F1, Formula 1, NASCAR, IndyCar, MotoGP, ALMS, And More!

Aug 22, 2014 - 07:11 AM
Top News!
Rumors Edition!
Upcoming Racing! (Updated)

Top Stories
· 2014 Belgium GP (Spa): Formula One F1 Practice One Results - Rosberg, Mercedes Fastest! (Aug 22, 2014)
· 2014 Bristol: NASCAR Truck Race Results - Keselowski, Ford Win! (Aug 21, 2014)
· 2014 Milwaukee: IndyCar Race Results - Power, Chevrolet Win! (Aug 17, 2014)
· 2014 Michigan II: NASCAR Sprint Cup Race Results - Gordon, Chevrolet Win! (Aug 17, 2014)
· 2014 Czech Republic GP: MotoGP Race Results - Pedrosa victory ends Marquez winning streak (Aug 17, 2014)

Previous Top Stories!

Hot Rumors!
· F1: Rumours tip Lotterer for Caterham race debut ? (Aug 19, 2014)
· F1: Toro Rosso next team set for 'nose news' ? (Aug 19, 2014)
· F1: Gutierrez in talks with 'other teams' for 2015 ? (Aug 18, 2014)
· F1: Verstappen To Get 2015 Toro Rosso seat ? (Aug 14, 2014)
· F1: Nasr to Sauber seat 'possible' for 2015 ? (Aug 14, 2014)
More Rumors!

Power hopes to solidify title hopes at Sonoma
Posted by: ASkyler on Aug 22, 2014 - 07:08 AM
IndyCar News
Power hopes to solidify title hopes at Sonoma

Will Power arrives at Sonoma Raceway boasting three victories and three pole starts on the 2.385-mile road course in the past four years.

With that history and a 39-point championship advantage, the Team Penske driver should be brimming with confidence entering the 85-lap GoPro Grand Prix of Sonoma on Aug. 24 - the penultimate race of the Verizon IndyCar Series season.

"Sonoma is just a very technical racetrack. It's a place where you have to really hit your marks and be precise. For whatever reason that fits my driving style perfectly," said Power, who was runner-up to then-teammate Ryan Briscoe in the 2012 race. "Plus, I've been fortunate to drive really good Verizon Chevrolets while at Team Penske. That always helps. After the test at Sonoma a couple of weeks ago, it seems like we'll have another fast one this weekend."

Power has totaled a field-high 362 points on the 11 road/street circuits and 240 points in the five oval races (teammate Juan Pablo Montoya leads with 275 points).


Bookmark and Share
"Certainly we are in a good position going into the last two weeks of the season. We have a lot of confidence in our ability as a team at Sonoma and Auto Club Speedway, but there is still over 150 points on the table with Fontana being a double-points race," Power added.

"Our path is easier now, but it's by no means easy."

His mental ease would be soothed by leaving some baggage at the natural-terrain circuit on the way to Auto Club Speedway in Fontana, Calif., for the Aug. 30 MAVTV 500 finale.

Power was atop the 2010 and 2012 standings with two races to go and finished second in the championship both years. In fact, the driver who has led the championship with two to go has failed to close in five of the past eight seasons. Sam Hornish Jr. (2006), Scott Dixon (2008) and Dario Franchitti (2011) are the exceptions.

Six drivers are eligible for the series title, and anyone enters the MAVTV 500 more than 88 points arrears is eliminated.

"I think you have to turn up to every track, doesn't matter what it is, and know that you have a chance to win," said Power after his Milwaukee victory Aug. 17. "I just think that's how you become a champion. I'm very determined for that to happen this year."

Power teammate Helio Castroneves, who has finished second or third in five of his 12 full Verizon IndyCar Series seasons, is second in the standings. Simon Pagenaud is 92 points back, followed by 2012 champion Ryan Hunter-Reay (-108), Montoya (-114) and 2013 champion Scott Dixon (-130).

How the title contenders have fared at Sonoma Raceway

*Will Power, No. 12 Team Penske - Three wins and second place, three poles in five starts.

*Helio Castroneves, No. 3 Hitachi Team Penske - One win, five top-five finishes in nine starts.

*Simon Pagenaud, No. 77 Schmidt Peterson Hamilton Motorsports - One top-five finish in three starts.

*Ryan Hunter-Reay, No. 28 DHL Andretti Autosport - No top-five finishes in seven starts.

*Juan Pablo Montoya, No. 2 Verizon Team Penske - First IndyCar start; won 2007 NASCAR race.

Championship with two races left the past five years

2013: Leader - Helio Castroneves (513). Second - Scott Dixon (-8). Third - Simon Pagenaud (-50)

Champion and final margin - Dixon by 27 points over Castroneves

2012: Leader - Will Power (422). Second - Ryan Hunter-Reay (-26). Third - Helio Castroneves (-41)

Champion and final margin - Hunter-Reay by 3 points over Power

2011: Leader - Dario Franchitti (507). Second - Will Power (-5). Third - Scott Dixon )-77)

Champion and final margin - Franchitti by 18 points over Power

2010: Leader - Will Power (552). Second - Dario Franchitti (-17). Third - Scott Dixon (-83).

Champion and final margin - Franchitti by 5 points over Power

2009: Leader - Ryan Briscoe (550). Second - Dario Franchitti (-25). Third - Scott Dixon (-33)

Champion and final margin - Franchitti by 11 points over Dixon

PaddockTalk Perspective

Also in IndyCar News:

Related links
· IndyCar Edition
· Top PaddockTalk News!
· IndyCar Rumors
· More about IndyCar News

Home :: _ 

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner.
The comments are property of their posters, all the rest (c) 2003-2014 by PaddockTalk.com.
Contact E-mail: [email protected]