F1, Formula 1, NASCAR, IndyCar, MotoGP, ALMS, And More!

Jul 05, 2014 - 06:53 AM
Top News!
Rumors Edition!
Upcoming Racing! (Updated)

Top Stories
· 2014 British GP (Silverstone): Formula One F1 Practice Three Results - Vettel, Red Bull Fastest! (Jul 5, 2014)
· 2014 Daytona II: NASCAR Nationwide Race Results - Kahne, Chevrolet Win! (Jul 5, 2014)
· 2014 Daytona II (Coke Zero 400): NASCAR Sprint Cup Qualifying Results - Gilliland, Ford On Pole! (Jul 4, 2014)
· 2014 Daytona II: NASCAR Nationwide Qualifying Results - Armstrong, Ford On Pole! (Jul 4, 2014)
· 2014 British GP (Silverstone): Formula One F1 Practice Two Results - Hamilton, Mercedes Fastest! (Jul 4, 2014)

Previous Top Stories!

Hot Rumors!
· F1: Marmorini 'in danger' at Ferrari ? (Jul 4, 2014)
· F1: Raikkonen to 'probably' quit after 2015 ? (Jul 4, 2014)
· F1: Ferrari offers Brawn EUR 5m for F1 return ? (Jul 3, 2014)
· F1: Kolles returning to F1 with Caterham ? (Jul 2, 2014)
· F1: Fernandes to confirm Caterham team sale this week ? (Jul 1, 2014)
More Rumors!

Kahne Wins Subway Firecracker 250 In Thrilling 'Overtime' Finish
Posted by: newsla on Jul 05, 2014 - 06:52 AM
Kahne Wins Subway Firecracker 250 In Thrilling 'Overtime' Finish

Red, white and blue gave way to green-white-checkered Friday night, as Daytona International Speedway celebrated the Fourth of July with Kasey Kahne winning a stirring shootout in the Subway Firecracker 250 Powered By Coca-Cola.


Bookmark and Share
Kahne, driving the JR Motorsports No. 5 Hellman’s Chevrolet owned by Dale Earnhardt Jr., nipped teammate Regan Smith’s No. 7 Goody’s Chevrolet by 0.021 seconds at the finish of the NASCAR Nationwide Series event. That was the third-closest NNS finish at Daytona and the eighth-closest in series history. Smith’s consolation: he took over the series points lead.

Rookie Ryan Sieg finished third in the No. 39 Pull-A-Part Used Auto Parts Chevrolet followed by another rookie, Ryan Reed, in the No. 16 ADA Drive to Stop Diabetes Ford. Finishing fifth was Kyle Larson in the No. 42 Target Ticket Chevrolet.

The green-white-checkered finish was set up by a frontstretch incident involving four cars that chewed up Laps 99-101 under caution. The two-lap "overtime" sprint on the 2.5-mile tri-oval was the expected three-wide, nose-to-tail frenzy, with Kahne getting some late help from fellow Chevy driver Sieg.

"At the end we got a push from the 39 car and we had tons of momentum coming off Turn 4," Kahne said. "We just had a fast car … everywhere I went [on the last lap] I just kept gaining speed." The race started after an approximate one-hour, 10-minute delay due to rain, with pole-sitter Dakoda Armstrong leading the 40-car field to the green flag under the lights. Armstrong, a series rookie, had put the No. 43 Fresh from Florida Ford on the pole earlier Friday with a lap of 192.123 mph, in a qualifying session that was ended prematurely by the late afternoon’s inclement weather. Elliott Sadler, who started sixth in the No. 11 SportClips Toyota, dominated the first half of the event, leading 28 of 50 laps.

Friday night’s race served as the qualifier in the Nationwide Series’ "Dash 4 Cash" bonus program. The top-four finishers in the field who earned series championship points - Smith, Sieg, Reed and eighth-place finisher Jeremy Clements (Allsouthelectric.com/BRT Extrusions Chevrolet) - will carry the "Dash 4 Cash" designation in the first race of the bonus program at New Hampshire Motor Speedway next week. The "Dash 4 Cash" rewards the highest-finishing eligible driver in four designated races (New Hampshire on July 12, Chicagoland Speedway on July 19, Indianapolis Motor Speedway on July 26 and Iowa Speedway on Aug. 2) with a $100,000 bonus above and beyond the race purse. Fans can also participate via a sweepstakes that culminates with one lucky fan winning $100,000.

PaddockTalk Perspective

Also in NASCAR News:

Related links
· NASCAR Edition
· Top PaddockTalk News!
· NASCAR Rumors
· More about NASCAR News

Home :: _ 

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner.
The comments are property of their posters, all the rest (c) 2003-2014 by PaddockTalk.com.
Contact E-mail: [email protected]