F1, Formula 1, NASCAR, IndyCar, MotoGP, Le Mans, And More!

Top News!

Rumors Edition!

Top Stories
· 2019 Spain GP (Barcelona): Three Quick Takes From Formula One F1 Qualifying (May 11, 2019)
· 2019 Spain GP (Barcelona): Formula One F1 Qualifying Results - Bottas, Mercedes on Pole! (May 11, 2019)
· 2019 WRC: Tanak recovers from early mistake to dominate Rally Chile (May 11, 2019)
· 2019 Kansas: NASCAR Truck Race Results - Ross Chastain gets vindication with NASCAR Gander Outdoors Truck Series win (May 11, 2019)
· 2019 Kansas: Monster Energy NASCAR Cup Qualifying Results - Kevin Harvick leads Stewart-Haas sweep of Kansas qualifying (May 10, 2019)
· 2019 Indianapolis GP: IndyCar Qualifying Results - Rookie Felix Rosenqvist captures first career pole (May 10, 2019)
· 2019 Kansas: Monster Energy NASCAR Cup - Friday Notebook (May 10, 2019)
· 2019 Kansas: Monster Energy NASCAR Cup - Kurt Busch fastest in final practice at Kansas (May 10, 2019)

Previous Top Stories!

Hot Rumors!
· 2018 F1: Indycar move possible for Alonso? (Aug 6, 2018)
· 2018 F1: Lawrence Stroll buys Force India? (Jul 24, 2018)
· 2018 F1: Marchionne condition 'irreversible'? (Jul 23, 2018)
· 2018 F1: Raikkoen to Sauber Update? (Jul 21, 2018)
· 2018 F1: Hamilton objects to Rosberg interview? (Jul 21, 2018)
More Rumors!

2019 Indianapolis GP: IndyCar Race Results - Pagenaud, Penske Win!
Posted by: ASkyler on May 11, 2019 - 05:22 PM
IndyCar News
2019 Indianapolis GP: IndyCar Race Results - Pagenaud, Penske Win!

Simon Pagenaud and his No. 22 Team Penske Chevrolet made a fabulous charge in the rain to win the 2019 Indianapolis Grand Prix at Indianapolis Motor Speedway.

Simon Pagenaud and his No. 22 Team Penske Chevrolet made a fabulous charge in the rain to win the 2019 Indianapolis Grand Prix at Indianapolis Motor Speedway.
Credit: PaddockTalk/Lisa Hurley

By Mike Sulka

Rain charge! Simon Pagenaud and his No. 22 Team Penske Chevrolet made a fabulous charge in the rain to win the 2019 Indianapolis Grand Prix at Indianapolis Motor Speedway. For Pagenaud it is his first win of the year, and the 12th of his IndyCar career. Pagenaud has won the Indianapolis Grand Prix three times.

Scott Dixon and his No. 10 Team Ganassi Honda looked like the IndyCar to beat. And he was right up until two laps to go. Dixon would grab his fifth podium in five races this season, and 109th major open-wheel podium in his career.

Jack Harvey and his No. 60 Honda would finish third to pick up his first podium of his IndyCar career.

Matheus Leist would finish fourth with Spencer Pigot rounding out the top five.


Felix Rosenqvist and his No. 10 Honda would lead as the green flag flew. Jack Harvey and his No. 60 Honda would get a good start and slide into second ahead of Scott Dixon and his No. 9 Honda. Alexander Rossi and his No. 27 would take a hit from Patricio O'Ward and limp back to pitlane with a broken rear toe link. Ward would be handed a drive through penalty for the contact.

On Lap 11, Marcus Ericsson and his No. 7 would bring out the first yellow of the afternoon as he would lose his car at the last corner and slide into Safer barrier.

Rosenqvist would lead the field back to green on Lap 16, run wide at Turn One. Dixon would get past. Behind, Colton Herta would get hit by Ed Jones, and Ryan Hunter-Reay would spin and hit Herta after being tagged by James Hinchcliffe from behind.

The result, the second full course yellow of the day.

With a light rain beginning to fall, Dixon would lead the field when the green flag returned on Lap 20. Jones, Harvey, Rosenqvist and Rahal would follow.

Dixon and Rosenvquist would pit from the lead on Lap 27. Dixon would return to the track in 10th. Newgarden would take the lead on Lap 30 with O'Ward behind. Chilton, Leist, Hinchcliffe would also be on an alternate pit strategy to round out the top five.

On Lap 38, the alternate strategy leaders would begin to pit with Chilton first in. O'Ward would be next. Dixon would get past Leist on track. With Newgarden and Hinchcliffe pitting on Lap 40.

On Lap 41, Dixon would lead followed by Jones, Harvey, Pagenaud, Pigot. On Lap 42, Rosenqvist would stop and stage a short barbecue with flames from a fuel spill. He would drive away to put out the fire.

By Lap 45, Harvey would close on Dixon. A six second lead dropping to a second. The on track battle would go to pitlane as Dixon, Harvey, Pagenaud would all pit together on Lap 47. Pagenaud would leap frog Harvey as the trio returned to track.

The alternate strategy runners would take the lead with Newgarden, O'Ward and Hinchcliffe ahead of Dixon.

On Lap 59, Helio Castroneves would get into the gravel and stop on the side of the track. In anticipation of a yellow, Newgarden, O'Ward, Hinchcliffe, Dixon would all stop. The question was... rain tires, or slicks. Most of the rest of the field would stop on the next lap, and then a full course yellow would fly. Two laps later, half the field - which had bet on slicks - would return to pitlane and put on rain tires.

When racing resumed with 17 laps to go, Dixon would lead followed by Harvey, Pigot, Leist, and Jones. Pagenaud would charge forward and into fourth after one lap in the rain. With 10 to go, Pagenaud would get past Leist for third. With six to go, Pagenaud would move into second. The order would be Dixon, Pagenaud, Harvey, Leist and Jones.

Pagenaud would close to within a half a second with three laps to go. The next time around Dixon would go wide at the Mickey Mouse curves and Pagenaud would leap into the lead and win!

Congratulations to Simon Pagenaud and Team Penske winners of the 2019 Indianapolis Grand Prix.

Next up, the IndyCar series will qualify and race the 2019 Indianapolis 500.

2019 Indianapolis Grand Prix Race Results

1. Simon Pagenaud
2. Scott Dixon
3. Jack Harvey
4. Matheus Leist
5. Spencer Pigot
6. Ed Jones
7. Will Power
8. Felix Rosenqvist
9. Graham Rahal
10. Santino Ferrucci
11. Sebastien Bourdais
12. Zach Veach
13. Marco Andretti
14. Takuma Sato
15. Josef Newgarden
16. James Hinchcliffe
17. Ryan Hunter-Reay
18. Max Chilton
19. Pactrico O'Ward
20. Tony Kanaan
21. Helio Castroneves
22. Alexander Rossi
23. Colton Herta
24. Marcus Ericsson

PaddockTalk Perspective

Also in IndyCar News:

Related links
· IndyCar Edition
· Top PaddockTalk News!
· IndyCar Rumors
· More about IndyCar News

Home :: About :: Social :: Contact :: Archives :: Video :: Submit :: _ 

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner.
The comments are property of their posters, all the rest (c) 2003-2020 by PaddockTalk.com.
Contact E-mail: [email protected]