F1, Formula 1, NASCAR, IndyCar, MotoGP, ALMS, And More!

Jun 02, 2014 - 07:32 AM
Top News!
Rumors Edition!
Upcoming Racing! (Updated)

Top Stories
· 2014 Detroit: IndyCar Race Two Results - Castroneves, Chevrolet Win! (Jun 1, 2014)
· 2014 Dover: NASCAR Sprint Cup Race Results - Johnson, Chevrolet Win! (Jun 1, 2014)
· 2014 Italy GP: MotoGP Race Results - Marquez Wins! (Jun 1, 2014)
· 2014 Detroit II: IndyCar Qualifying Results - Sato, Honda On Pole! (Jun 1, 2014)
· 2014 Dover: NASCAR Sprint Cup Starting Line-up & Race Preview (Jun 1, 2014)

Previous Top Stories!

Hot Rumors!
· F1: Red Bull to bill Renault for 2014 crisis ? (May 30, 2014)
· F1: Haas delays F1 debut until 2016 ? (May 29, 2014)
· F1: Red Bull flirting with VW engine switch ? (May 28, 2014)
· F1: Ferrari not giving up on Newey ? (May 28, 2014)
· F1: Honda to buy into McLaren ? (May 28, 2014)
More Rumors!

2014 NHRA: Goodyear, NHRA at Englishtown
Posted by: newsla on Jun 02, 2014 - 07:31 AM
2014 NHRA: Goodyear, NHRA at Englishtown

Richie Crampton will never shave this close.


Bookmark and Share
Crampton beat Doug Kalitta by a razor-thin .0098 of a second in the Top Fuel final to become the second Australian to win in an NHRA professional category, taking the win in the Toyota Summer Nationals at Old Bridge Township Raceway Park.

The victory made Crampton the 100th different winner in the NHRA’s Top Fuel category.

Four drivers won on Goodyear tires at Englishtown. Cruz Pedregon won in Funny Car and Jeg Coughlin was the winner in Pro Stock. In the Lucas Oil Drag Racing Series for sportsman racers, Stephen Logan won in Super Comp.

Three Mello Yello Drag Racing Series track records fell to professional drivers during the qualification rounds early in the weekend. Pedregon turned in the quickest lap ever recorded in Funny Car, 3.959 seconds. He was unable to back the record up, so he did not get the extra points that come with establishing a national record. Allen Johnson lowered the track’s Pro Stock elapsed time mark to 6.472 seconds and Erica Enders-Stevens raised the track speed record to 215.55 miles per hour.

Crampton has had a great few weeks recently. His wife gave birth to their first child on May 20 and now he is a Top Fuel winner after just nine starts.

“I don’t know where to start,” he said. “I’m living a dream. I’m over the moon right now.”

Crampton beat Doug Kalitta in the final round. Kalitta leads the Top Fuel standings with 809 points and Antron Brown in next with 706.

Pedregon beat Del Worsham in the Funny Car final, the third time Pedregon has won here. The win was Pedregon’s first win of 2014. After winning the event, Pedregon gave the trophy to Connie Kalitta, owner of Worsham’s car and father of the late Scott Kalitta, who was killed in a racing accident here in 2008.

“It was just something I wanted to do,” Pedregon said. “There were not many words spoken.”

Robert Hight finished the weekend with a commanding lead in the Funny Car standings. His 847 points lead the NHRA professional categories. John Force is next in Funny Car with 601.

Coughlin’s victory was his second this season and the 58th of his career. He beat fellow former champion Greg Anderson in the final.

“The air was everything Pro Stock cars love,” Coughlin said. “But the sun was out and the track was difficult.”

Enders-Stevens held on to her lead in the Pro Stock title chase. She leads Coughlin, the second place runner, 791-668.
Logan’s win was his first in national event competition.

Goodyear employs about 69,000 people at manufacturing plants and facilities in 22 nations. Based in Akron, Ohio, Goodyear is among the largest tiremakers in the world and is the worldwide leader in race tire innovation.

PaddockTalk Perspective

Also in NHRA:

Related links
· More about NHRA

Home :: _ 

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner.
The comments are property of their posters, all the rest (c) 2003-2014 by PaddockTalk.com.
Contact E-mail: [email protected]