F1, Formula 1, NASCAR, IndyCar, MotoGP, ALMS, And More!

Aug 30, 2014 - 03:33 PM
Top News!
Rumors Edition!
Upcoming Racing! (Updated)

Top Stories
· 2014 British GP: MotoGP Qualifying Results - Marvellous Marquez Takes Tenth Pole (Aug 30, 2014)
· 2014 Fontana: IndyCar Starting Line-up & Race Preview (Aug 30, 2014)
· 2014 Atlanta: NASCAR Sprint Cup Qualifying Results - Harvick, Chevrolet On Pole! (Aug 29, 2014)
· 2014 Fontana: IndyCar Qualifying Results - Castroneves, Chevrolet on Pole! (Aug 29, 2014)
· 2014 Atlanta: NASCAR Nationwide Final Practice Results - Kenseth, Toyota Fastest! (Aug 29, 2014)

Previous Top Stories!

Hot Rumors!
· F1: Van der Garde secures 2015 Sauber race seat ? (Aug 26, 2014)
· F1: Rumours tip Lotterer for Caterham race debut ? (Aug 19, 2014)
· F1: Toro Rosso next team set for 'nose news' ? (Aug 19, 2014)
· F1: Gutierrez in talks with 'other teams' for 2015 ? (Aug 18, 2014)
· F1: Verstappen To Get 2015 Toro Rosso seat ? (Aug 14, 2014)
More Rumors!

8-29-14 Toledo Story
Posted by: newsla on Aug 30, 2014 - 03:29 PM
8-29-14 Toledo Story

A large and enthusiastic crowd filled the stands Friday evening at Toledo Speedway for the Burge Wrecking "Night of Destruction". And the show lived up to that billing-3 flips, a wild boat race and, of course, the bone-crunching Figure 8 School Bus event. The ARCA Aramark Sportsman class also ran their Season Championship event, with Jim Froling taking the win when Mike Young ran out of fuel on the last lap. Ron Allen claimed the 2014 track championship.


Bookmark and Share
The ARCA Aramark Sportsman division ran their final point race of the year, and the 40 lap feature was all Mike Young until the final circuit. Young snared the lead at the green flag from Howard Kelley Jr. and sailed away as the race stayed green the entire 40 laps. At the white flag, Young's car sputtered as he ran out of fuel. Jim Froling had made up a bunch of ground and was the fastest car on the track and was going to be second, but with Young's misfortune, Jim sailed by and took the checkered flag. He then celebrated in the 7-Up Winner's Circle with his father, Ray, who celebrated his 75th birthday at the track. Kelley Jr. ended up second, Ron Allen's third place run netted him the 2014 track title, fourth was Norm Lewallen and a dejected Young coasted the final lap and was fifth at the finish. Chad Guinn, Dennis Whisman, Andy Harding, Dan Grigsby, Chad Stilwell, Rich Abel and David Hinjosa were next in line at the checkered flag. Allen set fast time at 17:404, with Young and Stilwell capturing the heat races.

Dave Stadniczuk captured the 20 lap Enduro/Factory Stock race, edging out Matt Ringger for the victory. John Rabideau was third, Jeff King fourth and Randy Padgett Jr. fifth, followed by Jacob Thomas, Bradley Huston, Bill Carberry, Michael Luebke and Nolan Padgett.

The father-son duo of Billy Earley and Travis Earley won the 12 lap Figure 8 Train race over Kevin Stepinski/Erich Heuschele, Howard Kelley Jr./Jim Brazeau, Trina Apperson/Joe Vanderhoof and Adam Plonski/Joe Whisman. Plonski and Whisman got crossed up in the early going and Adam's car did a quick flip, landing back on its tires. Adam fired the engine, but the car quit, ending their day.

Archie Padgett took the wild Boat Figure 8 event that saw Jeff "The Destroyer" King demolish a boat, leaving it in 2 pieces! King's spectacular crash brought a huge roar from the crowd. Bill Carberry, Jacob Thomas, Pat Fields and Travis Earley were also in the field of boats. Fisher's Yacht Sales and Marina, Woodville Auto Finance and First Choice Auto Finance served as boat sponsors.

Dennis Whisman powered his way to the win in the Flag Pole race. 2 qualifying heats saw Whisman and Billy Earley take the wins. The duo finished 1-2 in the finale, which features a flag pole in both the front stretch and back stretch. Each lap, the cars must go around the pole to complete their lap. Rabideau, Ringger, Thomas, Padgett, Jeremy Fragassi, Travis Earley, Mike Jabowski and Mayhem Miller rounded out the finish order.

The track's tech staff crashed into each other in the Grogan's Towne Mini Van Road Rage event. Chief Inspector Jack Franzil got up on his side as the 5 vans played bumper tag, spun each other out and just pretty much tore each other up!

The School Bus Figure 8 race was the finale of the evening. Archie Padgett got dumped and went over on his side early in the contest, got back in the bus after the forklift turned it over and ran the rest of the way! Dennis Whisman inflicted a better part of the damage as he slammed into his competition, with Terry Smith also causing a bunch of fun! Jack Franzil notched the win over Whisman, Padgett, Randy Roberts, Smith, Jeremy Vanderhoof and Joe Koester. Bus sponsors were Burge Wrecking, Woodville Auto Finance, Central Avenue Truck Parts, Mayfly Tavern, First Choice Auto Finance, PB Fabrication and R & M Recycling.

Toledo Speedway now has 1 race remaining on the 2014 schedule-the 26th running of the Great Lakes Helicopter Glass City 200 Late Model invitational, set for Saturday, September 20. Race time is 5 p.m. Fans can save $5 on tickets if purchased before race day.

PaddockTalk Perspective

Also in Tidbits:

Related links
· Top PaddockTalk News!
· More about Tidbits

Home :: _ 

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner.
The comments are property of their posters, all the rest (c) 2003-2014 by PaddockTalk.com.
Contact E-mail: admin@paddocktalk.com