 7 2 177-85
Best Time, Speed: 3.728 sec. (5-31-12, Englishtown, N.J.); 332.18 mph

(DSR drivers in CAPS)
driver (wins), points
1. Doug Kalitta (1), 704
2. ANTRON BROWN, (3), 674
3. SPENCER MASSEY, (2), 566
4. Shawn Langdon, 559
5. Steve Torrence, 543
6. Khalid alBalooshi (1), 446
8. Brittany Force, 407
9. JR Todd, 340
10. Richie Crampton, 309

PaddockTalk Perspective

Also in NHRA:

Related links
· More about NHRA

Home :: _ 

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner.
The comments are property of their posters, all the rest (c) 2003-2014 by PaddockTalk.com.
Contact E-mail: admin@paddocktalk.com