F1, Formula 1, NASCAR, IndyCar, MotoGP, ALMS, And More!

Jul 26, 2014 - 05:45 PM
Top News!
Rumors Edition!
Upcoming Racing! (Updated)

Top Stories
· 2014 Indianapolis (Brickyard 400): NASCAR Sprint Cup Qualifying Results - Harvick, Chevrolet On Pole! (Jul 26, 2014)
· 2014 Indianapolis (Brickyard 400): NASCAR Sprint Cup Final Practice Results - Johnson, Chevrolet Fastest! (Jul 26, 2014)
· 2014 Hungary GP: Formula One F1 Qualifying Results - Rosberg, Mercedes On Pole! (Jul 26, 2014)
· 2014 Hungary GP: Formula One F1 Practice Three Results - Hamilton, Mercedes Again! (Jul 26, 2014)
· 2014 Indianapolis (Brickyard 400): NASCAR Sprint Cup Practice One Results - Kenseth, Toyota Fastest! (Jul 25, 2014)

Previous Top Stories!

Hot Rumors!
· F1: Sacked staff to sue Caterham ? (Jul 26, 2014)
· F1: Vettel To Mercedes ? (Jul 25, 2014)
· F1: Verstappen chooses Mercedes over Red Bull ? (Jul 24, 2014)
· F1: Red Bull rivals 'target' Vettel ? (Jul 23, 2014)
· F1: Germany could host two races per year again ? (Jul 23, 2014)
More Rumors!

Former Belgian Winners Of The 24 Hours Of Spa Blow Out Candles
Posted by: newsla on Jul 26, 2014 - 05:36 PM
Sports Cars
Former Belgian Winners Of The 24 Hours Of Spa Blow Out Candles On 90th Anniversary Cake

It is a special edition of the Total 24 Hours of Spa. The race was first organised by the RACB on the 19th and 20th of July 1924, under the label ‘Grand Prix de Belgique’, so the endurance classic celebrates its 90th birthday in 2014. During the post-war years the Spa 24 hours were not organised every year due to economical reasons, but in 1964 it was relaunched for good, under the impulse of Hubert de Harlez and Paul Frère. Therefore this edition is also the 50th anniversary of the first ‘modern’ version of the endurance classic.


Bookmark and Share
Today, several former Belgian winners of the 24 Hours of Spa will be present on the starting grid, to blow out the candles on the cake for the 90th anniversary of the event. 28 Belgian drivers have won the event, scoring 46 wins in total. The first one came in 1964 (Robert Crevits and Gustave Gosselin), the most recent was in 2011 (Greg Franchi). In 2008, Eric van de Poele became the only driver in history to win the Belgian endurance classic five times.

5 wins :
*Eric Van de Poele: 1987, 1998, 2005, 2006, 2008

4 wins :
*Jean-Michel Martin: 1979, 1980, 1987, 1992
*Thierry Tassin: 1983, 1986, 1994, 1996

3 wins :
*Marc Duez: 1997, 1998, 2001

2 wins :
*Eddy Joosen: 1977, 1982
*Philippe Martin: 1979, 1980
*Jean Xhenceval: 1974, 1975
*Frédéric Bouvy: 1999, 2000
*Kurt Mollekens: 2000, 2009

1 win:
Robert Crévits: 1964
Gustave Gosselin: 1964
*Pascal Ickx: 1965
*Gérald Langlois: 1965
Jacky Ickx: 1966
*Jean-Pierre Gaban: 1967
Noël Van Assche ("Pedro"): 1967
Alain Peltier: 1974
Hughes de Fierlant: 1975
Jean-Marie Detrin: 1976
Charles Van Stalle ("Chavan"): 1976
*Teddy Pilette : 1978
*Pierre Dieudonné: 1981
Didier Theys: 1987
*Didier de Radiguès: 1997
Didier Defourny: 2000
*Vincent Vosse: 2002
*Anthony Kumpen: 2009
Grégory Franchi: 2011

* Driver present on the starting grid



Over 275 years of tradition in motion :

Founded in 1735 by Jehan-Jacques Blancpain, the watch brand bearing his name is the oldest in the world. Blancpain is currently engaged to the renewal of mechanical watchmaking and to passing on exceptional expertise from one generation to the next through constant investment in human resources, production facilities and research. This approach is its strength and the expression of our long-term vision, even though it goes against the tide of a certain tendency to seek immediate profit. From the creation of components through to watch design, Blancpain is distinguished by its ability to develop exceptional movements. Over the past nine years, the Manufacture has indeed developed no less than 32 new calibres.

Through its various models, Blancpain preserves its heritage of precision and elegance, while also displaying an innovative and occasionally provocative spirit. Its range encompasses the sportive L-evolution line, the legendary Fifty Fathoms diver’s watch, as well as the classic Villeret collection, the high complication from Le Brassus collection and the Women models.


Pirelli – Official Tyre Supplier

Pirelli is a tyre manufacturer and world leader in the automotive industry. It has an exclusive relationship with over 50 racing series worldwide, including Formula One.

Pirelli has a long and illustrious history in endurance racing, and has also claimed a huge variety of class wins in GT racing all over the world. The design of the new Pirelli GT tyres meets the needs of GT racing while maintaining the performance characteristics that endurance drivers have appreciated in the past.The slick tyres used for GT racing are branded Zero: just like the slicks that have become a central feature of Formula One. The name P Zero is used in the highest categories of motorsport such as GT racing.



With operations in more than 130 countries, Total is a top-tier international oil company and a world-class natural gas operator, refiner and petrochemical producer. Our 97,000 employees leverage their acknowledged expertise to discover, produce, refine and convert oil and gas to provide products and services for customers worldwide. We are also broadening our offer by developing energies that can partner oil and gas — today, solar energy and tomorrow, biomass.

In Belgium, our Group possesses a long history as an energy supplier and is mainly active in the chemical and refining sectors, together with marketing and service activities, employing some 4500 people. As the market leader, Total Belgium is known to respond to its clients’ needs, and brings innovative solutions through its products and services. Total helps its clients to reduce consumption in a better and more efficient way, through a varied range of products like the Excellium fuel, the Fuel Economy lubricants, fuel oil and wood pellets for heating, aviation fuel, super, diesel, LPG, asphalt, lubricants…

SRO Motorsports Group

SRO Motorsports Group was founded by Stephane Ratel and has specialised in the promotion, support and organisation of many national and international motorsport series since 1995.

In 2014, SRO promotes several championships and series, such as the Blancpain GT Series with the Blancpain Sprint Series and the Blancpain Endurance Series, including the iconic Total 24 hours of Spa, the Cooper Tires British F3 Championship, the Avon Tyres British GT Championship and has various franchise agreements including the GT4 European Series.

SRO has offices in London, Paris and Liège.

PaddockTalk Perspective

Also in Sports Cars:

Related links
· Sports Car Edition
· Top PaddockTalk News!
· More about Sports Cars

Home :: _ 

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner.
The comments are property of their posters, all the rest (c) 2003-2014 by PaddockTalk.com.
Contact E-mail: admin@paddocktalk.com