F1, Formula 1, NASCAR, IndyCar, MotoGP, Le Mans, And More!

Top News!

Rumors Edition!

Top Stories
· 2020 Sakhir GP (Bahrain Int): Formula One F1 Race Results - Perez, Racing Point Triumph! (Dec 6, 2020)
· 2020 WRC: Ogier clinches seventh WRC title with victory in Monza (Dec 6, 2020)
· Romain Grosjean Returning to Switzerland (Dec 6, 2020)
· 2020 WRC: Ogier set for seventh title after Evans suffers Saturday heartbreak (Dec 6, 2020)
· 2020 Sakhir GP (Bahrain Int): Formula One F1 Qualifying Results - Bottas, Mercedes on Pole (Dec 5, 2020)
· 2020 WRC: Sordo snatches Friday lead from Lappi amidst Monza monsoons (Dec 4, 2020)
· 2020 WRC: WRC heads to Monza for thrilling finale between stars of the sport (Dec 2, 2020)
· Mick Schumacher Confirmed at Haas F1 Team, Formula 2 Championship Leader to Graduate to Formula 1 in 2021 (Dec 2, 2020)

Previous Top Stories!

Hot Rumors!
· 2018 F1: Indycar move possible for Alonso? (Aug 6, 2018)
· 2018 F1: Lawrence Stroll buys Force India? (Jul 24, 2018)
· 2018 F1: Marchionne condition 'irreversible'? (Jul 23, 2018)
· 2018 F1: Raikkoen to Sauber Update? (Jul 21, 2018)
· 2018 F1: Hamilton objects to Rosberg interview? (Jul 21, 2018)
More Rumors!

2020 Sakhir GP (Bahrain Int): Formula One F1 Race Results - Perez, Racing Point Triumph!
Posted by: ASkyler on Dec 06, 2020 - 01:47 PM
Formula 1 News
2020 Sakhir GP (Bahrain Int): Formula One F1 Race Results - Perez, Racing Point Triumph!

By Mike Sulka

Wild, wild, wild. Sergio Perez (Racing Point) has won a wild Formula One F1 2020 Sakhir Grand Prix at the revised Bahrain International Circuit. It is Perez's first win of his career, and second podium of the year.

For Racing Point, it is the team's first victory of the season.

Esteban Ocon (Renault) would finish second to pick up his first podium of his career.

Lance Stroll (Racing Point) would pick up the final podium position to pick up his second podium of the season and third of his F1 Formula One career.

Carlos Sainz (McLaren Renault) and Daniel Ricciardo (Renault) finished fourth and fifth respectively.


The lights would go out and George Russell (Mercedes) would get a great start on the dirty side of the track to enter Turn One in the lead. Kimi Raikkonen (Alfa Romeo) would spin at the rear and continue. Bottas would get off Turn Two slowly and Max Verstappen (Red Bull) and Sergio Perez (Racing Point) would hound him to Turn Four.

Perez would move to secure second, but Charles Leclerc (Ferrari) would hit him from behind left front to right rear sending the pair, plus Verstappen into the gravel.

Verstappen and Leclerc would both see their race ended in the barrier. Perez would continue.

Safety Car.

Racing would resume on Lap 6 with Russell leading, Bottas, Carlos Sainz (McLaren Renault), Daniel Ricciardo (Renault), and Daniil Kvyat (Scuderia AlphaTauri) lining up behind. Entering Turn One, Bottas would get beat again. This time by Sainz. It would be a slight over reach for Sainz who would go off track and Bottas would resume in second. Perez would restart in 18th. By Lap 13, he would be up to 11th.

Kvyat would be the first of the leaders to stop - Lap 28. He'd drop from 5th to 11th and put on the Pirelli soft (red) compound. Sainz would stop on the next lap, same strategy. He'd go from third to 9th. Riccardo would cover the strategy on the following lap, and put on the medium (yellow) compound. He'd go from third to 10th.

At lap 44, Russell would continue to lead by 3 seconds over Bottas. Neither Mercedes having pit. Nor had the Red Bull driven by Albon - which ran fourth. Perez would run third, with a 27 second gap to the leader, and a pitstop expected.

On Lap 46, Russell would stop and take on the hard (white) compound. He'd return to the track safely in second. For a brief moment, Russell would say "no power". The pitwall would respond with a setting, and quickly resolve the issue. Russell would trail Bottas by 20 seconds, but trim that to 16 by Lap 50 when Bottas would finally stop. He would take on the same tire strategy and resume racing 8 seconds behind Russell.

On Lap 55, the virtual Safety Car would be displayed after the Williams of Nicholas Latifi would end its race on the side of the track, but needing to be removed to ensure safety.

A lap later racing would resume with Russell leading followed by Esteban Ocon (Renault), Lance Stroll (Racing Point), and Perez. Stroll would blow Turn One on the restart and Perez would be up to 4th. Perez would dispatch with Ocon a lap later to move onto the podium.

On Lap 62, Jack Aitken (Williams) would remove the front wing of his challenger by running through the gravel and tagging the wall while cornering for the main straight.

Safety Car.

With a large lead, the Mercedes pair would double stack their pitstops. Russell would get the medium compound, Bottas would as well. But trouble with the front left would leave Bottas languishing, he'd return to track on the same hard compound he had entered the pits with.

As the cars would come around again, Mercedes would tell Russell he had a "mixed" set of tyres.


Russell would pit again and return in fifth.

After all the excitement, Perez would lead. Followed by Ocon, Stroll, Bottas and Russell. It would be a clean restart, Russell would follow Bottas around for a lap, and then beat the Finn to Turn 7.

A lap later, Russell would dispatch Stroll in Turn One to move back onto the podium.

Another lap later, Russell would dispatch Ocon in Turn Four to move into second - 3.5 seconds behind Perez.

Everything was going Russell's way until... the team radio said "puncture on left rear." Russell would stop again and take on fresh rubber, but back to 15th. He would claw back positions to finally claim his first F1 point - 9th.

Perez would continue with Ocon, Stroll, Sainz, and Ricciardo trailing at the checkers.

Congratulations to Sergio Perez and Racing Point winners of the 2020 Sakhir Grand Prix.

Next up, the Formula One season finale next weekend, the 2020 Abu Dhabi Grand Prix.


2020 Sakhir GP: Formula One Race Results
111Sergio PerezRacing Point BWT Mercedes871:31:15.11425
231Esteban OconRENAULT87+10.518s18
318Lance StrollRacing Point BWT Mercedes87+11.869s15
455Carlos SainzMcLaren Renault87+12.580s12
53Daniel RicciardoRENAULT87+13.330s10
623Alexander AlbonRed Bull Racing Honda87+13.842s8
726Daniil KvyatALPHATAURI HONDA87+14.534s6
877Valtteri BottasMERCEDES87+15.389s4
963George RussellMERCEDES87+18.556s2
104Lando NorrisMcLaren Renault87+19.541s1
1110Pierre GaslyALPHATAURI HONDA87+20.527s0
125Sebastian VettelFERRARI87+22.611s0
1399Antonio GiovinazziAlfa Romeo Racing Ferrari87+24.111s0
147Kimi RaikkonenAlfa Romeo Racing Ferrari87+26.153s0
1520Kevin MagnussenHaas Ferrari87+32.370s0
1689Jack AitkenWilliams Mercedes87+33.674s0
1751Pietro FittipaldiHaas Ferrari87+36.858s0
NC6Nicholas LatifiWilliams Mercedes52DNF0
NC33Max VerstappenRed Bull Racing Honda0DNF0
NC16Charles LeclercFERRARI0DNF0

* Provisional results

PaddockTalk Perspective

Also in Formula 1 News:

Related links
· F1 Edition
· PaddockTalk Top News
· F1 Rumors
· More about Formula 1 News

Most read story in Formula 1 News:
McLaren Racing announces partnership with IQONIQ

Home :: About :: Social :: Contact :: Archives :: Video :: Submit :: _ 

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner.
The comments are property of their posters, all the rest (c) 2003-2020 by PaddockTalk.com.
Contact E-mail: [email protected]