F1, Formula 1, NASCAR, IndyCar, MotoGP, ALMS, And More!

Jul 05, 2014 - 04:45 PM
Top News!
Rumors Edition!
Upcoming Racing! (Updated)

Top Stories
· 2014 British GP (Silverstone): Formula One F1 Qualifying Results - Rosberg, Mercedes On Pole! (Jul 5, 2014)
· 2014 Daytona II (Coke Zero 400): NASCAR Sprint Cup Starting Line-up & Race Preview (Jul 5, 2014)
· 2014 British GP (Silverstone): Formula One F1 Practice Three Results - Vettel, Red Bull Fastest! (Jul 5, 2014)
· 2014 Daytona II: NASCAR Nationwide Race Results - Kahne, Chevrolet Win! (Jul 5, 2014)
· 2014 Daytona II (Coke Zero 400): NASCAR Sprint Cup Qualifying Results - Gilliland, Ford On Pole! (Jul 4, 2014)

Previous Top Stories!

Hot Rumors!
· F1: Newey could design Infiniti supercar ? (Jul 5, 2014)
· F1: Marmorini 'in danger' at Ferrari ? (Jul 4, 2014)
· F1: Raikkonen to 'probably' quit after 2015 ? (Jul 4, 2014)
· F1: Ferrari offers Brawn EUR 5m for F1 return ? (Jul 3, 2014)
· F1: Kolles returning to F1 with Caterham ? (Jul 2, 2014)
More Rumors!

2014 British GP (Silverstone): Formula One F1 Starting Line-up Grid & Race Preview
Posted by: ASkyler on Jul 05, 2014 - 04:40 PM
Formula 1 News
2014 British GP (Silverstone): Formula One F1 Starting Line-up Grid & Race Preview

By Mike Sulka

The Formula One F1 series returns to the Silverstone circuit in Silverstone England for the 2014 British Grand Prix. The race will be 52 laps around the 3.660 mile / 5.891 kb circuit for a total race distance of 306.198 km / 190.281 miles.

The first Formula One F1 Grand Prix run at the track was won by Nino Farina in a Alfa Romeo 158 / Alfa Romeo 1.5 L8C, since then Formula One has raced here 48 times.

If all the grandstands are full tomorrow, we expect over 127,000 fans at the track.

Mercedes driver Nico Rosberg took his fourth Pole of the 2014 season and will lead the field to the tricky Turn One. Rosberg has won once at Silverstone, his lone victory coming last season.

Sebastian Vettel and his No. 1 Red Bull will start second - his best starting position since the Chinese Grand Prix where he also started second - and will try to exceed his best result this season, third - Malaysia & Canada.

There are just five previous British Grand Prix winners in the field tomorrow: Fernando Alonso (2006 & 2011), Sebastian Vettel (2009), Lewis Hamilton (2008), Kimi Raikkonen (2007), and Nico Rosberg (2013).

Jenson Button and his No. 22 McLaren will start third, with Nico Hulkenberg and his No. 27 Force India starting fourth.

The last driver to win at Silverstone that started 5th or lower was Johnny Herbert in 1995. Sorry Kevin Magnussen (McLaren) on back.

Looking at the distribution of wins since 1995 based on starting position: Pole (4 wins), P2 (7 wins), P3 (4 wins), P4 (3 wins).

While our heart tempts us to pick Lewis Hamilton - starting sixth - despite his mental break down in qualifying, we are going with Nico Rosberg who hasn't made any significant mistakes thus far. That being said, the Pole sitter hasn't won here since 2009 - Sebastian Vettel. And Vettel will do his best to keep it that way.

So enjoy the 2014 British Grand Prix, the thrills have already been a plenty.


Bookmark and Share

2014 British GP (Silverstone): Formula One Qualifying Results (Including penalties)
No Driver Team Grid
6 Nico Rosberg Mercedes 1
1 Sebastian Vettel Red Bull Racing-Renault 2
22 Jenson Button McLaren-Mercedes 3
27 Nico Hulkenberg Force India-Mercedes 4
20 Kevin Magnussen McLaren-Mercedes 5
44 Lewis Hamilton Mercedes 6
11 Sergio Perez Force India-Mercedes 7
3 Daniel Ricciardo Red Bull Racing-Renault 8
26 Daniil Kvyat STR-Renault 9
25 Jean-Eric Vergne STR-Renault 10
8 Romain Grosjean Lotus-Renault 11
17 Jules Bianchi Marussia-Ferrari 12
99 Adrian Sutil Sauber-Ferrari 13
77 Valtteri Bottas Williams-Mercedes 14
19 Felipe Massa Williams-Mercedes 15
14 Fernando Alonso Ferrari 16
4 Max Chilton Marussia-Ferrari 17
7 Kimi Raikkonen Ferrari 18
21 Esteban Gutierrez Sauber-Ferrari 19
13 Pastor Maldonado Lotus-Renault 20
9 Marcus Ericsson Caterham-Renault 21
10 Kamui Kobayashi Caterham-Renault 22

Note: Gutierrez qualified 14th, dropped 10, unsafe release; Chilton qualified 13th, dropped 5, gearbox change. Maldonado excluded from qualifying, fuel infringement. Ericsson, Kobayashi failed to meet Q1 107% requirement, race at stewards' discretion.

PaddockTalk Perspective

Also in Formula 1 News:

Related links
· F1 Edition
· PaddockTalk Top News
· F1 Rumors
· More about Formula 1 News

Most read story in Formula 1 News:
Brawn will 'find a way' to work with successor Lowe

Home :: _ 

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner.
The comments are property of their posters, all the rest (c) 2003-2014 by PaddockTalk.com.
Contact E-mail: [email protected]