F1, Formula 1, NASCAR, IndyCar, MotoGP, ALMS, And More!

Jul 14, 2014 - 06:27 AM
Top News!
Rumors Edition!
Upcoming Racing! (Updated)

Top Stories
· 2014 New Hampshire: NASCAR Sprint Cup Race Results - Keselowski, Ford Win! (Jul 13, 2014)
· 2014 German GP: MotoGP Race Results - Magical Marquez Wins! (Jul 13, 2014)
· 2014 New Hampshire (Loudon): NASCAR Sprint Cup Starting Line-up & Race Preview (Jul 13, 2014)
· 2014 Iowa: IndyCar Race Results - Hunter-Reay, Andretti Autosport Win! (Jul 13, 2014)
· 2014 New Hampshire: NASCAR Nationwide Race Results - Keselowski, Ford Win! (Jul 12, 2014)

Previous Top Stories!

Hot Rumors!
· F1: Sainz debut at Hockenheim 'possible ? (Jul 10, 2014)
· F1: Bianchi, Gutierrez, Sainz star in 2014 'silly season' ? (Jul 9, 2014)
· F1: Newey could design Infiniti supercar ? (Jul 5, 2014)
· F1: Marmorini 'in danger' at Ferrari ? (Jul 4, 2014)
· F1: Raikkonen to 'probably' quit after 2015 ? (Jul 4, 2014)
More Rumors!

Racing And Fireworks Light Up 'The Rock'
Posted by: newsla on Jul 14, 2014 - 06:21 AM
Racing And Fireworks Light Up 'The Rock'

Despite a gloomy forecast, a good crowd turned out for Flat Rock Speedway's Monroe News Triple 50's and Fireworks spectacular Saturday night. A thrilling night of racing was capped off by the famous and fabulous Flat Rock Speedway fireworks display. The race card called for features only, to ensure the fireworks display went airborne at a reasonable hour for the large group of families in attendance. The entire event was completed prior to 10 p.m.


Bookmark and Share
The ARCA DTS Drive Train Specialists Street Stock B Main began the night of racing with their 25 lap feature race. A first-time winner emerged as Aaron Greathouse led the field to the checkered flag for his initial feature win, beginning a very special 7-Up Winner's Circle celebration! Aaron, his family and a host of his fellow drivers congratulated him on his big win and the crowd gave Aaron a standing ovation for his efforts. Rich Abel, James Pankow, Jeffrey Kurzyniec, Joe Vanderhoof, Justin Rodriguez, Don Roberts and William Lauria were next in line at the finish. Sterling Printing and Graphics contributed $5 per lap bonus money to Aaron.

Current point leader Steve Cronenwett Jr. showed his power as he wheeled by Dennis Strickland on lap 39 to grab the victory in the 50 lap ARCA Moran Chevrolet Late Model race. Chris Benson ran tough out front at the start, leading the first 11 laps. Strickland nosed under Chris in the low groove when it became open to take the lead on lap 12. The first yellow appeared on lap 20, with Strickland, Cronenwett Jr. and Brad Riethmeyer the top 3. A lap 36 yellow bunched the field for another double-file restart, putting Steve Jr. on the high side and Strickland low. The duo ran side by side for 3 laps until Cronenwett nosed out front as he stayed there for the final 11 laps to claim his $1000 top prize and his second win of 2014. Riethmeyer dove to the bottom lane and got by Strickland in the closing laps to take second, while Paul Pelletier followed Riethmeyer by Strickland to take third spot. Dennis held on for fourth and Stan Yee Jr. was fifth. Derek Wiley, Frank Jiovani, Grant Hedges, Benson and Lori Hall completed the top ten. Wiley set quick time for the 17 car field at 11:551. Benson, Strickland and Cronenwett Jr. collected bonus lap money from Total Flow Products of Troy, MI and American Sanitation of Carleton, MI for leading the event.

Second-year driver Corey Duane added to his point lead with the win in the 50 lap ARCA DTS Drive Train Specialists Street Stock A Main feature. All 21 starters finished the race. The 9 car inversion put Scott Selmi on the pole and he grabbed the lead over Duane and the rest of the pack. Corey bided his time and on lap 21, Selmi pushed up the track, opening up the low groove for Duane as he took the lead. The first yellow appeared on lap 22, setting up a double file restart. Duane held on to the top spot, but Guy Fire snuck into second and began to apply the pressure. At lap 45, the lead pair approached traffic. Fire dove low and took the lead momentarily, but got into the back of Chris Diovardi, bringing out the yellow, with Fire going to the tail of the field. Corey stayed up on the wheel for the final 5 laps to score his 4th win of the season. Landon Schuster ran a steady race and stayed in the top 5 and took second at the stripe, Kyle Worley was third, Nick Shanks fourth and Joe Haener fifth, followed by Greg Studt, Tim Moore, Rick Bennett, Tadek Stadniczuk and Rob Moore. Studt, at the wheel of the #99 that had been piloted by Dan Ford Jr., came from the tail of the field up to sixth at the finish. Greg also posted the Fastime Racing Engine and Parts fast time for the 30 car field at 13:553. Greathouse led the B Cars at 14:214. Total Flow Products and American Sanitation both posted the bonus lap money, won by Selmi and Duane for leading the contest.

And to conclude the racing action prior to the fireworks, the fans were treated to a heart-stopping, action packed 50 lap ARCA Praxair Figure 8 feature race. The 18 car field put on a whale of a show, featuring 3 lead changes, lapped traffic, intersection traffic and wild criss-crossing at the X, much to the delight of the fans! Needless to say, it was a fitting ending to a very entertaining and thrilling night of racing! Scott Apperson ran a strong race out front with the lead for 20 lap, but Robbie Loving was just a bumper away the entire time. In lapped traffic, Loving shot by Scott on lap 21 to take command of the race, with Dennis Whisman following suit. Lapped traffic again played a part, as Whisman darted by Robbie on lap 34 to grab the number 1 spot as the intersection near-misses wowed the crowd. Loving and now Jeremy Miller were in contention as Whisman stayed out front. The only stoppage of the race occurred on lap 38 when Greg Studt had an engine let go. Jeremy Vanderhoof, running in the top 5 and gaining ground on the leaders along with Studt, got tangled up and pitted for repairs. Just everal laps earlier, Fastime Racing Engines and Parts fast qualifier Billy Earley (20:860) was involved in an incident which ended his fine run.

Whisman took off on the restart and maintained his lead as he sped to his 3rd win of the season over Loving, Miller, Scott Apperson and rookie Race Loving. Randy Roberts, Vanderhoof, rookie Ethen Lambert, Dan Apperson and rookie David Katafiasz completed the top ten. 15 of the 18 cars were on the track at the end of the wild 50 lap event. Rookie Jacob Lee, the son of veteran Figure 8 driver Jerry Lee, made his debut and finished 14th, doing a solid job of racing while also providing some thrills for his fellow drivers and the fans! A & M Transmission of Flat Rock contributed the bonus lap money for the race.

Fans that attended the July 12 show can present their ticket stubs for this Saturday's July 19 Christmas in July prize giveaway night and receive $5 off admission! Santa Claus will be at the Flat Rock Speedway to provide prizes to both kids and adults! Fans can enter the prize drawing upon arrival to the track race day.

The Saturday, July 19 time schedule has the pit gates opening at 3, practice begins at 4, time trials are set for 5:30 and racing begins at 7 p.m. The front gates and the ticket office will also open at 4 p.m. Parking is free on the track grounds.

PaddockTalk Perspective

Also in Tidbits:

Related links
· Top PaddockTalk News!
· More about Tidbits

Home :: _ 

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner.
The comments are property of their posters, all the rest (c) 2003-2014 by PaddockTalk.com.
Contact E-mail: [email protected]