F1, Formula 1, NASCAR, IndyCar, MotoGP, Le Mans, And More!

Top News!

Rumors Edition!

Top Stories
· 2018 Team-By-Team: GTLM (Jan 11, 2018)
· Alonso Soaks in Unique Atmosphere in Preparation for First Rolex 24 At Daytona (Jan 11, 2018)
· MotoGP - Airbags: compulsory from 2018 (Jan 11, 2018)
· Two-time champion Red Byron laid the foundation for future NASCAR titlists (Jan 11, 2018)
· Monster Energy NASCAR Cup Series hits the track for Goodyear tire test (Jan 9, 2018)
· Nasr Leads Cadillac DPi Sweep in Roar Before The Rolex 24 Qualifying (Jan 8, 2018)
· Roar Before the Rolex 24 At Daytona Saturday Notebook (Jan 7, 2018)
· Ed Carpenter Racing Completes No 20 Driver Lineup With The Addition Of Jordan King (Jan 5, 2018)

Previous Top Stories!

Hot Rumors!
· 2018 F1: Britain could lose grand prix ? (Jan 9, 2018)
· 2017 F1: Copenhagen, Nurburgring eye F1 race deals ? (Jan 3, 2018)
· 2017 F1: Williams set to announce Sirotkin deal ? (Jan 3, 2018)
· 2017 F1: Mercedes getting close to 1000hp ? (Jan 3, 2018)
· 2017 F1: Magnussen to join Alonso, Stroll at Daytona ? (Dec 19, 2017)
More Rumors!

Mario Andretti Named Honorary Chairman For Motorsports Hall of Fame of America
Posted by: newsla on Jan 12, 2018 - 06:13 AM
IndyCar News
Mario Andretti Named Honorary Chairman For Motorsports Hall of Fame of America 30th Annual Induction Ceremony

Mario Andretti, one of only two drivers to win both the Daytona 500 and the Indianapolis 500, has been named Honorary Chairman for the 30th Annual Motorsports Hall of Fame of America (MSHFA) Induction Ceremony Presented by Bridgestone, set for March 13 at the Shores Resort & Spa in Daytona Beach.

Andretti, a 1990 MSHFA inductee, shares the Daytona-Indianapolis honor with A.J. Foyt. Andretti is the only driver to win those two marquee events (Daytona in 1967, Indy in 1969) and the Formula One world championship (1978). Fittingly, Andretti was named Driver of the Century by the Associated Press and RACER magazine in 2000.

Its also fitting that Andretti serve as Honorary Chairman for this years induction ceremony, as two inductees come from the world of IndyCar racing - the late Indianapolis Motor Speedway founder Carl Fisher and former champion car owner Pat Patrick. In addition, another former Daytona 500 champion, Jeff Gordon, will be inducted.

The other honorees: drag racing car builder John Buttera; record-setting pilot - and world-famous billionaire - Howard Hughes; motorcycle great Fred Merkel; and sports car legend Bob Tullius.

This year marks the second straight year a former Daytona 500 champion will serve as Honorary Chairman. Last year, 2017 champion Kurt Busch filled that role. The MSHFA moved to Daytona International Speedway two years ago, from Novi, Michigan.

"Anytime Mario Andretti returns to Daytona, its magical," said MSHFA President Ron Watson. "This will also add a bit of magic to our induction ceremony. Mario has always been supportive of our efforts and of course, we have always been extremely grateful."

"Im delighted to be invited and when I got the invitation, I figured, Good, Ron has finally given me a job, Andretti said. "But this is a good opportunity for me to come and see what I call The Temple.

"The hall of fame is so important because of what it represents. To me, its the ultimate award or reward that any driver could hope for in their career. Ive had first-hand experience with that and also with my son Michael inducted [in 2008]. I know how much that means to us and to be part of an evening like that I look forward to that very much."

The induction ceremony will be preceded on March 12 by the annual "Heroes of Horsepower" Reception and Dinner at the MSHFA Museum, located in the Daytona International Speedway Ticket and Tours facility.

PaddockTalk Perspective

Also in IndyCar News:

Related links
· IndyCar Edition
· Top PaddockTalk News!
· IndyCar Rumors
· More about IndyCar News

Home :: About :: Social :: Contact :: Archives :: Video :: Submit :: _ 

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner.
The comments are property of their posters, all the rest (c) 2003-2015 by PaddockTalk.com.
Contact E-mail: [email protected]