F1, Formula 1, NASCAR, IndyCar, MotoGP, ALMS, And More!

Jul 08, 2014 - 04:25 PM
Top News!
Rumors Edition!
Upcoming Racing! (Updated)

Top Stories
· 2014 Silverstone: Formula One F1 Tuesday Test Results - Massa, Williams Fastest! (Jul 8, 2014)
· 2014 Pocono 500: IndyCar Race Results - Montoya, Chevrolet Win! (Jul 6, 2014)
· 2014 Daytona II (Coke Zero 400): NASCAR Sprint Cup Race Results - Almirola, Ford Win! (Jul 6, 2014)
· 2014 British GP (Silverstone): Formula One F1 Race Results - Hamilton, Mercedes Win! (Jul 6, 2014)
· 2014 Pocono 500: IndyCar Starting Line-Up & Race Preview (Jul 6, 2014)

Previous Top Stories!

Hot Rumors!
· F1: Newey could design Infiniti supercar ? (Jul 5, 2014)
· F1: Marmorini 'in danger' at Ferrari ? (Jul 4, 2014)
· F1: Raikkonen to 'probably' quit after 2015 ? (Jul 4, 2014)
· F1: Ferrari offers Brawn EUR 5m for F1 return ? (Jul 3, 2014)
· F1: Kolles returning to F1 with Caterham ? (Jul 2, 2014)
More Rumors!

Manning Claims First Series Victory In Round 5
Posted by: newsla on Jul 08, 2014 - 04:20 PM
Support Series News
Manning Claims First Series Victory In Round 5

The Pacific Formula F1600/F2000 Championship traveled to the Pacific Northwest for rounds 5 and 6. Run in conjunction with the SCCA U.S. Majors Tour event, the series made its return to Portland International Raceway after a 9 year absence. The scenic 12-turn, 1.967 mile road course is nestled between the Columbia and Willamette Rivers proved challenging to many of the series drivers competing here for the first time. Michael Manning was declared the winner after Yufeng Luo was demoted to second place for a violation of GCR section 6.11.3, Failure to follow chicane procedures. It was Manning’s first victory in the Series.


Bookmark and Share
Two qualifying sessions were scheduled for Friday and were held under partly cloudy skies with temperatures in the eighties.
The morning session was led by Andrew Evans, #127, ProFormance Racing School, PR1 Motorsports Van Diemen, 1:15.357 closely followed by Zach Craigo, #27, Rocky Mountain Medical Lasers, Van Diemen; Yufeng Luo in the #6, DFR Van Diemen; Tom Hope, #18 H & M Racing Van Diemen and Michael Manning, #25 Cypress Lane Racing, Fast Forward Racing Components, Dauntless Racing Cars, Van Diemen, all of whom lapped in the 1 minute 15 second bracket. Next were Peter West, #99 Frank Monise Motors, Ken Partch, Racing Optics, Zombo.com, DFR Van Diemen; Peter Thomas, #7 Refrigeration Control Co., PR1 Van Diemen and Chuck Raggio, #14, Apex Orthopedics of California, Inc., Scuderia Raggi Van Diemen. Not in attendance this weekend were series regulars Les Phillips, #2, Swiss Implants, Porterfield Brakes Van Diemen; Bob Negron, defending series champion, #8, Terri Negron Web Design, Van Diemen.

Yufeng Luo led the afternoon session with a 1:16.369 and while the session was briefly interrupted to retrieve a stranded car none of the drivers managed to improve their morning times and Andrew Evans claimed the two bonus points for the taking the pole.
The series was able to get a split start enabling their group to start behind the remaining classes in the group and settle into their race before encountering traffic.

The green flag fell on the first group and with everyone able to safely navigate the Festival turns (chicane), often a scene of opening lap incidents due to the inviting nature of a very wide front straight, the green was waved for the second group and Zach Craigo surged into the lead ahead of Andrew Evans, Michael Manning, Tom Hope, Peter West, Yufeng Luo, Peter Thomas and Chuck Raggio.

Craigo continued to lead with Evans, Manning, Hope, Luo, having got by West on lap two, West, Thomas and Raggio.

The order remained constant until lap 8 when Hope passed Manning for third place, a position he would hold for only two laps before rising water temperatures forced him into the pits to retire after completing only nine laps. A punctured radiator was found to be the cause.

The battle between teammates West and Luo seesawed back and forth with Luo taking West for what was now fourth place on lap five only to lose it again as West reasserted himself and re-took the position on lap nine as the pair battled for team superiority.
West was now beginning to close on Manning in third while Craigo continued to lead Evans.

A brief full course yellow closed the field and at the re-start, there was contact between competitors in the classes running ahead of the FC’s at the Festival corner partially blocking the track causing some competitors to short cut the course while others wove their way through the blockage which would have an affect later in the race.

The complexion of the race changed for Craigo and Evans on lap fifteen while the pair were running almost nose to tail, Craigo spun on his own damaging his front wing and Evan was forced to take avoiding action which left him in the tire barriers and unable to continue with a broken left front lower wishbone, which brought out another full course yellow while Evans’ car was retrieved.
The field once again closed and coming to the re-start with Luo now in the lead, Manning second and West in third, West clipped the right rear of Manning’s car as he suddenly slowed to avoid contacting the car in front of him. West had a damaged left front wing and began to drop down through the field.

Luo was now leading Manning as the race was coming to a close and took the checkered flag less than a second ahead of Manning. After the podium ceremony and the stewards reviewing of the incidents that occurred during track blockage at the chicane, Luo was judged to have not followed the proper procedure when re-entering the track and was demoted one position giving the victory to Manning. For Manning it was his first series victory having joined the series this year.

Peter Thomas came home in an unscathed third place and was also the Expert Class victor.

Peter West held on for fourth place and with it the Master Class win.

Chuck Raggio finished fifth followed by Zach Craigo in sixth and Andrew Evans in seventh and Tom Hope in eighth.
Round six to be held Sunday July 6, 2014.

F2000 Qualifying: 1. Andrew Evans, (Van Diemen-G), 1m15.357s; 2. Zach Craigo (Van Diemen-G), 1m15.462s; 3. Yufeng Luo, (Van Diemen-H), 1m15.563s; 4. Tom Hope, (Van Diemen-A), 1m15.791s; 5. Michael Manning, (Van Diemen-H), 1m15.866s; 6. Peter West (Van Diemen-H), 1m16.494s; 7. Peter Thomas, (Van Diemen-G), 1m16.680s; 8. Chuck Raggio, (Van Diemen-H), 1m18.779s. Tires: A-Avon, C-Cooper, G-Goodyear, H-Hoosier.
F2000 Round 5 (23 laps): 1. Manning; 2. Luo; 3. Thomas; 4. West, +1 lap; 5. Raggio, +1 lap; 6. Craigo, +3 laps; 7. Evans, +7 laps; 8. Hope, +14 laps.
Fastest race lap: Craigo, 1m15.487s.
Expert class winner (over 35): Thomas.
Master class winner (over 50): West.

PaddockTalk Perspective

Also in Support Series News:

Related links
· Support Edition
· Top PaddockTalk News!
· More about Support Series News

Home :: _ 

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner.
The comments are property of their posters, all the rest (c) 2003-2014 by PaddockTalk.com.
Contact E-mail: [email protected]