F1, Formula 1, NASCAR, IndyCar, MotoGP, ALMS, And More!

Jul 13, 2014 - 06:22 AM
Top News!
Rumors Edition!
Upcoming Racing! (Updated)

Top Stories
· 2014 New Hampshire: NASCAR Nationwide Race Results - Keselowski, Ford Win! (Jul 12, 2014)
· 2014 New Hampshire: NASCAR Nationwide Qualifying Results - Keselowski, Ford On Pole! (Jul 12, 2014)
· 2014 New Hampshire: NASCAR Sprint Cup Final Practice Results - Keselowski Fastest Again! (Jul 12, 2014)
· 2014 New Hampshire: NASCAR Sprint Cup Practice Two Results - Keselowski, Ford Fastest! (Jul 12, 2014)
· 2014 German GP: MotoGP Qualifying Results - Record breaker Marquez takes pole! (Jul 12, 2014)

Previous Top Stories!

Hot Rumors!
· F1: Sainz debut at Hockenheim 'possible ? (Jul 10, 2014)
· F1: Bianchi, Gutierrez, Sainz star in 2014 'silly season' ? (Jul 9, 2014)
· F1: Newey could design Infiniti supercar ? (Jul 5, 2014)
· F1: Marmorini 'in danger' at Ferrari ? (Jul 4, 2014)
· F1: Raikkonen to 'probably' quit after 2015 ? (Jul 4, 2014)
More Rumors!

2014 Iowa: IndyCar Race Results - Hunter-Reay, Andretti Autosport Win!
Posted by: ASkyler on Jul 13, 2014 - 06:17 AM
IndyCar News
2014 Iowa: IndyCar Race Results - Hunter-Reay, Andretti Autosport Win!

Ryan Hunter-Reay has won the IndyCar race at Iowa.

Ryan Hunter-Reay has won the IndyCar race at Iowa.
Credit: PaddockTalk / Paul Hurley

Andretti Autosport driver Ryan Hunter-Reay stole what appeared to be a dominant race win from Tony Kanaan just two laps from the checkered flag in Saturday night's Iowa Corn Indy 300 presented by DEKALB.

Kanaan, who started second in the No. 10 Target Chip Ganassi Racing car, led 247 of the race's 300 laps, but couldn't stave off Hunter-Reay after a late-race pit stop for tires catapulted the reigning Indianapolis 500 winner to another Verizon IndyCar Series win at Iowa Speedway.

Hunter-Reay, whose No. 28 DHL car was running 10th on the Lap 292 restart, shot to victory by 0.5814 of a second over Josef Newgarden in the No. 67 Sarah Fisher Hartman Racing entry.

Newgarden, who started 21st and was running 11th at the green flag for the final restart, also pitted for tires on Lap 284 and overtook Kanaan on the final lap to tie his career-best finish.

It was the fifth consecutive victory at Iowa Speedway for Andretti Autosport, which has won six of the eight races on the 0.894-mile, variably-banked oval. Hunter-Reay also won at Iowa Speedway in 2012.

"That was crazy. We took the tires as a big gamble and credit to (race engineer) Ray Gosselin and (race strategist/team owner) Michael Andretti for making that call," said Hunter-Reay, whose two laps led were the first since he won the Indianapolis 500. "That was fun. It was like a video game at the end. We had a tough day, but you have to keep your head in it in the Verizon IndyCar Series."

Hunter-Reay had recorded only two top-10 finishes in the six races since Indianapolis on May 25. He reclaimed third place in the championship standings - 32 points behind new front-runner Helio Castroneves of Team Penske, who finished eighth.

"We stole it today but I'll take it any way we can get it," Andretti said. "We've lost many that way. It was a day we probably weren't supposed to win, but, like I said, we'll take it any way we can get it."

It was Hunter-Reay's third victory of the season, and though Kanaan tied his season high he was disappointed not to give Target Chip Ganassi Racing its first victory of the season. There have been eight different winners, representing six teams, in the 12 races.

"It's such a shame because we dominated the race," said Kanaan, who won the race in 2010 and finished on the podium each of the past five years at Iowa Speedway. "To win races we have to run up front, so we'll take the third place and go to Toronto. I don't think I left anything out there today."

Teammate Scott Dixon, the reigning Verizon IndyCar Series champion who claimed his first Verizon P1 Award of the season on July 11, finished fourth and Ed Carpenter advanced five positions relative to his starting spot for fifth place in the No. 20 Fuzzy's Ultra Premium Vodka car.

No pole sitter has won at Iowa Speedway.

The race was red-flagged after 39 laps because of moisture on the racetrack and resumed after a 26-minute delay. The last red flag because of rain was at Sao Paulo in 2011.


Bookmark and Share

2014 Iowa: IRL IndyCar Race Results
Pos Num Driver Engine Laps Status
1. (13) Ryan Hunter-Reay Dallara-Honda 300 Running
2. (21) Josef Newgarden Dallara-Honda 300 Running
3. (2) Tony Kanaan Dallara-Chevy 300 Running
4. (1) Scott Dixon Dallara-Chevy 300 Running
5. (10) Ed Carpenter Dallara-Chevy 300 Running
6. (14) James Hinchcliffe Dallara-Honda 300 Running
7. (15) Graham Rahal Dallara-Honda 300 Running
8. (3) Helio Castroneves Dallara-Chevy 300 Running
9. (4) Ryan Briscoe Dallara-Chevy 300 Running
10. (7) Charlie Kimball Dallara-Chevy 300 Running
11. (11) Simon Pagenaud Dallara-Honda 300 Running
12. (5) Carlos Munoz Dallara-Honda 300 Running
13. (18) Justin Wilson Dallara-Honda 300 Running
14. (9) Will Power Dallara-Chevy 300 Running
15. (20) Jack Hawksworth Dallara-Honda 296 Running
16. (19) Juan Pablo Montoya Dallara-Chevy 280 Contact
17. (17) Sebastian Saavedra Dallara-Chevy 258 Mechanical
18. (8) Marco Andretti Dallara-Honda 229 Mechanical
19. (6) Sebastien Bourdais Dallara-Chevy 130 Mechanical
20. (22) Carlos Huertas Dallara-Honda 78 Driver Illness
21. (12) Mikhail Aleshin Dallara-Honda 47 Contact
22. (16) Takuma Sato Dallara-Honda 47 Contact

Race Statistics:
Winners average speed: 131.923
Time of Race: 02:01:58.8160
Margin of victory: 0.5814
Cautions: 7 for 68 laps
Lead changes: 6 among 4 drivers

Lap Leaders:
Dixon 1
Kanaan 2 - 42
Castroneves 43 - 76
Kanaan 77 - 247
Dixon 248 - 263
Kanaan 264 - 297
Hunter-Reay 299 - 300

Point Standings: Castroneves 471, Power 462, Hunter-Reay 439, Pagenaud 421, Montoya 405, Munoz 358, Andretti 337, Dixon 331, Briscoe 307, Kanaan 305.

PaddockTalk Perspective

Also in IndyCar News:

Related links
· IndyCar Edition
· Top PaddockTalk News!
· IndyCar Rumors
· More about IndyCar News

Home :: _ 

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner.
The comments are property of their posters, all the rest (c) 2003-2014 by PaddockTalk.com.
Contact E-mail: [email protected]