F1, Formula 1, NASCAR, IndyCar, MotoGP, ALMS, And More!

Jul 27, 2014 - 02:51 PM
Top News!
Rumors Edition!
Upcoming Racing! (Updated)

Top Stories
· 2014 Hungary GP: Formula One F1 Race Results - Ricciardo, Red Bull Win! (Jul 27, 2014)
· 2014 Brickyard 400 (Indianapolis): NASCAR Sprint Cup Starting Line-up & Race Preview (Jul 27, 2014)
· 2014 Indianapolis: NASCAR Nationwide Race Results - Dillon, Chevrolet Win! (Jul 26, 2014)
· 2014 Hungary GP: Formula One F1 Starting Line-up Grid & Race Preview (Jul 26, 2014)
· 2014 Indianapolis (Brickyard 400): NASCAR Sprint Cup Qualifying Results - Harvick, Chevrolet On Pole! (Jul 26, 2014)

Previous Top Stories!

Hot Rumors!
· F1: Briatore to inject more 'show' into Formula One ? (Jul 27, 2014)
· F1: Grosjean Leaving Lotus ? (Jul 27, 2014)
· F1: Marko playing contract poker with Vettel ? (Jul 27, 2014)
· F1: Sacked staff to sue Caterham ? (Jul 26, 2014)
· F1: Vettel To Mercedes ? (Jul 25, 2014)
More Rumors!

Volkswagen Motorsport Newsletter 19/2014
Posted by: newsla on Jul 27, 2014 - 02:49 PM
WRC Rally News 2010
Volkswagen Motorsport Newsletter 19/2014

Global Rallycross (GRC)
Andretti drivers pick up important championship points in Charlotte


Bookmark and Share
After the victory at the Global Rallycross race in New York a week ago, the Volkswagen team Andretti Autosport suffered a slight setback in their fight for the championship at the fifth race of the season in Charlotte. On the extremely rough Dirt Track in the US state of North Carolina, unusually the two Andretti drivers Scott Speed (USA) and Tanner Foust (USA) did not finish in the top three in their Volkswagen Polo RX Supercars with over 500 hp: Speed finished fifth, Foust, hindered by tyre problems, was eighth. Victory went to Ken Block (USA). The former Formula 1 driver Nelson Piquet jr. (BR) now leads the overall standings with 227 points. Speed is in second with 181 points.

Neste Oil Rally Helsinki Battle 2014
Alén, Ogier and Latvala promote rallying in Helsinki

Great show, great backdrop, great sport: When the warhorses took on the current rally stars, the Volkswagen drivers thrilled around 35,000 spectators with spectacular drifts. At the Neste Oil Rally Helsinki Battle, which kicked off the sporting week at the Rally Finland, Markku Alén (FIN), unofficial World Rally Champion of 1978, current champion Sébastien Ogier (F) and Jari-Matti Latvala (FIN) in the Volkswagen Polo R WRC did a lot to promote rallying. In addition to Alén, the Finnish rally legends Tommi Mäkinen, Juha Kankkunen and Marcus Grönholm took part – in the current World Rally Cars of Hyundai, Citroën and M-Sport Ford. Victory went to Norway’s Mads Østberg (Citroën).

British Formula 3 Championship
Three Volkswagen victories at the classic in Spa-Francorchamps

Ed Jones (UAE) celebrated all three victories available for the taking at the British Formula 3 European Championship classic in Spa-Francorchamps – “powered by Volkswagen”. His team-mate at Carlin Motorsport, a guest starter like Jones, also made it onto the podium three times in the tenth to twelfth races of the season – twice in second place, once in third. The British Formula 3 Championship race in Spa-Francorchamps is traditionally a part of the weekend programme for the 24 hour race for GT vehicles. 21 of 30 top ten results available for the taking on the “Ardennes roller coaster” went to teams who have placed their trust in Volkswagen engines. At the fifth race weekend of the junior series, races 13 to 15 will be held in Thruxton (GB) from 15 to 17 August.

Next up:

FIA World Rally Championship (WRC), Finland

Volkswagen Scirocco R-Cup, Spielberg (A)

FIA Formula 3 European Championship, Spielberg (A)

Formula Volkswagen South Africa, Phakisa (ZA)

Volkswagen Polo Cup South Africa, Phakisa (ZA)

PaddockTalk Perspective

Also in WRC Rally News 2010:

Related links
· Rally Edition
· Top PaddockTalk News!
· More about WRC Rally News 2010

Most read story in WRC Rally News 2010:
Albatec Racing Aims For Hungarian Spoils

Home :: _ 

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner.
The comments are property of their posters, all the rest (c) 2003-2014 by PaddockTalk.com.
Contact E-mail: [email protected]