F1, Formula 1, NASCAR, IndyCar, MotoGP, ALMS, And More!

Aug 24, 2014 - 06:32 PM
Top News!
Rumors Edition!
Upcoming Racing! (Updated)

Top Stories
· 2014 Belgium GP (Spa): Formula One F1 Race Results - Ricciardo, Red Bull Win! (Aug 24, 2014)
· 2014 Sonoma: IndyCar Starting Line-up & Race Preview (Aug 24, 2014)
· 2014 Bristol II: NASCAR Sprint Cup Race Results - Logano, Ford Win! (Aug 24, 2014)
· 2014 Sonoma: IndyCar Qualifying Results - Power, Chevrolet On Pole! (Aug 23, 2014)
· 2014 Belgium GP (Spa): Formula One F1 Starting Line-up Grid & Race Preview (Aug 23, 2014)

Previous Top Stories!

Hot Rumors!
· F1: Rumours tip Lotterer for Caterham race debut ? (Aug 19, 2014)
· F1: Toro Rosso next team set for 'nose news' ? (Aug 19, 2014)
· F1: Gutierrez in talks with 'other teams' for 2015 ? (Aug 18, 2014)
· F1: Verstappen To Get 2015 Toro Rosso seat ? (Aug 14, 2014)
· F1: Nasr to Sauber seat 'possible' for 2015 ? (Aug 14, 2014)
More Rumors!

Volkswagen Motorsport Newsletter 23/2014
Posted by: newsla on Aug 24, 2014 - 06:29 PM
WRC Rally News 2010
Volkswagen Motorsport Newsletter 23/2014

FIA World Rally Championship
Volkswagen guaranteed Drivers’ title in the WRC despite disappointment on home soil


Bookmark and Share
One thing is certain after the Rally Germany: the 2014 World Rally Championship will again be behind the wheel of a Volkswagen. However, the works team from Wolfsburg also suffered disappointments at its home round of the FIA World Rally Championship (WRC). While Andreas Mikkelsen/Ola Fløene (N/N) finished third to present Volkswagen with its first podium at the manufacturer’s home event, a mistake whilst leading just 70 kilometres from the end ultimately cost Jari-Matti Latvala/Miikka Anttila (FIN/FIN) the win. Sébastien Ogier/Julien Ingrassia (F/F) also failed to finish the Rally Germany. The World Championship leader skidded off the road whilst leading on day one of the rally. This was followed by another crash on Saturday, after which he was unable to re-join the race. Victory went to the Hyundai duo of Thierry Neuville/Nicolas Gilsoul (B/B).

Global Rallycross
Foust sixth in Daytona final

Tanner Foust (USA) finished sixth at the sixth round of the Global Rallycross Championship in Daytona (USA). Among the drivers he defeated at the wheel of the Volkswagen Polo RX Supercar, which generates over 500 hp and is run by Andretti Autosport, was championship leader Nelson Piquet Junior. Team-mate Scott Speed (USA) came home tenth. With four race weekends remaining in the Drivers’ Championship, Speed is currently a promising second behind Piquet Jr. (227) with 181 points. Foust is seventh overall. The next races in the Global Rallycross Championship will take place in Los Angeles (USA) on 21st September.

Volkswagen Castrol Cup Poland
Kupcikas and Kisiel win at the Slovakia Ring

Robertas Kupcikas (LT) and Kisiel (PL) were the two winners when the Volkswagen Castrol Cup Poland headed abroad for an exciting weekend at the Slovakia Ring (SK). Multiple winner Kupcikas crossed the finish line just 1.1 seconds ahead of runner-up Jeffrey Kruger (ZA) at the end of the opening race on the six-kilometre track. Third place went to Pawel Krezelok (PL). Race two was an even closer affair. Kisiel came home just 0.9 seconds ahead of Kruger, who again had to settle for second place. Kupcikas followed in third. In the championship, Kupcikas continues to lead with 408 points, ahead of Kruger (356) and Marcus Fluch (S/308). The next races in the Volkswagen Castrol Cup Poland take place in Brno (CZ) from 12th to 14th September.

Next up:

ATS Formula 3 Cup, Nürburgring (D)

ADAC Formula Masters, Nürburgring (D)

British Formula 3 Championship, Brands Hatch (GB)

Formula Volkswagen South Africa, Zwartkops (ZA)

Engen Volkswagen Cup South Africa, Zwartkops (ZA)

Volkswagen Racing Cup Great Britain, Brands Hatch (GB)

PaddockTalk Perspective

Also in WRC Rally News 2010:

Related links
· Rally Edition
· Top PaddockTalk News!
· More about WRC Rally News 2010

Most read story in WRC Rally News 2010:
Albatec Racing Aims For Hungarian Spoils

Home :: _ 

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner.
The comments are property of their posters, all the rest (c) 2003-2014 by PaddockTalk.com.
Contact E-mail: [email protected]