F1, Formula 1, NASCAR, IndyCar, MotoGP, ALMS, And More!

Jul 17, 2014 - 06:13 AM
Top News!
Rumors Edition!
Upcoming Racing! (Updated)

Top Stories
· 2014 New Hampshire: NASCAR Sprint Cup Race Results - Keselowski, Ford Win! (Jul 13, 2014)
· 2014 German GP: MotoGP Race Results - Magical Marquez Wins! (Jul 13, 2014)
· 2014 New Hampshire (Loudon): NASCAR Sprint Cup Starting Line-up & Race Preview (Jul 13, 2014)
· 2014 Iowa: IndyCar Race Results - Hunter-Reay, Andretti Autosport Win! (Jul 13, 2014)
· 2014 New Hampshire: NASCAR Nationwide Race Results - Keselowski, Ford Win! (Jul 12, 2014)

Previous Top Stories!

Hot Rumors!
· F1: Rosberg's new contract worth EUR 55m ? (Jul 16, 2014)
· F1: Van der Garde plays down Sauber race seat rumours ? (Jul 16, 2014)
· F1: Caterham most likely to lodge Fric protest ? (Jul 15, 2014)
· F1: No London Grand Prix ? (Jul 14, 2014)
· F1: Sainz debut at Hockenheim 'possible ? (Jul 10, 2014)
More Rumors!

Firestone To Celebrate 250th Win At Honda Indy Toronto Race Two
Posted by: newsla on Jul 17, 2014 - 06:12 AM
IndyCar News
Firestone To Celebrate 250th Win At Honda Indy Toronto Race Two

On Sunday, July 20, at Honda Indy Toronto, Firestone will celebrate its 250th win since returning to IndyCar competition 20 years ago.


Bookmark and Share
"Racing is in Firestone’s DNA, and we are extremely proud to celebrate our 250th victory," said Lisa Boggs, Director of Bridgestone Americas Motorsports. "Every trip to Victory Circle is special, but the 250th is a testament to our unrivaled passion and commitment to providing world-class race tires."

Firestone, a brand known for performance and innovation, returned to open-wheel racing on March 5, 1995, at the Grand Prix of Miami. Eleven races later, Scott Pruett drove his Firestone-equipped car to Victory Circle at the Michigan 500, becoming the tire manufacture’s first winner since its return.

"As a member of the original engineering team, I’m humbled by the success we’ve achieved over the past 20 years," said Dale Harrigle, Chief Engineer and Manager of Race Tire Development for Bridgestone Americas. "It has been a privilege to develop tires that meet the performance demands of the Verizon IndyCar Series and its drivers."

In 2002, Firestone became the Official Tire of the Verizon IndyCar Series and the Indianapolis 500-Mile Race - a designation the brand continues to hold today.

"Everybody at the Indianapolis Motor Speedway and the Verizon IndyCar Series would like to congratulate Firestone on its 250th victory," said CJ O’Donnell, CMO of Hulman Motorsports. "The safety, innovation and reliability that are hallmarks of the Firestone brand have been an integral part of open-wheel racing throughout our storied history. We sincerely appreciate the efforts of all Firestone employees for their dedication and commitment to the Verizon IndyCar Series, and we look forward to celebrating another 250 victories together."

Of the current 248 Firestone-equipped winners, Target Chip Ganassi Racing’s Scott Dixon leads all active drivers with 33 trips to Victory Circle.

"Firestone has been a huge part of the sport of Indy car racing over the years," said Dixon, driver of the No. 9 Target Chip Ganassi Racing Dallara/Chevy/Firestone. "They have been there every step of the way throughout my career in the United States, whether it was in the Indy Lights or the Verizon IndyCar Series. As a manufacturer, they have been as close to perfect as you can get. Their record of reliability is second to none, and I congratulate them on win number 250."

In active driver victories on Firestone tires, Dixon is followed by Sebastien Bourdais (31), Helio Castroneves (29), Will Power (23) and Tony Kanaan (16).

PaddockTalk Perspective

Also in IndyCar News:

Related links
· IndyCar Edition
· Top PaddockTalk News!
· IndyCar Rumors
· More about IndyCar News

Home :: _ 

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner.
The comments are property of their posters, all the rest (c) 2003-2014 by PaddockTalk.com.
Contact E-mail: [email protected]