F1, Formula 1, NASCAR, IndyCar, MotoGP, ALMS, And More!

Jul 12, 2014 - 08:19 AM
Top News!
Rumors Edition!
Upcoming Racing! (Updated)

Top Stories
· 2013 Iowa: IndyCar Starting Line-up (Grid) & Race Preview (Jul 12, 2014)
· 2014 Iowa: NASCAR Truck Race Results - Jones, Toyota Win! (Jul 12, 2014)
· 2014 Iowa: IndyCar Qualifying Results - Dixon On Pole! (Jul 11, 2014)
· 2014 Iowa: NASCAR Truck Qualifying Results - Wallace Jr, Toyota On Pole! (Jul 11, 2014)
· 2014 New Hampshire: NASCAR Sprint Cup Qualifying Results - Busch, Toyota On Pole! (Jul 11, 2014)

Previous Top Stories!

Hot Rumors!
· F1: Sainz debut at Hockenheim 'possible ? (Jul 10, 2014)
· F1: Bianchi, Gutierrez, Sainz star in 2014 'silly season' ? (Jul 9, 2014)
· F1: Newey could design Infiniti supercar ? (Jul 5, 2014)
· F1: Marmorini 'in danger' at Ferrari ? (Jul 4, 2014)
· F1: Raikkonen to 'probably' quit after 2015 ? (Jul 4, 2014)
More Rumors!

Champions Aim To Turn Luck From Pole Position
Posted by: newsla on Jul 12, 2014 - 08:16 AM
Sports Cars
Champions Aim To Turn Luck From Pole Position

AFTER FAILING to finish the opening two rounds of the championship, Garry Holt and Stuart Kostera will aim for a win from pole position in this weekend’s Australian 4 Hour at Sydney Motorsport Park.


Bookmark and Share
A last-session flyer from triple champion Stuart Kostera was enough to see the Eastern Creek Karts-sponsored Mitsubishi secure the top spot in qualifying for the third round of the Australian Manufacturers Championship, competing within the fifth round of the Shannons Australian Motor Racing Nationals.

A continuation of the long-running Mitsubishi vs. BMW battle is set to continue on Sunday with Beric Lynton and Tim Leahey to start second in their Alphera Financial Services 1M.

Impressive rookie competitor Aaron Seton, the 16-year-old son of Touring Car hero Glenn, topped the first qualifying session and banked the third quickest time of the day – ensuring the Pro-Duct Racing Mitsubishi he will share with his Dad and Bob Pearson will start from third on Sunday.

With mechanical issues sidelining the Holt / Kostera combination in the opening two rounds of the championship, the home-town team is keen for a breakthrough win this weekend.

“Last year we had a very good run and went on to win our forth championship but this year it has completely gone the other way – we have been to two rounds and haven’t yet finished,” he said.

“I have got zero points on the board at the moment, so the chances of winning the championship this year are virtually zero, but it would be nice to win and finish a round this year.”

Ryan McLeod and Tony Alford will start fourth in the Donut King BMW 1M, just in front of the Sherrin Rentals BMW 135i steered by Grant and Iain Sherrin.

A competitive fight for the outright victory in the Australian Four Hour is in store on Sunday with less than one second covering the leading Mitsubishis and two types of BMW.

A solid debut for the brand-new Audi TT RS will see Matt Cherry and Glynn Crimp line up eighth in the first championship start for the German marque.

Meanwhile, Osborne Motorsport has elected to withdraw from the round this weekend following yesterday’s accident at turn one that hospitalised young driver, Brock Giblin.

“We feel it is the right decision as we can’t be 100% focused on what we need to do this weekend to compete, and we believe it isn’t responsible to continue for ourselves or our fellow racers if we can’t be completely focused," team Owner Colin Osborne said.

"The team wants to thank everyone for their support this weekend, and for their continuing support of Brock.”

Brock remains in a serious but stable condition in Westmead hospital.

For more about the Australian 4-hour, head to the AMChamp website at www.amchamp.com.au.

An ‘All-star’ pairing of Tim Berryman and Radical ring-in James Winslow saw stunning lap times set in qualifying for the Radical Australia Cup 250, to be held on Sunday morning.

Berryman edged out dominant Radical racer Neale Muston by 0.4 seconds in the first session before Winslow jumped in Berryman’s No. 33 car and pounded out a staggering 1m25.62s lap to firmly secure pole – his time 0.1s underneath the existing category lap record.

Greg Smith qualified third in his Radical SR8 with Peter Paddon dropping into the 1m29s to take a closely-fought SR3 class pole position ahead of Michael Shaw.

The Adam Proctor – Roger I’Anson battle that has waged in the opening two rounds of the Australian Sports Racer Series continued in their opening race of the weekend, except this time it was Proctor out in front.

On home turf, the Stohr driver led each of the nine laps in the first of three races for the lightweight Sports Racing cars this weekend to score his first race win of the year.

West-driving Roger I’Anson, the series leader, jumped from third on the grid to score second with Mark Lauke third and Proctors Stohr-driving teammate Daren Barlow fourth.

The Sports Racers tackle a further two races on Sunday to complete the third round of their series this year.

Ilya Harpas has jumped to an early lead in the Australian Superkart Championship after winning the opening three races of the series’ opening round today.

Having qualified second, Harpas dominated proceedings on Saturday after pole sitter Russell Jamieson endured mechanical dramas in race one and ran off the road in the finale, dropping down the field.

The Australian Superkart Championship returns on Sunday with one final race with the second and final round of the championship to be held at Phillip Island, with the Shannons Nationals, this September.

Sunday’s action will be streamed live on the internet via the series ‘National TV’ free live streaming service.

Tickets to the circuit can be purchased at the gate for $25 Sunday with kids under 14 admitted free.

PaddockTalk Perspective

Also in Sports Cars:

Related links
· Sports Car Edition
· Top PaddockTalk News!
· More about Sports Cars

Home :: _ 

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner.
The comments are property of their posters, all the rest (c) 2003-2014 by PaddockTalk.com.
Contact E-mail: [email protected]