F1, Formula 1, NASCAR, IndyCar, MotoGP, ALMS, And More!

Aug 24, 2014 - 07:40 AM
Top News!
Rumors Edition!
Upcoming Racing! (Updated)

Top Stories
· 2014 Sonoma: IndyCar Starting Line-up & Race Preview (Aug 24, 2014)
· 2014 Bristol II: NASCAR Sprint Cup Race Results - Logano, Ford Win! (Aug 24, 2014)
· 2014 Sonoma: IndyCar Qualifying Results - Power, Chevrolet On Pole! (Aug 23, 2014)
· 2014 Belgium GP (Spa): Formula One F1 Starting Line-up Grid & Race Preview (Aug 23, 2014)
· 2014 Belgium GP (Spa): Formula One F1 Qualifying Results - Rosberg, Mercedes On Pole! (Aug 23, 2014)

Previous Top Stories!

Hot Rumors!
· F1: Rumours tip Lotterer for Caterham race debut ? (Aug 19, 2014)
· F1: Toro Rosso next team set for 'nose news' ? (Aug 19, 2014)
· F1: Gutierrez in talks with 'other teams' for 2015 ? (Aug 18, 2014)
· F1: Verstappen To Get 2015 Toro Rosso seat ? (Aug 14, 2014)
· F1: Nasr to Sauber seat 'possible' for 2015 ? (Aug 14, 2014)
More Rumors!

Toyo Tires F1600 Series - Ted Powell Race 1 Goes To DeGrand
Posted by: newsla on Aug 24, 2014 - 07:34 AM
Support Series News
Toyo Tires F1600 Series - Ted Powell Race 1 Goes To DeGrand

Race 1 of the Ted Powell Memorial at Calabogie Motorsports Park was a wild one with the victory going to Tristan DeGrand.

The Eureka, MO native led every lap but was kept in close contact by both Pelletier and eventual 2nd place finisher Craig Willis.


Bookmark and Share
"This has become my favourite track," said a jubilant DeGrand. "I love the long track format and the way it flows it’s just amazing. The race went pretty much the way I wanted it to. We had a good start and Max (Hanratty) managed to get in behind me, then I saw all of the action behind me and thought I had a good gap but Chase (Pelletier) was right there with me until the end."

The start of the race had some fairly intense action with a couple of off-track adventures and some changes in the running order. DeGrand held the lead through the first couple of corners, with Hanratty, Pelletier and Robichon in tow. Robichon made a bold move to overtake Hanratty and he was forced off track.

Willis was the big beneficiary with all of the action in front of him and slipped up into the 4th position.

The front 4 gapped the pack slightly and stayed in formation for most of the race until Willis slipped by Robichon to take the 3rd spot.

There was one full-course caution for contact between Keith Lobban and David Graham, both cars unable to finish the race. Once the field was collected behind the pace car there was only enough time for one green flag lap.

DeGrand got a good start and was unchallenged to take the checkered flag, his 8th win on the season. Willis capped off a great drive by getting by Chase Pelletier on the final lap and took the 2nd step on the podium. Pelletier was 3rd, Zacharie Robichon would close out the new Piper’s debut with a solid 4th and Bryson Schutte finished 5th in his series debut.

In the B Class battle Connor Wagland was back on form after a major rebuild in the weeks between this event and the Honda Indy Toronto, where he suffered significant damage to both his car and his lead in the points. In addition to his win he finished 7th overall.

"That was a great race, I am really happy," said Wagland. "I got off to a good start and was racing with the A Class car of Serge Lacroix. All the while I was looking in the mirror for that black car of (Stephen) Adams and it just kept getting closer and closer. It was great to get the win."

Wagland increased his lead in the championship with the win and was followed by 2nd place finisher Stephen Adams and 3rd place finisher Graham Lobban.

Amy Castell, 2nd in B Class points suffered a gearbox failure and lost some ground to Wagland.

Race 2 for the Ted Powell Memorial at Calabogie Motorsports Park will take place Sunday afternoon.

PaddockTalk Perspective

Also in Support Series News:

Related links
· Support Edition
· Top PaddockTalk News!
· More about Support Series News

Home :: _ 

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner.
The comments are property of their posters, all the rest (c) 2003-2014 by PaddockTalk.com.
Contact E-mail: [email protected]