F1, Formula 1, NASCAR, IndyCar, MotoGP, ALMS, And More!

Jun 15, 2014 - 02:46 PM
Top News!
Rumors Edition!
Upcoming Racing! (Updated)

Top Stories
· 2014 Catalunya GP: MotoGP Race Results - Marquez Wins! (Jun 15, 2014)
· 2014 Le Mans 24: Le Mans Final Race Results - Audi Wins 13th Victory! (Jun 15, 2014)
· 2014 Michigan: NASCAR Sprint Cup Starting Line-Up & Race Preview (Jun 15, 2014)
· 2014 Gateway: NASCAR Truck Race Results - Wallace Jr, Toyota Win! (Jun 15, 2014)
· 2014 Le Mans 24: WEC Hour 21 Race Results - Porsche, Bernhard Lead! (Jun 15, 2014)

Previous Top Stories!

Hot Rumors!
· F1: Hamilton spotted at Maranello & 666 ? (Jun 13, 2014)
· F1: Schumacher moved within Grenoble hospital ? (Jun 13, 2014)
· F1: Caterham could be missing in Austria ? (Jun 13, 2014)
· F1: Mercedes' Cowell also said no to Ferrari ? (Jun 11, 2014)
· F1: Ferrari could announce Le Mans foray ? (Jun 10, 2014)
More Rumors!

Morse Doubles Up As Hanssen Breaks His Drought
Posted by: newsla on Jun 15, 2014 - 02:44 PM
Support Series News
Morse Doubles Up As Hanssen Breaks His Drought

Canberra’s Zane Morse became the first driver this year to win back-to-back rounds of the CIK Stars of Karting Championship presented by Castrol EDGE on Sunday.


Bookmark and Share
On his 15th birthday, Morse claimed the KF3 victory in Puckapunyal, Victoria as the battle for the Championship continues to heat up in Australia’s elite junior category.

The Exprit pair of Christopher Sandrone and Jayden Ojeda were once again at the point of it. Sandrone led an Exprit quinella in the first final with Zane Morse (Tony Kart) third.

In the second final, Sandrone spun early in the race through the notorious Puckapunyal ‘bus stop’ chicane. This opened the race up to Ojeda and round two winner, Morse.

Morse has taken huge strides forward over recent rounds, particularly since his win at Bolivar (round two) and has the potential to bring himself into Championship contention.

He took the final two victory over Ojeda and Darwin’s Bryce Fullwood was third.

Another Canberra racer, Joshua Fife had his best CIK Stars of Karting performance by finishing fourth in the opening 25-lap stanza, but was a victim of a small technical failure which cost him a finish in the second.

Reigning KZ2 Champion Joey Hanssen won his first round since July last year during an emphatic round three performance across the weekend.

Hanssen (CRG) – who extended his Championship lead after heat racing on Saturday – took two final victories today. The first one was a straightforward, workmanlike performance from Hanssen. He got to the front early and then was never headed.

The second final was never going to be so easy. With arch rival, David Sera (Deadly) making his way through to second and nemesis from last year, Chris Hays (Energy) charging through to third it was going to be a battle to remember.

With his friends and family watching the Speedcafe.com livestream in a pub in the Netherlands, Hanssen dropped back to third at one point – after being upstaged by Sera off the start and then Hays rocketed past to the lead on lap 10.
Hanssen then marched forward and stalked the Gold Coast youngster, eventually getting past late in the race to take one of his most memorable victories over Hays and Sera. Matthew Wall had a season high best fourth placing.

“It was a very tough race, really hard, one of the best I’ve had in Australia,” said Hanssen. “I knew those boys were going to run me hard, it is a difficult track in these karts, you’re doing 24 gear changes per lap – so I was really suffering arm pump at the end of the race, but very happy with the result.”

In KF2, Championship leader, Troy Loeskow (FA Kart) extended his Championship lead in dramatic circumstances after what had otherwise been a difficult weekend by taking victory in the second final. He shared the final wins with Townsville's Joshua Smith (Kosmic), who backed up his final one win with third in the second 25-lap encounter.

Saturday’s form man, Nathan Tigani brought his Scuderia PCR Australia machine home second in the second final. Others to impress included debuant Zac Soutar and Leigh Nicoloau, however Nicoloau suffered two technical issues in pursuit of the lead and didn’t finish either final.

Brendan Nelson continued his unbeaten streak in TaG 125 Heavy – he has won all three events conducted this season. In TaG 125 Light, it was Daniel Rochford, who annexed his Series lead with another win. Justin Ford won the Restricted 125 final.

Similarly, Jack Doohan got home in front of Joshua Smith in the Rookies – the pair remaining at the top of the points standings, with young girl racer, Courtney Prince bringing her Tony Kart home third.

The penultimate round of the CIK Stars of Karting Championship will be held at Newcastle Kart Raceway in the Hunter Valley over the weekend of July 26-27.

CIK Stars of Karting Championship presented by Castrol EDGE
Round 3 of 5 - Puckapunyal, Victoria
June 14/15, 2014

RESULTS: Final (Top 5)
1. Joey Hanssen - Netherlands (CRG/TM)
2. Chris Hays - Gold Coast, QLD (Energy/TM)
3. David Sera - Narre Warren, VIC (Deadly/TM)
4. Matthew Wall - Sunbury, Vic(Vemme/TM)
5. Jordan Ford - Sunbury, Vic (Vemme/TM)

1. Troy Loeskow - Bundaberg, QLD (FA Kart/IAME)
2. Nathan Tigani - Sydney, NSW (PCR/IAME)
3. Joshua Smith - Townsville, QLD (Kosmic/IAME)
4. Adam Willison - Chirnside Park, Vic (Energy/IAME)
5. Matthew Waters - Sydney, NSW (Kosmic/IAME)

1. Zane Morse - Canberra, ACT (Tony Kart/Vortex)
2. Jayden Ojeda - Sydney, NSW (Exprit/Vortex)
3. Bryce Fullwood - Darwin, NT (FA Kart/Vortex)
4. Joshua Denton - Adelaide, SA (Kosmic/Vortex)
5. Chris Sandrone - Sydney, NSW (Exprit/Vortex)

TAG 125 Light
1. Daniel Rochford
2. Kris Walton
3. Luke Bergens
4. Adam Mercer
5. Blaine Densley

TAG 125 Heavy
1. Brendan Nelson
2. Aaron Hindle
3. Corey McCullagh
4. Paul Rodgers
5. Rick Pringle

1. Jack Doohan
2. Joshua Smith
3. Courtney Prince
4. Jordyn Sinni
5. Tyler O’Leary

Restricted 125 Light
1. Justin Ford
2. Tim McCarthy
3. Jaymi Mackay
4. Leigh Holmes
5. Melissa Whitmore

After 3 of 5 rounds

1. Joey Hanssen – 350 points
2. Chris Hays – 256
3. David Sera – 253
4. Kel Treseder – 250
5. Jordan Ford – 245

1. Troy Loeskow - 305 points
2. Nathan Tigani – 286
3. Matthew Waters – 284
4. Scott Sorensen – 271
5. Jarryd Ebzery - 270

1. Jayden Ojeda – 297 points
2. Bryce Fullwood – 288
3. Chris Sandrone – 250
4. Zane Morse – 241
5. Zane Goddard – 223

Series Standings
TAG 125 Light
1. Daniel Rochford – 131 points
2. Kris Walton – 106
3. Troy Morrissey – 56
4. Adam Mercer – 52
5. Luke Bergens – 51

TAG 125 Heavy
1. Brendan Nelson – 100
2. Clem O’Mara – 57
3. Paul Rodgers – 38
4. Klinton Hancey – 36
=4. Paul Pittam – 36

1. Jack Doohan – 133 points
2. Joshua Smith – 126
3. Tyler O’Leary – 101
4. Jordyn Sinni – 94
5. Jake Sawyer – 60

For Further Information
Lee Hanatschek
Championship Coordinator
CIK Stars of Karting Championship
Phone 0403 531 914

PaddockTalk Perspective

Also in Support Series News:

Related links
· Support Edition
· Top PaddockTalk News!
· More about Support Series News

Home :: _ 

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner.
The comments are property of their posters, all the rest (c) 2003-2014 by PaddockTalk.com.
Contact E-mail: [email protected]