F1, Formula 1, NASCAR, IndyCar, MotoGP, ALMS, And More!

Aug 31, 2014 - 06:18 AM
Top News!
Rumors Edition!
Upcoming Racing! (Updated)

Top Stories
· 2014 Atlanta: NASCAR Sprint Cup Final Practice Results - Kenseth, Toyota Fastest! (Aug 30, 2014)
· 2014 Atlanta: NASCAR Nationwide Qualifying Results - Elliott, Chevrolet On Pole! (Aug 30, 2014)
· 2014 Atlanta: NASCAR Sprint Cup Practice Two Results - Logano, Ford Fastest! (Aug 30, 2014)
· 2014 British GP: MotoGP Qualifying Results - Marvellous Marquez Takes Tenth Pole (Aug 30, 2014)
· 2014 Fontana: IndyCar Starting Line-up & Race Preview (Aug 30, 2014)

Previous Top Stories!

Hot Rumors!
· F1: Van der Garde secures 2015 Sauber race seat ? (Aug 26, 2014)
· F1: Rumours tip Lotterer for Caterham race debut ? (Aug 19, 2014)
· F1: Toro Rosso next team set for 'nose news' ? (Aug 19, 2014)
· F1: Gutierrez in talks with 'other teams' for 2015 ? (Aug 18, 2014)
· F1: Verstappen To Get 2015 Toro Rosso seat ? (Aug 14, 2014)
More Rumors!

Gaetano Di Mauro Claims First F4 Race Win, As Championship Battle Tightens
Posted by: newsla on Aug 31, 2014 - 06:16 AM
Support Series News
Gaetano Di Mauro Claims First F4 Race Win, As Championship Battle Tightens Further At Brands Hatch

Gaetano di Mauro converted pole position into an emotional victory in this weekend’s first race on the Brands Hatch Grand Prix circuit today (Saturday), the maiden win for both di Mauro and the Petroball team.


Bookmark and Share
The 17-year-old Brazilian held off a quick starting Struan Moore to lead into Paddock Hill bend on lap one, and then maintained a lead of over half a second throughout the contest, with Moore settling for second ahead of team mate Arjun Maini.

Championship contender Raoul Hyman finished fourth, 14 seconds adrift of the lead duo and holding off a persistent challenge from SWR – Caterham F1’s Jordan Albert, who scored his best result of the season with fifth place.

Silverstone treble winner Sennan Fielding and Chris Middlehurst were close behind in sixth and seventh, while Will Palmer claimed eighth place from tenth on the grid, earning him reverse grid pole for tomorrow’s second race of the weekend.

Gustavo Lima claimed ninth ahead of championship leader George Russell, who fought back well to 10th having started 21st on the grid after a crash in qualifying.

The result means Russell’s championship lead is now down to just a single point over Hyman with eight races remaining. Fielding is now only 23 points off the championship lead, with Arjun Maini and Will Palmer also still firmly in the fight.

Di Mauro’s win completes a remarkable run of progression for both himself and the Petroball team, who are new to F4 this year. Having secured a breakthrough top-10 performance at round three at Snetterton, he claimed his first podium last time out at Silverstone, and now his first victory.

Di Mauro commented: "It's unbelievable, I'm so happy! Struan was so quick and I had to be very careful not to make a mistake. He was able to catch me in the first sector, but I managed to keep him behind me.

"This is a great result for the team and myself, and now we can hopefully move on and get some more!"

The top-three drivers on the podium received their trophies from Le Mans racer and BRDC member Sam Hancock.

BRDC F4 Championship, Brands Hatch Grand Prix, Race one result:
1. Gaetano di Mauro, Petroball, 14 laps
2. Struan Moore, Lanan Racing, +0.647s
3. Arjun Maini, Lanan Racing, +1.445s
4. Raoul Hyman, HHC Motorsport, +15.612s
5. Jordan Albert, SWR - Caterham F1, +15.863s
6. Sennan Fielding, HHC Motorsport, +16.253s
7. Chris Middlehurst, Mark Godwin Racing, +17.163s
8. Will Palmer, HHC Motorsport, +18.706s
9. Gustavo Lima, Hillspeed, +19.162s
10. George Russell, Lanan Racing, +19.561s
11. Rahul Mayer, Hillspeed, +20.630s
12. Charlie Eastwood, Douglas Motorsport, +22.117s
13. Tom Jackson, Chris Dittmann Racing, +23.191s
14. Diego Borrelli, SWR - Caterham F1, +30.880s
15. Alferedo Zabalza, Hillspeed, +32.730s
16. Diego Menchaca, Douglas Motorsport, +32.841s
17. Connor Jupp, Meridian Racing, +40.061s 18. Tom Bale, Chris Dittmann Racing, +40.879s
19. Michael Claessens, Mark Godwin Racing, +55.250s
20. Jai Nijjar, Meridian Racing, +55.831s
DNF. Rodrigo Fonseca, Douglas Motorsport, 11 laps

BRDC F4 Championship standings:*
1. George Russell, Lanan Racing, 328pts
2. Raoul Hyman, HHC Motorsport, 327pts
3. Sennan Fielding, HHC Motorsport, 305pts
4. Arjun Maini, Lanan Racing, 301pts
5. Will Palmer, HHC Motorsport, 294pts
6. Struan Moore, Lanan Racing, 268pts
7. Chris Middlehurst, Mark Godwin Racing, 216pts
8. Gaetano di Mauro, Petroball Racing, 198pts
9. Diego Men chaca, Douglas Motorsport, 193pts
10. Gustavo Lima, Hillspeed, 185pts
*Provisional standings

PaddockTalk Perspective

Also in Support Series News:

Related links
· Support Edition
· Top PaddockTalk News!
· More about Support Series News

Home :: _ 

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner.
The comments are property of their posters, all the rest (c) 2003-2014 by PaddockTalk.com.
Contact E-mail: admin@paddocktalk.com